We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolutely Unique”
Review of The Edge Cafe - CLOSED

The Edge Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Ceres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“absolutely Unique”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Must say this is the most unique cafe i've ever been in, very eccentric owner, who delights in showing off his cafe and the stunning views, called twice in two days, on a two day visit to Huddersfield from Scotland, the scones were a tad small, but came with more than enough clotted cream and jam to make up for it, nice to get a caffatiere instead of a cappuchino, and very large cups too, soup and sandwiches excellent, great choice on the menu,

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BryanCog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great Coffee, Great Character!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Having often walked past this place on our regular dog walking route, we finally "had the courage" to give this place a try... And believe you me, this place is a hidden gem!
With outside and inside seating, and a dog friendly environment, it's perfect for dog walkers and families.
We only stopped for coffee, which was proper filtered coffee that come in a cafetiere. It was a far greater cup of coffee than you get in the likes of Costa/Starbucks/Nero etc.
I had a good look at the menu (breakfasts, sandwiches, cakes), and it looked very appetising! We will definitely be going back for a breakfast, or lunch!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A taste of the unexpected! A really quirky place, full of character!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have visited The Edge a couple times in the last two weeks and I have to say this place is really a little gem! Unless you knew about it you would never pass it, along a track off the main road as it stands. The building has so much character, I can say I haven't seen anything at all like it. The service is extremely friendly. The views over Huddersfield at the back are simply stunning, where you can sit outside and enjoy the sun and the views. I've only had an afternoon tea and a sandwich lunch, but both were excellent. Its really hard to describe this place - you have to see it! I will most certainly be back.
Tip1: A nice place to have a tea when dog-walking!
Tip2: Accommodation is now available which looked equally enthralling

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a real treat”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

a visit to café on the edge is like going back in time not to disappoint is the high tea [just like mother use to make ] also on offer is a all day breakfast and many more delight to tempt you it is also easy on the pocket. pick a nice day and you get the view thrown in free ps you can take your dog but beware the house cat may chase him out

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maudewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of a Cafe in Huddersfield”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Who knew this cafe was there? I'm so glad I found it. A great venue with lots of indoor and outdoor seating. The decor is quaint and relaxing.

The menu is displayed on a chalk board and offers a variety of sandwiches and small dishes. We opted for the High Tea - tiers of cakes and sandwiches which are easily shared.

The staff are friendly and will do everything to make your visit a good one. The whole atmosphere is very informal and relaxing.

The views from the balcony are, as advertised by the venue, breathtaking. You can see for miles on a clear day. I went in the rain and it was still a gorgeous view.

Be attentive if driving as you can easily miss the turn off - so look out for the signs that advertise this venue. Great B&B accommodation too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andie190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Edge Cafe also viewed

Brighouse, Huddersfield
 
Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield
Stocksmoor, Huddersfield
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing