We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Briar Court Hotel”
Review of Briar Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Briar Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights last weekend and thought it was very good value as well as being in a convenient location just off the M62. Our twin room was very smart, although a little cramped, but had everything we needed. There was a lovely bathroom with all facilities, and we also had the added benefit of tea and coffee making in the room. Breakfast was delicious with loads of options, the usual full English plus fruit/nuts/yoghurts etc followed be a selection of pastries and toast. There was also fresh juice to enjoy. The staff were all charming and helpful.
Our only 'moan' was the heat in the hotel as the corridors upstairs were really warm, and our room even hotter, as there was no aircon or fans, and leaving the window open wasnt an option as there was constant traffic noise from the busy Halifax Rd running along the front of the hotel. We pulled the 10.5 tog quilts out of their covers and even with only the thin sheeting we both had difficulty sleeping. Perhaps a room at the back where you could leave a window open would be better. If youre a 'cold-blooded' person its fine but we are both used to sleeping in a cool room. Apart from that we enjoyed our visit and would recommend it to others looking for a smart hotel in this area.
Next door in the large car park is a lovely Italian restaurant which is both reasonable and convenient.

Room Tip: Try a room at the back in the hope the traffic noise is less
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Norma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had stayed at Briar Court for a couple of nights in April, and needed to come back to Huddersfield in July, as I was in need of a surgery. Spending those couple of nights here, made us certain that it would be the perfect place to stay at pre- and post-operation. The location suited us perfectly as it is less than five minutes away from the hospital that I was going to be at, so commuting was really not a problem; and not far from either Halifax or Huddersfield city centres.

I have not stayed at a hotel with more comfortable beds in fifteen odd years. And that is considering the fact that my recovery was not easy. The hotel staff were also incredibly accommodating, caring and understand of all my odd requests; and made us all feel very much at home. Being asked regularly about how my recovery was going, and if I needed anything extra in the room, made me feel very comfortable and well attended to, by a team of smiling faces.

The rooms are spacious, warm, inviting, clean and very comfortable – both times that we stayed here, despite being given rooms on different floors, it was comfortable all through. Given that I had mobility limitations following the surgery, the room and bathroom were both very easy for me to move around in without straining my body.

Two weeks is a long time to stay in one hotel, but I wouldn’t be lying if I said that we received better than value for our money. The hotel may be ranked as a three star, but in my opinion that is two stars short of the amount I would give for our stay at Briar Court.

Room Tip: If you are there in Summer and need a quiet night, rooms on the ground floor may not be the most sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I have not given this 5 stars as the fruit for breakfast was tinned, not fresh and also the fire alarm went off for a short while one evening but no information was given. Otherwise it was a comfortable stay, everything was clean and the staff were friendly. There is a bar with newspapers to read which is a nice touch. Plenty of parking. A pizza place next door which I didn't use. Tea, hot chocolate and coffee in the bedroom. Not a personal hotel but it does the job efficiently.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank travellerkMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Have stayed here a few times now - very handy for Halifax. Rooms are well equipped, clean and with free wifi. Staff always friendly, good cooked breakfast and both the room service and restaurant service from the Italian Restaurant attached to the hotel are very good. Will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinnerNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel nice. Breakfast really good & staff very helpful & friendly. Excellent bus route into huddersfield. Italian restaurant attached to hotel amazing
Authentic family run with fresh food which was awesome.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel has the potential to have been very good and I would currently award it 3.5 if that was possible. The location is away from the town centre, but close to the motorway. The room, whilst a little small, was clean, nicely decorated, and had a powerful hairdryer, and included, tv, kettle, trouser press etc. Its strongest point was how comfortable the bed was, I slept very well!

However, its weakest point is its bath/shower, which was small, uncomfortable and only just fit for purpose. During the weekend, the hotel hosts weddings, but that shouldn't detract one from staying there. I am not sure if the hotel was short staffed, but the receptionists also ran the bar (or so it seemed) and you sometimes had to wait a little while.

The hotel was good value as we got a good deal, but not sure I would pay the going rate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RocknRollStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Staff were helpful and despite a wedding part being in it wasn’t noisy. Good alternative to a Premier Inn or similar.

Stayed in a refurbed room which was very nice. The bedroom was better than the bathroom; a warning message about too much steam setting off the fire alarm in the room (fit a better extractor fan!) and the arm on the shower was a bit short meaning you have to stand close to the wall. However, the rest of the room was completely satisfactory and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huddersfield
0.9 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
0.4 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
2.3 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#3 of 14 in Huddersfield
572 reviews
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Huddersfield
Travelodge Huddersfield
#5 of 14 in Huddersfield
324 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Court Hotel

Address: Halifax Road | Birchencliffe, Huddersfield HD3 3NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Huddersfield
Price Range: £54 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Briar Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Briar Court Hotel combines great service with flexible facilities and delicious food, making it the ideal venue for your business event. From the moment you arrive, our friendly staff are on hand to take care of all your business needs, leaving you free to relax and concentrate on your business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Briar Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing