We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, small hotel.”
Review of Briar Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Briar Court Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, Suffolk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Lovely, small hotel.”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We enjoyed one very pleasant night in Briar Court Hotel even though our reason for staying in the area was not so pleasant. We were attending a family funeral nearby and booked one twin room and two single rooms for our party.
The rooms had obviously not long been refurbished and were fresh, clean and done to a very good standard. Although the rooms were quite small they were more than adequate for a short stay. All three rooms that we used were very acceptable.
The beds were very comfortable. Some of the best beds we have had in a hotel. The mattress, pillows and linen were of very good quality.
The bathroom was a good size with enough fluffy towels. I read in another review that the shower was not too good but we found it to be OK.
There was everything you could need in the bedroom including a good sized wall mounted TV, a hairdryer, a well stocked hospitality tray and even a trouser press. There was ample wardrobe and drawer space too.
The breakfast was very good. Can't think why anybody would find fault with it. There was plenty of fruit, cereal, pastries and juices. The tea was served in a pot and, yes, the coffee was served by the cup but the staff were quite quick to refill on request. The Full English Breakfast certainly was a challenge. They certainly don't skimp and it was good quality ingredients. We were well satisfied.
Our rooms did overlook the car park and the main road but then it would be difficult to have a view from a hotel in that vicinity. It was quite quiet at night even though we had a window open.
If we needed to stay in the area again we wouldn't hesitate to book in this hotel. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue Rat.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    96
    40
    8
    5
See reviews for
45
69
24
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is a below average hotel but good value if you are not too fussy. Very dated and tired looking rooms that are very small. Probably date back to 70/80's. Chairs in the room covered in stains with cigarette burn marks on bedside table.
Think I was the only person staying in the whole hotel that night but still gave me very average room overlooking busy room.
Tip: Try more modern hotels first or go for a superior room away from road. Plus side, good location next to M62 and decent wifi.

Room Tip: Superior on the quiet side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESTERFIELD
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We ended up staying here as the hotel in Holmfirth we should of stayed in was double booked so had no room for us. This hotel was booked for us by the Holmfirth tourist information centre staff at 3pm after we found out our fate at our original hotel which we had booked 3 months earlier. We found the hotel to be very clean and tidy. Ok our room wasn't the largest but considering we only wanted to sleep in it, it was fine. Nice selection of hot drinks on our hospitality tray. We found breakfast to be absolutely fine. Nice choice of cereals, fruit, pastries, yogurts etc. We had a lovely cooked to order hot breakfast. Only gripe if you ordered tea you got a pot, if you ordered coffee you got a cup. Would of prefered a pot of coffee. Should we find ourselves in that area again which is doubtful we would definately stay there again. We were so glad that they had got this one room left. We found it to be quite as well. Staff were all friendly as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
174 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Don't expect 4 star or better, this is a reps' hotel with laptops galore and urgent meetings with Area Managers going on. That said, the small bedrooms are very comfortable even though they overlook car parks and the showers (over very slippery bathtubs) are fairly weak. Breakfast is adequate albeit a smile from a somewhat sulky waitress would have helped. Da Sandros next door offers a lengthy and quite adequate menu.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back -less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miloj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

I booked a one night stay for my newly wed Daughter and husband. I found the reception staff to be excellent nothing was too much trouble...bubbly and chocolates etc. to be placed in the room for the newly weds on arrival.

Every thing went perfectly until breakfast the next morning where they were met by indifferent staff, uncleared tables, mixed up food orders, and appalling slow service...the toast almost failed to arrive and only did so after my son in law chased it up several times and then it was at the end of the meal. My daughter and son in law were not an isolated case with plenty of other people suffering the same fate!

Come on Briar Court this is not acceptable and you need to address this promptly...

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bobskibass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I booked a superior room and was glad I did. When we entered the room I thought it was a mistake and that this was their normal room. I double checked and was told that it was indeed a "recently redecorated room". Don't get me wrong the room was nice albeit a little small, but was something I would expect of a regular hotel room. We did catch a glimpse of the standard rooms as we were leaving and they were indeed very basic.
Cleanliness was good. Hotel staff pleasant and accommodating.
Breakfast was disappointing though. We decided to take breakfast in our room and was disappointed to see that there was no cooked choices available, not even crossiants. The coffee was hot and good though.
Overall a good stay but not one we will be repeating.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband and I booked into this hotel with my parents. Parking was plentiful and service was good when we checked in. The hotel was very hot however that was to be expected as it was the hottest day of the year! The rooms were average, tea and coffee, plus good toiletries. Found a few hairs on the chair which weren't mine and the shower didn't look the best but not unusable! The bed was ok but I think a replacement mattress is needed as we could feel the springs! Breakfast was good, a nice choice of food. Overall a satisfactory stay at a good price. Would stay again if needed to.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hull_jolly_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
3.0 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
1.8 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Court Hotel

Property: Briar Court Hotel
Address: Halifax Road | Birchencliffe, Huddersfield HD3 3NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Briar Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Briar Court Hotel combines great service with flexible facilities and delicious food, making it the ideal venue for your business event. From the moment you arrive, our friendly staff are on hand to take care of all your business needs, leaving you free to relax and concentrate on your business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Briar Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing