We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Happy New Year at the Piggery”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Piggery

The Piggery Holiday Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Piggery Holiday Cottage
Contemporary and luxurious toiletries provided for you at The Piggery Winter in Marsden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The Piggery Holiday Cottage
Contemporary and luxurious toiletries provided for you at The Piggery
Winter in Marsden
Contemporary fully fitted kitchen
Spacious lounge with beautiful vaulted ceiling
Marsden Moor
Relax with a drink or have a BBQ on the upper patio area of The Piggery
Sunrise at Cop Hill
Visitor Centre Marsden and Canal
River walk at Tunnel End Marsden
Green Lane Farm and The Piggery Holiday Cottage
Bedroom
Lounge
Spacious Bathroom
Double Bedroom
Towards Marsden from The Piggery Cop Hill
Enter a caption for your photo
Garden to Front
Downstairs Studio
Bedroom Chair
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helen G
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy New Year at the Piggery”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed for three nights over new year (inc New Year's Eve) although wet and windy outside it was warm and cosy inside with amazing views. Loved the accommodation it was really modern and luxurious (underfloor heating and wine fridge were the icing on the cake!) with the extra touch of Christmas decorations. Visited the Rose and Crown for a drink or two and really is within stumbling distance back. It is only a short taxi ride to Marsden with lots of bars and eating places. In nicer weather you could probably walk it. Really looking forward to coming back in the summer to explore the local walks and to have a BBQ with a view! Thank you to Carol & Steve who were really welcoming and helpful. Helen, Mark and Jasmine (16), Julian, Jo and Heidi (6).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The weather was terrible but its nice to know it didn't put you off! We are looking forward to seeing you again in the Summer. Thank you for your excellent review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaraghJoh...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed 24 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed at The Piggery for two nights, and would happily have stayed longer. The cottage has everything you could possibly want and more!

We were warmly greeted by Carole after a long drive on Friday night, and shown around the beautifully appointed cottage. The bed was very comfortable and the kitchen had everything we needed and more.

The views and walks nearby are lovely. The local pub, a few minutes walk away is great.

We would highly recommend this rental, it is flawless!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easthillf...
Knowlton, Canada
1 review
“Couldn't be better!”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I want to thank our hosts at The Piggery for a wonderful stay. Not only is the setting wonderful but also the hospitality extended to us. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by our hosts and shown into a perfectly appointed cottage that featured everything one could possibly need. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen completely equipped, the living room decorated in the latest fashion and the views second to none. A lovely pub, the Rose and Crown is just a short walk down the road. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2013
Thank you so much for your generous words. This means so very much to us.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at The Piggery Holiday Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolios
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Beautiful cottage with a stunning view from every window”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed for three nights with our three children. The owners were extremely helpful, the accommodation was immaculate and the views across the valley were breathtaking. Amazing walks from the front door and stumbling distance from the pub (which was also excellent).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review of our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Carole and Stefan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bumblebra...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 star accommodation! Cannot recommend highly enough!”
Reviewed 19 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed here for the weekend as we were attending a wedding nearby at crow hill. We have small children and so hotel accommodation wasn't really what we were after as we wanted a separate living accommodation for when the children went to bed. I stumbled across this property after endless searches on the Internet and what a find! It is brand new and we were the second party to stay here. It is attached to the owners property but you have a separate driveway and two separate private patio areas one with BBQ. Contact with the owners both when booking and arriving went very smoothly and they were very welcoming and could not do enough to make sure we were settled. When designing and furnishing the property they really have thought of everything and everything is to a very high standard. We even had bathrobes and slippers! There was a welcome pack that included fresh eggs from the chickens they keep in their garden, milk, homemade jam, butter, orange juice etc and fresh flowers were also in the kitchen. Small toiletries were even in the bath room. It was a luxurious home from home with the added extras that you'd find in a five star hotel. There is a pub a short walk away that serves lovely meals. The views from all of the windows to the property look out onto the endless countryside but a short drive away you can find the many local villages with quaint shops, bars and restaurants. If you book you won't be disappointed and trust me, I'm not easily pleased! X

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2013
Thank you so much Michelle for your kind words. They are important and mean a great deal to us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul19602...
Kwintsheul, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: het uitzicht en de rust
Liked least: eigenlijk niets
Travelling group: Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2014
Thank you both for your fantastic review! We enjoyed meeting you and are glad that you enjoyed the cottage.....and the cycling of course! We hope you will visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$147
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing