We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 4 night stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great 4 night stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights at the end of Feb as we were both on business in the town. To be honest, I was unsure of what to expect as we usually stay at either the Cedar Court or Briar Court but someone recommened the lodge as a cheaper alternative so we thought we would give it a try!
The staff couldnt do enough for us. Really lovely welcome and we were offered visitor guides of Huddersfield and told to ask for anything we needed help with. The room was spotless, as was the bathroom. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds we had slept in! My husband was really pleased that the hotel had Sky sports in the bar, conservatory and in the bedrooms! A real bonus!
The breakfast was fantastic. On each of the 4 mornings, we were greeted by friendly staff offering to cook us whatever we wanted. So much better service than other Huddersfield hotels we have stayed in!
I would sum this place up by saying that what it lacks in glitz and glamour it makes up for in attentive service, cleanliness, good fresh food and a central location, ideal for going out in the evening!
We will definitely return here! The one request I would have for the hotel would be to consider having a mini gym for its customers, as being on business all day, it would be great to have a bit of a workout. nothing major just a treadmill, exercise bike. I bet its something that would get used by business clients!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeatCentrallodge, Director at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2009
Hello!
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent visit. These are useful to us to maintain our high standards.

We have had requests for a mini gym or some type of exercise machine. After having consulted both our insurers and the local Health and Safety Officer, we found it would not be viable. There are various reasons including cost and the need for professional supervision!

We do have a good relationship with the Huddersfield Sports Centre which is 500 metres away and the modern gym at the Galpharm Stadium which is half a mile away. Both have excellent facilities and without the need for membership.

I do hope you will stay with us again and I would be delighted to put you in touch with the above two venues.

Kind Regards
Joe Marsden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    135
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
135
186
76
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2009

After reading all the other reviews we decided we would stay there and we were not disappointed.
It really is a jewel in the centre of Huddersfield. Rated as AA 4star it just exceeds this and more. The room was perfect. Every possible extra has been thought of by The Marsden Family. The breakfast was...WOW!!! Again every mortal thing you could wish for and the chef cretainly knows how to cook a perfect breakfast.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Even to suggesting a restaurant for the evening which turned out to every bit as good as they said (Argento Steakhouse 2 mins walk from Central Lodge).

  • Liked — the qualityof accomadation and food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2009

We stayed two nights whilst dropping son off at Huddersfield Universirty.

Central location, very clean and nice breakfast. Very hospitable owners and would definitely return.

  • Liked — Hospitality, central location & very clean, secure carp parking
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 33057seagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge,England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2008

One night stay at this cenrtrally positioned B and B.
Welcomed on arrival by friendly staff.
Room clean and warm with all that was needed for our one night stay.
TV channel settings had been tampered with but staff tried to sort things out instantly
Over the bath shower was disappointing but hot water in abundance.
Superb plentiful self service breakfast.
The only draw back to the establishment is its proximetry to a nightclub and lap/pole dancing establishments.
The noise from the nightclub could for some be a little annoying.
Very secure parking to the rear of the hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly efficient staff
  • Disliked — Closeness of night club
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2008

My son and I stayed one night at the Central Lodge when he was taking an exam at the university. The atmosphere generated by the staff helped us all to relax and feel comfortable prior to a very important event. They are rightly proud of their clientele and we felt we were just as valued as guests. It is very clean and comfortable, and the location was perfect for our needs.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, above all, quiet.
  • Disliked — There was nothing I didn't like.
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jeanash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vught
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2008

We (couple from Holland) spent 1 night on a combined business and leisure trip here. It is an amazingly charming lodge in downtown Huddersfield. Rooms are not spectacular but clean and comfortable. Owners and staff are more than friendly and offer great service. Very good vaue for money.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank Vuppies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston SC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2008

Cozy hotel right in the center of Huddersfield. Rooms are clean, with WiFi access, some with small kitchenette.
Friendly staff, nice bar and sun room.
Traditional Yorkshire breakfast is great, or if you want lighter food, there is nice selection of cereal and yogurt. You need to try toast with their home made jams.
All recommendations for local eateries were great. They even call ahead to restaurants that you are coming, so table will be waiting for you.
Highly recommend this place for its services and location.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brano_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel

Property: Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Address: Hotel 11/15 Beast Market, Huddersfield HD1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
#1 Business Hotel in Huddersfield
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Star Metro Hotel accreditation from Visit Britain and AA. Quiet town centre location. All rooms fully en-suite, fully licensed bar. Smoking rooms are available on request. Free Wi-Fi. Free on-site secure car parking. Award winning Yorkshire Breakfast included in all rates. We are ideal for visiting friends, family or business colleagues traveling to our area. We have some small studio rooms which have a kitchenette and a small dining area, ideal for medium and long stay visitors or families. Special offers always available and updated often. We are waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huddersfield Central Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing