We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just Perfect!”
Reviewed 12 May 2011

I stayed at the lodge with my husband and two samll children (5yrs & 1yr) in April 2011. We accompanied my husband whilst he had to attend Huddersfield Uni for a 2 day conference. The location with regards to the Uni is perfect - you could only get better by pitching a tent on the lawn in front of the Uni entrance, but I'm sure someone would complain.... Breakfast was fabulous both for us and the kids. The hotel is spotless. The staff were so, so helpful - even told me which way to go for a play park with the kids whilst husband was at Uni - albeit we had superb weather so this helped. Our room had a kitchenette was invaluable with the kids (spaghetti hoops for tea!) The bathroom was spotless with loads of toiletries. There was lots of tea, coffee, decaf, hot choc and biscuits with a full size kettle in the room - plus proper sized mugs. The tv was big, beds comfy - I can't find fault - and wouldn't want too! There's no evening meals here, but it really isn't an issue, there's lots of take away menus in the lobby, the guy on the bar even ordered ours for us and paid for it out of the till and simply added it to our bill. On the day we checked out we were even able to leave our car in the secure car park until after 5pm due my husbands late finish! We will always stay here when we visit Huddersfield.

Room Tip: The showers are fab, like having a massage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis-Hurst_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
What a lovely review! I love the idea of spaghetti hoops for tea and will try some myself this week. I think you mentioned when you were here about about childrens highchairs we have now bought two hotel standard highchairs for our younger visitors.

Many thanks once again for your very kind words.

Kind regards,

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    135
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
135
186
75
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We have used the Lodge as our overnight accommodation for a number of years on these visits and have always had a very clean well-equipped and comfortable room for a very reasonable cost. The staff are friendly and very helpful and we enjoy a well prepared breakfast. The car park is exceptionally secure.

Room Tip: Tell the staff what you want. They will help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fred_miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor its good to hear from our regular guests as well as new ones and nice to know that we are still keeping the standards you expect.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2011

This is for anyone who is considering staying at the Huddersfield Central Lodge.

It is well wroth it because the hospitality is second to none. I stayed there for one night due to a very short trip in Yorkshire and I will honestly say that the treatment was first class. From the moment I arrived for check in to the time I left the following day. Even though I paid for one night with a complementary bed and breakfast they (The owners of the establishment) give me breakfast that morning whist my room was being prepared. Check in is normally in the afternoon but having arrived at 10am they still fed me with a full English breakfast, carried my bags to the room and called me about five minutes later to see if everything was okay. In addition to that they even helped me get to where I was going by finding out the bus route and stop I need to reach my destination.

I would strongly recommend this lovely, warm, friendly and very professional lodge to anyone who is staying in Huddersfield.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Wow! What can I say?

Thank you for the terrific review.

Kind regards,

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Although sign-posted, we missed the turning. Staff stayed on the line to give clear directions round the ring road. On arrival, our bags were lifted from the car and taken to our rooms. The staff work long days, yet are ever-friendly (especially Mark). The rooms are very comfortable, parking is secure, the food tastes fresh, the choice is flexible, the waiting time for breakfast is short and evening coffee is free. This is the best hotel that I have stayed in and my colleagues agree.

Room Tip: Book early; evidently this is a popular choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jf32125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Thank you! I have passed on your kind comments to Mark and the team. If you visit again, you should know the route. If not, ring me and I'll guide you in!

Kind regards,

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Spent 3 weeks on a business trip in Huddersfield.......... this is a wonderfull B&B style local family owned lodging..... run by wonderful folks ... who make u feel at home....
rooms are neat wth great character, (both of which I stayed in had a little kitchenette which was very handy, with a min refrigerator, stove top, microwave...)
nice little bar as well with good company always at hand...
unique service feature is one which the lodge will order for you from the neighbourhood restaurants... even arrange for pick up if needed... and then will provide you with all the cutlery/ plates ...so on..... to dine in the lounge area!
great breakfast options for either dining in... or ..cereal bars/ baked goodies/ fruits available for grab n go...
all in all great experience

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhi024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2011
Hi Abhi!

Thanks for the review.

Still busy with the C.T.T guys.

I hope you are coming over again for a few more beers and good conversation.

All the best,

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2011

I had a lovely stay at Central Lodge when I came on university business. The staff were extraordinarily helpful--including fetching a gorgeous Thai takeaway for me and setting me a place in the bar/dining room to eat it with a complimentary beer! The bed was very comfortable and there were nice touches, like a note mentioning the black-out shades (a very apt reminder, as otherwise I'd have been woken very early in my east-facing(?--well, very bright at least) room. Comfy, comfy bed.
Though I didn't pay the bill myself, I just checked the room tariffs, and I would say that this is excellent value. And very well-placed for university visits.

Room Tip: Thai Sakon takeaway is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynneguist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2011
Hello and Thank you!

You are quite right about the Thai Sakon, they do serve wonderfull food.

I hope your stay with us helped make your visit to the University go well, and hope you visit us again.

Kind regards,

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Nothing too much trouble for staff, great breakfast - plenty of choice.
comfy beds, spotless room/bathroom, nice selection of toiletries. Working iron - always a plus
The central Lodge and the Marsden family never let us down.

Room Tip: Don't confuse it with the Huddersfield Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank healthy1Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and for the kind comments regarding my family. I should add that all our small team here at the Central Lodge contribute to the high standards we try and acheive and it's always a pleasure when guests appreciate the efforts we put in.

Hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#3 of 17 in Huddersfield
519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel

Property: Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Address: Hotel 11/15 Beast Market, Huddersfield HD1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
#1 Business Hotel in Huddersfield
#1 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Star Metro Hotel accreditation from Visit Britain and AA. Quiet town centre location. All rooms fully en-suite, fully licensed bar. Smoking rooms are available on request. Free Wi-Fi. Free on-site secure car parking. Award winning Yorkshire Breakfast included in all rates. We are ideal for visiting friends, family or business colleagues traveling to our area. We have some small studio rooms which have a kitchenette and a small dining area, ideal for medium and long stay visitors or families. Special offers always available and updated often. We are waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huddersfield Central Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing