We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best curry house in West Yorkshire” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saffron

Saffron
Ranked #146 of 568 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best curry house in West Yorkshire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We are always greeted at Saffron with a warm welcome. The restaurant is clean and nicely decorated, the tables are dressed with linen table cloths and the service is always brilliant.

There is a permanent offer of 5 courses for £10.95 - starters are a goods size and always brought quickly. The menu is HUGE, and the mains are amazing. I usually have a prawn dish and I have always been impressed. The only think I would say is that the tikka masala is quite creamy and korma-like, so if you like a quite hot curry, do not order that. There are lots of paneer dishes which is rare in a curry house - our vegetarian friend was very impressed. I think the service and food quality is second to none, the owners/managers/ waiters are really friendly, and I wouldn't go anywhere else locally for a curry.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peach1038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    10
    1
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Saffron rocks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We LOVE saffron and its my favourite place to eat curry, having tried quite a few places over the years!

The staff are second to none in terms of the quality of service and personal touch. we have celebrated birthdays, graduations and anniversaries there and have always been greeted as friends, and often a complimentary drink.

The food is delicious and excellent value for money. The take away deal especially is out of this world (meal of two deal). Our favourites include Chicken Tikka Masala and the Chicken Napali and of course the poppadoms and chutneys!

If you're in the area, or even if you're not....visit Saffron!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Great place, great value and friendly staff.. What more can you ask for from a good clean restaurant and at a price you can't match locally. Would recommend to anyone and usually do..

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayneshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I went to this place a few days ago and was so disappointed looks really nice but starters come cold main meal tasted like it was a microwave curry and the service was terrible would not go here again might of just been the day we went but first impressions are everything and i felt like it was a waist.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A2hley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Delivery - second to none!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We've never eaten in at Saffron but can't fault the Takeaway Service and food! The curries are AWESOME (and we have tried all the other local restaurants/takeaways). Fresh food, great prices (try the meal for two deal!) and fantastic friendly delivery. I can't even recommend our favourite meals...they've all been good. Great value and far better than anywhere else in the Colne Valley (or anywhere else we've been actually!).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank janeywhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saffron also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing