We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent home from home in Huddersfield”
other travellers have booked this property
Holt Bank Holiday Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holt Bank Holiday Cottage
Enclosed courtyard Dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Holt Bank Holiday Cottage
Enclosed courtyard
Dining
Open Plan living
Relaxing on the leather sofa
Living space with parquet floor
Clever use of space
Modern Kitchen
Traditional beds
Good sized corner shower
Light and airy shower/WC room
Private sitting area
Mature garden
Greenhead Park only a few minutes walk
Autumn sunshine in the quiet space.
Bright red holly berries in late November
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gordon F
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An excellent home from home in Huddersfield”
Reviewed 29 April 2017 for a stay in August 2016

We received a warm welcome from John and Ann. The Cottage was as described and suited our purpose well. The location is very convenient with the splendid Greenhead Park within a 2-3 minute walk. Walking to town centre takes 15 - 20 minutes through the park. We've stayed in Huddersfield many times over the last 15 years in a variety of hotels, B&Bs and "holiday homes" and this is easily the best we have stayed at.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2017
Thank you so much for the lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and any time you're in this area, it would be great to host you again. : )
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolejke...
1 review
“A pleasant, comfortable, well kept cottage!”
Reviewed 25 March 2017 for a stay in May 2016

We've stayed at the Holt Bank Cottage twice when traveling to England from the United States. The first time we had our 1 year old son and sister-in-law along and Ann and John were extremely accommodating in helping all of us feel comfortable. They were so welcoming and friendly and were willing to help with anything we needed. The second time we traveled we had our son with us (who was 2 years old) and they were again helpful with accommodating him and even helping us find a reliable babysitter! The cottage is extremely clean and well organized, and perfect for anyone who is looking for a place to stay in a home environment rather than a hotel! I'd recommend the Holt Bank cottage to anyone looking for a place to stay in or near Huddersfield!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2017
It was good to meet you and your family, and we were happy to help out. Thank you for the lovely review, any time you come to the UK again it would great to host you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevewpec...
Ely, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect cottage, perfect location, perfect hosts”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Our second stay at Holt Bank both between Christmas and new year, and both stays just as comfortable as each other.
Ann and John were there to greet us on arrival, even offering to help unload the car, they could not have been more accommodating.
The cottage itself is extremely clean, comfortable and warm with all the conveniences one likes to have whilst away from home for a few days, complete with off road parking right outside the cottage. The location is convenient for public transport with a bus stop right around the corner, handy for a 5 mins ride into the town center. It is even possible to walk into town in around 10 to 15 mins, passing the bus and railway stations on the way. There is also a good selection of shops, pubs and food outlets within a 10 min walk.
Also within a few minutes walk is Greenhead park, a lovely place to wander around or sit and watch the world go by, you could even pop into the cafe for refreshments.
Lovely cottage, ideal location for us to visit family or take a bus or train trip out into the countryside or visit the local attractions, already booked our third stay, what more can one say apart from thanks Ann and John for making Holt Bank such a comfortable cottage.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us again, and for the lovely comments in your review about the Cottage and the surrounding area. Look forward to seeing you again as its always nice to get to know people a little better as return visitors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth W
Burton on Trent
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Perfect cottage, perfectly located!”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in April 2016

We had a lovely stay in this delightful, well-equipped cottage. The owners were very helpful and a pleasure to book and stay with. The location is brilliant for both the town centre and the park, yet not too close to either, and the M62 is not far away. Can't wait for another excuse to stay there!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your lovely comments about the Cottage and the location. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and would be very happy to host you again any time you are in the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sylvania4...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 14 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Another amazing stay at this little gem. Our journey from Exeter was horrendous and John had put on the lights in Holt Bank to welcome us as well as greeting us on arrival. We have stayed here a number of times, this time for a fortnight. We watched the trees turn to beautiful autumn colours, we had afternoon tea in Betty's of Harrogate, we visited the National Railway Museum in York and the Blue John Mine in Derbyshire and so many other places. We walked everyday in the stunning Gledholt Park (on the doorstep!) which our grandchildren loved. Perfectly situated for exploring, warm, welcoming and so comfortable. Very high standard accommodation. Thank you Ann and John for your hospitality once again. xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: That we had to go home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us again, its lovely to get to know people a little better as return visitors. After a tiring journey we wanted the place to look warm and cosy as you approached. Look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragonfly...
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delightful cottage”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I had the pleasure of staying at this lovely cottage on three separate occasions in the past year while attending courses at the University. Ann and John could not have been more accommodating. They would check in with me before each stay and always warmly greet me upon my arrival.

The cottage itself is extremely clean and comfortable including all the conveniences of home. The location is convenient with a bus stop around the corner and only a short distance from Greenhead park, which is lovely.

If my travels take me to that area again, I will most definitely book in again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful surroundings
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
Thank you for the lovely review, and we're so glad you were able to enjoy your stay linked with your studies. The park is fabulous today in the sunshine, and any time you are in this area you would be very welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
1 review
“Lovely cottage, amazing hosts!! ”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had the pleasure of staying at this cottage in the lead up to our wedding celebrations. We wanted our own space where we were able to come and go as we please and somewhere near town and all the amenities. This was the perfect place for us!!

Everything that you could ever need was there!! It was also very clean and well decorated throughout.

To top it off we received a bottle of champagne, wild berries from the garden and a card wishing us well in our new life together. Ann and John were so welcoming and warm and really made us feel at home.

Thank you so much for making our trip to Huddersfield a fantastic one!! See you next time

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2015
Thank you for the lovely review. We enjoyed having you stay with us at such an important time in your lives. Look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing