We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Accomo in Huddersfield”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Accomo in Huddersfield”
Reviewed 16 October 2008

The Central Lodge was easy to find - well-signposted from the town centre ring road and provided excellent secure parking. The reception staff were very friendly and provided a map detailing all the recommended restaurants in Huddersfield - many of them minutes walk away - which proved very useful. We had a twin room in the Mews annex building which was very clean, spacious and contained a kitchenette room along with a good-sized ensuite. The only slight niggle was the traffic noise from the ring road during the early hours but I expect that is to be expected from a town centre hotel. We had to leave very early on the Sunday morning (before the cooked breakfast was being served) but the cereals, fruits, yoghurts, juices, toast etc was more than enough. Would definately recommend the Central Lodge.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, Clean spacious room & Central location
  • Disliked — Traffic noise from ring road
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DottyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    136
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
136
188
78
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aledo, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2008

This is Huddersfield, not exactly a tourist mecca, so our expectations were not high. First, the staff at the Central Lodge are superbly polite and helpful. The manager was very helpful in getting a taxi to take us to a rather obscure location. The location is convenient, just a short walk from the train station. The room was clean..... except for the cigarette butt in the ashtray :(. Being very anti-smoking, the smell was less than stellar. After leaving the windows open (the weather was nice and cool) for the evening, most of the smell had dissipated. We plan on returning to Huddersfield in the next few years. After visiting some of the countryside around, our preference would be to find someplace in Holmfirth or Shelley, but if we can't find anything, the Lodge will be just fine.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gardenstate71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2008
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. This site is an important marketing tool for us.

I was glad to read that overall your visit to us and to the town was enjoyable, but obviously spoilt in some way by the discovery of the cigarette end. There is no excuse and this was an oversight on our part for which I apologise. I should point out that in the UK accommodation providers are allowed to have designated smoking rooms for guests, but of course upon check out there should be no evidence left for new arrivals.

If you visit Huddersfield again, we would be delighted to make you welcome but are pleased to read that at least you may be coming back to our area.

Thank you once again,
Joe Marsden
Co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

Very central location to enjoy the Huddersfield nightlife. Secure parking. Booked a single room which was clean, quite small with a single bed (I would have paid the extra for a double had I had known). That said it was an enjoyable stay and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was second to none. Feeling a little jaded on the saturday morning, the waitress set up a breakfast table for me in the gazeebo outside to enjoy some fresh air,and this was no trouble to her. The breakfast was spot on too and she was attentive to ensure I had top up's of both tea and toast. I have used other larger hotels in the town, but I would recommed Central Lodge as my preferred choice

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Small single room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank whipeout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rasplicious
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2008

What a find!

This family-run hotel is lovely - we received a fantastic welcome and the staff couldn't do enough for us.

We had better quality toiletries than we have had in some 4* hotels and the hotel staff here are far friendlier and more accommodating than a lot of hotels we have stayed at.

The room size was generous, with tea/coffee making facilities and a lovely en-suite. It was very clean.

This would definately be my hotel of choice for stays around Huddersfield in future.

Excellent hotel! Thankyou to all the staff - you really did make our stay very pleasant and very special.

  • Liked — The staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and a good size.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rasplicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2008

If a totally delightful hotel experience is what you seek, this is the place to stay. All the comforts you want are cheerfully and professionally provided, but by far, the staff is the most wonderful and friendly group of folks I have encounted. They give the extra mile to make you feel welcome and see to your needs. This is truely a gem among hotels. A home away from home, if you will...truely a delightful place.

  • Liked — The Amazing Staff
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EKUK08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2008

A few days away with work - what a find all the staff were wonderful, great breakfast, the hotel was great central right in the middle of Huddersfield - if you are near the area forget about anywhere else this is the place to stay - you won't be disapointed

  • Liked — wonderful overall experience
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gwilymdavies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2008

We were looking for accommodations close to the heart of Huddersfield. This place was within walking distance of everything, including the train and bus stations. The rooms were clean and the full breakfast was great. The best feature of the hotel was the employees and the owner. They were all very helpful in booking taxis, helping with restaurant reservations and just providing information in general. I would recommend Central Lodge for anyone looking for something other than just another chain hotel. Great experience!

  • Liked — Hosts
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Soccermom42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
3.7 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel

Property: Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Address: 11/15 Beast Market, Huddersfield HD1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
#1 Business Hotel in Huddersfield
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Star Metro Hotel accreditation from Visit Britain and AA. Quiet town centre location. All rooms fully en-suite, fully licensed bar. Smoking rooms are available on request. Free Wi-Fi. Free on-site secure car parking. Award winning Yorkshire Breakfast included in all rates. We are ideal for visiting friends, family or business colleagues traveling to our area. We have some small studio rooms which have a kitchenette and a small dining area, ideal for medium and long stay visitors or families. Special offers always available and updated often. We are waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huddersfield Central Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing