We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Destinia.com
Snaptravel
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (921)
Filter reviews
921 results
Traveller rating
717
173
23
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
717
173
23
7
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
291 - 296 of 921 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2016

I stayed in this hotel for about 10 days. It is located very close to market place and surrounded by several restaurants. Very close to railway station and bus station too. University is just walking distance.
Well maintained and serves good breakfast.Have ample parking place. Friendly staff and provides all sorts of support and guidance.

Room tip: Very good budget hotel.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dayakarpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Hello Dayakar,

Thank you for your review and I do hope you enjoyed your long visit to our hotel and town. It was good of you to mention our central location and the facilities that are nearby. Our staff were pleased to read your kind words and we do hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We stayed for 4 nights, comfy beds, all very clean, no noise, fans to keep you cool. Very centrally located with ultra secure parking.Lots of lovely restaurants within five minutes of the hotel or you can arrange to have a takeaway delivered to the dining room. Have booked up for Christmas.

Room tip: We had the largest family room.
Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Hello Andrea,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and your very kind words. Our central location and secure onsite parking is popular with many of our guests. I noticed you have booked for Christmas and if you were to contact me with the dates, I would be delighted to welcome you back personally.

Best Wishes,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Nice, clean and comfortable hotel, would definitely stay again if in the area. The staff were all very friendly and couldn't do enough to help with every aspect of the stay.

Positives - The rooms were clean and comfortable, we were in the attic room in The Mews, so very spacious too. Bed was comfortable, bathroom very clean, shower was great, plenty of hot water and powerful. The hotel backs on to a main road in the town centre but hardly noticed at all as all windows double glazed. Room fans and free wifi, which worked fine in the rooms too.
Breakfast was plentiful with lots of options for cooked, including omelettes, toast, loads of cereal options and as much tea, coffee and juice as you like.
Always someone available, staffed 24hours and bar seemed well stocked.

Negatives - very few really and none detract from what a well run, worth the money place to stay. Could do with a little upgrade, but this does not affect your stay. The cooked breakfast worked better when they did the buffet, help yourself option, as the waitress type service, where you gave your order and were served, was often provided wrong. We were served wrong items on both days of waitress service and noticed others were too. The order was written down but still served wrong - was still nice food though.

On arrival the area around, especially the pub across the road, looks a bit dodgy, nothing the place can do about that and again does not affect the hotel and the hotel area is excellent.

Overall - excellent price and very nice place to stay.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NottsWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Hello!

Thank you for your review, it was good to read and I am so pleased you were happy with the friendliness of our team and that you would stay again when in the area.
I do like to read reviews which show the negatives as well as the positives, this helps us to maintain or improve the guest experience. I have taken on board your comments regarding the different style of breakfast service and we have now implemented a new system where the breakfast staff taking orders have a clipboard where they can tick each item required. We may need to improve this until mistakes stop completely but I must thank you for bringing this to our attention. I do hope we see you again and you can see the difference with breakfast service.

Best Wishes,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

I spent x2 nights at the Central Lodge in Huddersfield to celebrate my fiancée' s birthday. The room was spacious with all the comforts you would expect and the staff was helpfull and very friendley. The breakfast was 1st class and brought home the attention to detail and the family way the hotel is run. The free car car parking was very secure with restricted access.

Overall I was very pleased with the way the hotel was presented and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris-D-Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Hello Chris,

Thank you so much for a top marks review. All our team were delighted to read your words especially when this is the first time you have left a review on Trip Advisor. Happy belated birthday to your fiancee. We would be delighted if you were to book a couple of weeks for your honeymoon!

All the very best to you both!
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

I stayed here for the duration of a Conference held in the nearby university in June 2016. I found the room very spacious and comfortable and the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The location is very central and the hotel has a lovely 'homely' feel to it. The only negative thing I could say is that the wi-fi connection was not great and dropped a few times, but the staff were apologetic and said that they were working on it. Plus, the phone reception was good and there was a big tv with plenty of entertainment channels - so plenty to keep yourself entertained! Would recommend.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RoisisL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Hello Roisin L,
Thank you so much for your kind words which all our team are grateful for.
We do occasionally have some of the WiFi routers drop off and need rebooting. I do hope this didn't spoil your stay and hope you will choose us again next time you visit the University.
Kind Regards,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews