We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd Time Round”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Titanic Spa

Titanic Spa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us at Titanic Spa to enjoy a day spa or indulge in an overnight spa break, staying in one of the luxurious serviced apartments.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“2nd Time Round”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Visited Titanic Spa previously with a friend on a day spa deal and felt dissapointed, i decided to give it another go and booked a 2 for 1 overnight stay with my partner who had never been to a spa before, as an anniversary treat. Being familiar with the spa, I enjoyed elements of the heat & ice experience especially the steam and ice room, the foot spa's leave a bit to be desired and the sauna's were uncomfortably busy, after a few hours of alternating pool/sauna/steam/ice we felt a bit bored. i also booked a mud chamber session for us both - this was a mistake, it wasn't so much a 'treatment' as we covered ourselves in mud, the chamber filled with steam making the mud literally sweat off us, it was uncomfortable and a bit unbearable also no water in the mud room so you have to wait until you were showered to step outside to get some, overheating and dehydrating - it wasn't great at £35 each. The spa didn't have a nice smell to it if i'm honest, usually you'd expect incense or aromatherapy oils but instead it was a bit stale. The 'relaxation room' was this time less crowded, and relaxing but again, the room smelt a bit damp, especially with people coming in and laying down on the bean bags after visiting the pool/sauna...
The positives were the food - this time a menu to choose from instead of a buffet which added a personal touch. The food was very tasty and well presented. The drinks were extra but the Bellini and Pimms were a nice addition to lunch. We also chose to have afternoon tea outside since it was sunny and the terrace area is lovely. The staff were helpful. The apartment was lovely and spacious, we didn't have a balcony which was a shame since the weather was so lovely but it was nicely furnished with a full kitchen and mezzanine bedroom level. The bathroom was also nice with a large bath and good shower and complimentary Elemis products . There was also a continental breakfast basket which was a nice touch. The only issue i had with the room was that it could have been a bit cleaner...there were long dark hairs all over the living room floor (not mine i'm blonde!) which was a bit off putting but just one of those things...we were only there one night so we just enjoyed it. The evening meal again you couldn't fault, i had belly pork and cheesecake to finish with a large glass of wine, it was lovely and a great atmosphere. Afterwards we retreated to our apartment with a DVD we borrowed from a selection at reception. Overall, a much better experience than my last, the food and apartment are mainly to thank for that. As for the actual spa, i would say - enhance your experience by booking some treatments, it'll break the time up a bit and although expensive offer more of the 'spa' experience you're expecting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mpagedesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    637
    313
    128
    73
    99
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely, replacing weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a night in an apartment . The apartments were well proportioned and and good facilities. The spa itself was lovely, I can recommend both the full body massage and head massage. The heat experience is also good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gemma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“not great!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Visited Titanic spa yesterday for an overnight package which was on offer at £59 per person, this was overnight stay in an apartment, use of spa facilities, lunch and a 2 course evening meal. I was excited to stay here as heard some good stuff however it turned out to be a disappointment. We arrived at the spa late morning and was given robes etc and asked if would like any additional treatments etc, we had already booked the mud chamber prior to the visit. We decided on a facial which was on offer from £80 to £65 and a massage which again was on offer from £70 to £50, these where booked in for later in the day. We started off with lunch which was disappointing as I choose tomato and chorizo pasta however it was very overcooked which made it more of a soup texture. We where then shown our room which didn’t look clean as it had hairs everywhere, we explained to reception and they said they would get it redone and offered us a free glassy of bubbly with our evening meal. Following this we went and had our mud treatment which was a disappointing experience as the drainage in one of the showers was broken meaning only one of us could shower in private so the other had to walk out to the open area to shower covered in Mud treatment, when I advised someone so it could be fixed they replied “oh ye the right shower, it happens all the time” which I found shocking that if happens all the time they should get fixed baring in mind they are charging £35pp for a private 25 minute session for this. We where offered a free taster treatment which we accepted and both treatments where very good and relaxing, we where given the keys back to the room at around 6.30pm before dinner. Dinner was lovely, I had hake with crushed potatoes which I give a thumbs up to. Finally when we checked out it turns out they charged us the full price for our treatments meaning we had to ask for it to be credited back after we had paid. Overall I wouldn’t go again for an overnight stay however the treatments where very good but pricey if full price!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank babybeckton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dreadful service booking”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We booked 2 for 1 deal
. For four people . At the time of booking we were not sure who the fourth person would be but was asked for the three peoples names. This was for Mother's Day .2 for 1 My father managed to come for the day but did not arrive until 6 as he drove 2 hours for a 40 min journey in traffic . Because we had not given the name of the fourth person they made us pay again for my father again . And said we had only paid for three
Even though they had taken £119 x 2 out of my account but tried to say this was for three
The jacuzzi is poor , the pool is freezing , the quiet room had people continuing coming in and unable to relax as full and not enough room .
But the apartments are great the food was good and friendly staff in the restaurant
Real shame but our stay was ruined by arguing for 2 hours about what we had been charged x will be taking this further !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

A group of us from work went to the titanic spa to the sunset evening. We were very disappointed by the overall experience. The receptionist who greeted us was very rude and unhelpful. The evening is sold stating a relaxing 3 hours spent in lovely surroundings when in fact it's three hours sat in reception or a corridor/waiting area. The evening includes one 20 minute treatment which is actually only 15 minutes long. You have to keep the clothes you arrive in on and we ended up with wet clothes after sitting where people had sat who had used the pool. We also had to carry our bags around with us and we're not allowed to use the lockers. Not relaxing at all.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Titanic Spa also viewed

 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Mirfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Titanic Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing