We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to beat”
Review of Briar Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Briar Court Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I stayed at the Briar Court for a friends wedding, The place was clean,all the staff were helpful and doing an excellent job. I had a twin room and everything worked and there was plenty of tea and coffee in the room.After possibly the best hotel nights sleep ever, the breakfast was a treat, cooked to order served on a very hot plate with plenty of toast and coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beerlover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2011

Must have stayed here more than 150 times over the last 10 years - welcome as always - terrific value. Well patronised consistently. Rooms adequate size, pricing always keen especially when great breakfast is included. Will be back - why would I stay anywhere else?

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter than those at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I stayed here on a wednesday and thursday night with my mum, we both had a single room. We both thought the rooms were clean and comfortable (similar to a travelodge or premier inn). The first night we stayed the rooms were really hot, my mums room faced the main road and she said the traffic noise was really loud (we had to keep the window open). I was at the back and although I heard the road it didnt stop me from sleeping. The rooms have really thin walls and I could hear the people talking in the room next to me on the first night and people walking up and down the corridor. Personally i wouldnt stay here again as it was too difficult to sleep.

Room Tip: i would try and get a room facing the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank roxy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

I had a 2 day stay at this hotel and found the place clean, welcoming, friendly and comfortable. A bargain for £84 for single occupancy of a double room including a really excellent breakfast for the two nights. My room was good but the kitchen fan woke me up between 7 and 8am, about half an hour before breakfast starts (not necessarily a bad thing), so if you want a lie-in, request a room away from the kitchen.

Plenty of parking and Da Sandro's Italian restaurant next door which was very good 9/10.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank residentemmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Went to a wedding reception and stayed over. Was greeted with bucks fizz. All good until I picked up the drink then a snotty woman told me I'd already had one which I hadn't and neither had my wife, she picked up the drinks and took them away and said people just take the mick Rest of the staff were very nice and the room was great.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I've stayed at the Briar Court a number of times on business and never been disappointed. The rooms are very good, staff are friendly, and the breakfast is always excellent (I go for the poached eggs!). The only downside might be that it's a little out of the town centre, but then there aren't many good hotels in Huddersfield, so I've always been more than happy to stump up the taxi fare to the Briar Court.

There's an Italian restaurant right next door which I've been to a couple of times, and found to be average at best. It's convenient if you're staying at the hotel, but the food isn't a fantastic standard.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel_JKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We have just had our wedding here, and we have to say it was absolutely superb.
we cannot praise the hotel and its staff enough!!! Nothing was too much trouble the venue, food,facilitiesand ambience were spot on!! Isobel the wedding planner was a true professional. Her organisation and planning were fantastic, she listened, remembered and acted on everything we asked for. The staff were superb and really couldnt do enough for us, even donning rain coats and emptying the reception room the morning after even though it was pouring down !!!!
The wedding suite is a lovely room,we had 60 guests for the wedding breakfast and the ceremony in it,its light and spacious and when its all dressed it looks brill.In the evening we had 100 guests plus disco and there was plenty of room.
The wedding deal they currently offer is incredible value!!!!! CHECK IT OUT.
As for the rooms they are v comfortable with usual facilities and the breakfast was excellent. We think special mention has to be made of ALL the staff who made us feel so welcome and extra special on our special day. They really do go the extra mile to ensure everything is perfect, rather than treating you like a number and counting the profits
If youre looking for that special venue for the big day or just want a weekend break then please take a look at the briar court , its not the poshest but it is definately one of the friendliest,welcoming and efficient we have been to.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simart77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.9 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
0.4 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
1.8 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#3 of 15 in Huddersfield
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
2.2 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Court Hotel

Address: Halifax Road | Birchencliffe, Huddersfield HD3 3NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Huddersfield
Price Range: £51 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Briar Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Briar Court Hotel combines great service with flexible facilities and delicious food, making it the ideal venue for your business event. From the moment you arrive, our friendly staff are on hand to take care of all your business needs, leaving you free to relax and concentrate on your business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Briar Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing