We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just stayed for 3 days as a base for visiting the area. Agreed with everything other visitors have said - lovely room and the dog allowed, smashing breakfast (even the dog got sausage - he was allowed in the conservatory with us for breakfast ). The staff/owners are brilliant and will do anything for you. Will return if in the area again and highly recommend the Central Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshirePudding66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear YorkshirePudding66,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular our Yorkshire breakfast with an extra hot dog! The family and team enjoy giving our visitors the best guest experience possible. I do hope we can be of service to you in the future.

Cheers,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 759 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Central Lodge is conveniently located and within walking distance to Dining, Shopping, and Nightlife. Having stayed at many of the local Huddersfield hotels, the rooms are on par or above standard for the Town.
What truly sets the Central Lodge apart is the Staff and Owner's dedication to delighting their Customers. I have never found any request to go unanswered or issue that was not immediately correct. Up to and including the Owner's wife having all of my clothing Dry cleaned and returned to my room the afternoon of my arrival after the Airline mishandled my luggage.
The service is beyond compare and the hospitality is off the charts.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main hotel rather than the Annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank R_Riddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear R_Riddle,

WOW!
Your review is an absolute delight to read and as you have experienced, our guests are our number one priority. Thank you so much for making our hotel your first review on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you on your next visit to the UK.

Best Wishes,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was a return visit to the Central Lodge and found it to be the lovely ,relaxing, warm ,friendly place as before.Facilities as before nice to have breakfast in the conservatory, a great welcome and nothing is too much trouble for the staff, if you need a takeaway they will happily accommodate you as well.Sadly we were only here for one night this time but will always come to Central Lodge if in the area or passing through. A great find and highly recommended.Thank you Joe and all your staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Noonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Noonga,

Thank you so much for your kind words and for giving me a mention! As I've said before in replies to some reviews, it's always nice to see a returning guest has enjoyed their last stay as much as their first. Hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I went to Huddersfield with a friend on a nostalgic trip as this was were I lived for the first 21 years of my life. I found the hotel by chance on a google search but what a find it was. The hotel is clean, efficient and friendly with very comfortable rooms. It is also perfectly located for restauraunts, station and generally wandering round the town. I can fully recommend it.

Room Tip: Away from the pub opposite so overlooking carpark is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Hello Pat B,
Many thanks for your review. I do hope you enjoyed your visit back to Huddersfield and your stay with us.
It's always a delight when someone takes the time to make their first review on TripAdvisor, and I'm sure you will find this site useful in any future travels.
Please don't wait 21 years before you visit us again!
Kind Regards,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Spent 4 days in Huddersfield, glad we stayed @ the Central Lodge. Staff were super helpful and you can't beat the location if you need to be right in town. Breakfast had enough choices to keep us happy.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 601JMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Greetings 601JMG,
I think you may find a response to your questionnaire is in the post, however thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during your visit and for the wonderful comments regarding our staff and location, much appreciated!
Kind Regards,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We weren't sure what to expect on the approach to the busy city centre, but once outside the actual hotel, we were very happy with the convenience of parking, room location & facilities including bathtub & toiletries, friendly & helpful staff and very nice courtyard, decoration and breakfast. Sleep was good with no disturbance from traffic or outside noise, and we were easily able to walk to the nearby restaurants, shops & the University. A highly recommended place which was much more enjoyable than a plastic chain style hotel, including fluffy towels !

Room Tip: Courtyard room on first floor was very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hello Bryan B,
It was very nice of you to point out to other TripAdvisor readers regarding our very central location, car park and breakfast.
We pride ourselves on hospitality and our team were delighted to read that this was appreciated. I particularly liked the comparison to the 'plastic chains'.
Many thanks for a lovely review!
Best wishes,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a lovely, well-kept B and B. Don't expect amenities like lifts and air conditioning, so if you need them, book elsewhere. Do expect a helpful staff, perfect location to the University, and a comfortable and clean room. We stayed for five nights and had no issues of any kind. I would recommend this B and B highly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Flitcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Hi Fitcraft,
A long, long journey back to Washington State and already you have found time to leave a review. Thank you!
No elevators and no air con, not yet anyway. However I think your comments show that we made the grade with our hospitality and service, a delight to read.
Last but not least, I hope the ceremony went well and our best wishes to The Graduate!.
Fondest regards,
Joe and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#2 of 15 in Huddersfield
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Huddersfield
Travelodge Huddersfield
#6 of 15 in Huddersfield
334 reviews
2.2 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#11 of 15 in Huddersfield
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel

Address: 11/15 Beast Market, Huddersfield HD1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
#1 Business Hotel in Huddersfield
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range: £70 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Star Metro Hotel accreditation from Visit Britain and AA. Quiet town centre location. All rooms fully en-suite, fully licensed bar. Smoking rooms are available on request. Free Wi-Fi. Free on-site secure car parking. Award winning Yorkshire Breakfast included in all rates. We are ideal for visiting friends, family or business colleagues traveling to our area. We have some small studio rooms which have a kitchenette and a small dining area, ideal for medium and long stay visitors or families. Special offers always available and updated often. We are waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huddersfield Central Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing