We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Holt Bank”
other travellers have booked this property
Holt Bank Holiday Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holt Bank Holiday Cottage
Enclosed courtyard Feature courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Holt Bank Holiday Cottage
Enclosed courtyard
Feature courtyard
Relaxing on the leather sofa
Living space with parquet floor
Clever use of space
Good size dining table
Modern Kitchen
Traditional beds
Autumn sunshine in the quiet space.
Good sized corner shower
Light and airy shower/WC room
Private sitting area
Mature garden
Greenhead Park only a few minutes walk
Bright red holly berries in late November
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah J
1 review
“Holt Bank”
Reviewed 30 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Thank you for the lovely welcome. The cottage was lovely and had everything we needed and it was great to have such a nice park just round the corner!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2018
Thank you, it was lovely to meet you all and you're welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serene21
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 2 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Holt bank is spotlessly clean, well designed and furnished. Ideal for a visit to Huddersfield and the surrounding areas. Easy walking distance into town and train station if you want to venture further. Car parking is off road and directly next to the property. The hosts live next door which is great no fiddling with key safes and memorising number combination. As hosts they were very helpful if required, dug me out of the snow, but not intrusive. Will definitely be returning when next in Huddersfield. A great find.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2018
Thank you for your review, and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay. It was lively to meet you and would be happy to host you again anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan Q
Leatherhead
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Homely stay in Huddersfield”
Reviewed 18 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Holt Bank Cottage was a great place as a base in Huddersfield- we are a family of 4 (11yearvild twins) and were comfortable in the family room. The cottage is immaculate - everything you need - and dedicated parking. The park round the corner is great with kids and good cafes in walking distance as is the town centre (15 -20 minutes) including leisure centre and station. Gave us a home feel stay in the city. Thanks Ann.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2018
Thank you. So glad you enjoyed your stay, was lovely to meet you all and look forward to seeing you again next time you're in the area : )
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donato P
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Suitable for most but not without its flaws.”
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Pros:
Situated in an upmarket part of town
Clean & well presented
Off the road parking
All the mod cons sans air conditioning

Cons:
The lounge/kitchenette was a makeshift bedroom for our toddler which meant that we couldn't relax after putting her to bed.
The refuse bin was small and we couldn't find any new liners.
The shower floor was dangerously slippery.
The traffic noise was unbearable in the night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2017
Thanks for your review, sorry to hear you had a negative experience. Whilst arranging your stay at Holt Bank (a one bedroom cottage) we offered 2 options for the additional bed, upstairs as a family room, a choice made by most people who stay with toddlers , or, downstairs in the open plan living space. You asked for the bed to be set up down stairs. Regarding bin liners, there is always a roll of black bin liners and white pedal bin liners in the drawer in the kitchen. Upon leaving you mentioned that you couldn't find any but hadn't asked us about it during your stay. I personally clean the shower room, including the tray, myself ready for new guests, its done with the same cleaning products and technique each time. The Pears soap you left in the shower is a high Glycerine based soap and is know to make plastic surfaces slippery, there are warnings about it on the internet. When the cottage was converted it had the highest level of thermal and sound proof insulation installed, its the first time we've had a comment about the traffic noise, sorry if it spoilt your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon F
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An excellent home from home in Huddersfield”
Reviewed 29 April 2017 for a stay in August 2016

We received a warm welcome from John and Ann. The Cottage was as described and suited our purpose well. The location is very convenient with the splendid Greenhead Park within a 2-3 minute walk. Walking to town centre takes 15 - 20 minutes through the park. We've stayed in Huddersfield many times over the last 15 years in a variety of hotels, B&Bs and "holiday homes" and this is easily the best we have stayed at.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2017
Thank you so much for the lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and any time you're in this area, it would be great to host you again. : )
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolejke...
1 review
“A pleasant, comfortable, well kept cottage!”
Reviewed 25 March 2017 for a stay in May 2016

We've stayed at the Holt Bank Cottage twice when traveling to England from the United States. The first time we had our 1 year old son and sister-in-law along and Ann and John were extremely accommodating in helping all of us feel comfortable. They were so welcoming and friendly and were willing to help with anything we needed. The second time we traveled we had our son with us (who was 2 years old) and they were again helpful with accommodating him and even helping us find a reliable babysitter! The cottage is extremely clean and well organized, and perfect for anyone who is looking for a place to stay in a home environment rather than a hotel! I'd recommend the Holt Bank cottage to anyone looking for a place to stay in or near Huddersfield!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2017
It was good to meet you and your family, and we were happy to help out. Thank you for the lovely review, any time you come to the UK again it would great to host you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevewpec...
Ely, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect cottage, perfect location, perfect hosts”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Our second stay at Holt Bank both between Christmas and new year, and both stays just as comfortable as each other.
Ann and John were there to greet us on arrival, even offering to help unload the car, they could not have been more accommodating.
The cottage itself is extremely clean, comfortable and warm with all the conveniences one likes to have whilst away from home for a few days, complete with off road parking right outside the cottage. The location is convenient for public transport with a bus stop right around the corner, handy for a 5 mins ride into the town center. It is even possible to walk into town in around 10 to 15 mins, passing the bus and railway stations on the way. There is also a good selection of shops, pubs and food outlets within a 10 min walk.
Also within a few minutes walk is Greenhead park, a lovely place to wander around or sit and watch the world go by, you could even pop into the cafe for refreshments.
Lovely cottage, ideal location for us to visit family or take a bus or train trip out into the countryside or visit the local attractions, already booked our third stay, what more can one say apart from thanks Ann and John for making Holt Bank such a comfortable cottage.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us again, and for the lovely comments in your review about the Cottage and the surrounding area. Look forward to seeing you again as its always nice to get to know people a little better as return visitors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing