We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous party venue”
Review of Briar Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Briar Court Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We had our work Christmas party here and it was great. The Briar Suite is just the right size for a party with tables beautifully set out and a small dance floor in the middle. The bar prices are reasonable and the Sauvignon Blanc was good. I chose tomato soup which was really tasty and creamy and also piping hot. For main course I had the traditional turkey meal. This was very good too with juicy pieces of turkey, stuffing and a pig in a blanket. As soon as the plate arrived the vegetables were served so it was possible to eat the meal whilst still hot. (My only criticism was that there was very little gravy) . I was impressed with the quality of the food and the speed with which it was served when they were catering for a room full of people. For dessert I had cheese and biscuits ; there was a good selection and butter was also provided which often (infuriatingly) isn't. The size of the room and the positioning of the tables around the dance floor made it really easy to get up and dance or sit down as you pleased and we had a fantastic night. I wholly recommend this venue for parties or events.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bullykitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Stopped for two nights and had a comfortable stay. Good breakfast all the staff we met were friendly and helpful. Would stay again if needed accommodation in the area also it has a big car park which was a bonus and a hand co-op across the road open 24 hr.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank rrc300tdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

By easy I mean its easy to get to from the M62 and easy to park. The newly refurbished rooms are comfortable. Reception staff are friendly and bar staff attentive. Breakfast was good standard with good choice. I would recommend and will book again for my next Huddersfield trip. By the way if you're worried about turning right out of the hotel car park into the rush hour traffic in the morning - don't be. The people in Huddersfield are always willing to let you out of the junction!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We chose The Briar Court for our wedding venue on the 12th October. We had a truly amazing day. The day was perfect from start to finish. The staff were polite, attentive and professional throughout. The food was wonderful. We simply cannot fault Isobel and her team. This is not our 'biased' opinion, this was the opinion of our guests too. Thankyou so much for your contribution in making our day one we will never forget!!
David and Michelle Pearson

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michellepearson1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Not a bad hotel overall but despite being refurbished we both had cold showers - inexcusable in a modern hotel. Shame as apart from that one (important) item everything seemed OK.

Another real turn-off was the clutch of girls smoking outside the front entrance every time we went into the hotel - I know it's better than them smoking inside but there must be somewhere the hotel can find that's better than under the entrance canopy. Like running a Rothman's gauntlet.

The restaurant next to the hotel looked OK, by the way.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanandGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I have stayed at the Briar Court once or twice a year over the last ten years, I recently stayed in one of the newly refurbished bedrooms and must comment on comfy mattress and pillows, my room was excellent and was good value, the breakfast was good as always. I ate at the adjoining Italian restaurant Da Sandros where the fresh fish was amazing

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly refurbished rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We enjoyed one very pleasant night in Briar Court Hotel even though our reason for staying in the area was not so pleasant. We were attending a family funeral nearby and booked one twin room and two single rooms for our party.
The rooms had obviously not long been refurbished and were fresh, clean and done to a very good standard. Although the rooms were quite small they were more than adequate for a short stay. All three rooms that we used were very acceptable.
The beds were very comfortable. Some of the best beds we have had in a hotel. The mattress, pillows and linen were of very good quality.
The bathroom was a good size with enough fluffy towels. I read in another review that the shower was not too good but we found it to be OK.
There was everything you could need in the bedroom including a good sized wall mounted TV, a hairdryer, a well stocked hospitality tray and even a trouser press. There was ample wardrobe and drawer space too.
The breakfast was very good. Can't think why anybody would find fault with it. There was plenty of fruit, cereal, pastries and juices. The tea was served in a pot and, yes, the coffee was served by the cup but the staff were quite quick to refill on request. The Full English Breakfast certainly was a challenge. They certainly don't skimp and it was good quality ingredients. We were well satisfied.
Our rooms did overlook the car park and the main road but then it would be difficult to have a view from a hotel in that vicinity. It was quite quiet at night even though we had a window open.
If we needed to stay in the area again we wouldn't hesitate to book in this hotel. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue Rat.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
0.9 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#2 of 15 in Huddersfield
593 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
2.2 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Court Hotel

Address: Halifax Road | Birchencliffe, Huddersfield HD3 3NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Huddersfield
Price Range: £51 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Briar Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Briar Court Hotel combines great service with flexible facilities and delicious food, making it the ideal venue for your business event. From the moment you arrive, our friendly staff are on hand to take care of all your business needs, leaving you free to relax and concentrate on your business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Briar Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing