We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes - it is the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
ThePtarmiganScotland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Yes - it is the best”
Reviewed 9 December 2009

We used Trip Advisor to select this hotel and we were not disappointed. We have not tried anywhere else in Huddersfield, but I note that TravelLodge type places are scoring highly - so that suggests there is not a lot of choice.

Central Lodge is easy walking from the station and just 50 meters or so off the main City Centre streets down a wee lane. They have a large, very secure car park. All the restaraunts and pubs etc are close by, but you are in a little private enclave in the town.

Quirky place, but exceptionally well run. I travel a great deal and seek out good guest houses rather than plastic chain hotels, this is in the top 10% of good guest houses.

They knew who I was, warm welcome, good large ensuite room, top quality fittings, blindingly hot shower in a large fully- tiled ensuite. Wi-Fi that worked (even streamed BBC iPlayer), stupid wee plastic glass that I broke trying to get out of the sterile wrapping (barman gave me a real glass later). Super comfy bed with big pillows/cushions. Clean, nothing worn out.

Good breakfast the next morning, wide choice, well attended by friendly staff.

2 things stand out from this visit.

1. Attention to detail. The hotel has a very obvious caring attitude to it's guests. Simple things like umbrellas to borrow, De-Icer kits to buy cheaply at the exit door to the carpark, facilities to allow you to eat a carry-out (which they will order) in their dining room, a nice wee bar to end your evening in, a PC to use in reception....there are lots more. It just is somewhere that the owners, management and staff have worked as a team to provide a really guest-focussed experience - and they obviously enjoy doing it. Does not happen very often.

2. When we mentioned to our Huddersfield clients where we had stayed - they were appalled! "What - Johnny's Hotel?" - they asked. OK, we are a top UK Management Consultancy company, so perhaps they expected us to stay at the Huddersfiels Savoy (they are paying...why?). But locals have a dim view of this wee gem, locally known as Johnnys, ignore them. Stay here.

Ask about the Summer Wine gossip at the bar!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirBrianMiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeatCentrallodge, Co-owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2009
Thank you!

Your review was very detailed and very much appreciated.

Perhaps I could clarify one of the points you made. Just over 6 years ago, my brother Johnny and I sold the Huddersfield Hotel, Kirkgate. This was often called by locals "Johnny's Hotel". There is still some confusion even though now we own the Huddersfield Central Lodge. We find that when most local people comment on "Johnny's Hotel" they do in fact mean our old place and not where we are now.

We, as you say, are in a little private enclave and are still not known quite so well known by local people. Fortunately local businesses and visitors to the town such as yourself do find us and enjoy their stay.

Many thanks once again for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

Joe Marsden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    141
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
144
198
78
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Visiting friends in Hudds checked in saw the room,booked an extra night,would not hesitate to go back again, The Staff excellant every one smiles ,all the time
could not fault this first class Lodge The food and dinning room excellant
Take a Bow you guys
not forgetting the Bar Tender Cheers

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Spent 1 night here. Travelled with mates from London to watch rugby league match at Galpharm Stadium.

Train station is easy 4 min walk.
Shopping centre, shops, eateries, pubs, night clubs minutes walk away.
Galpharm Stadium a 10 minute downhill walk.

Hotel was a very nice, well run bnb style accomodation. Had a good-sized triple room (1 double, 2 single beds). Nice bathroom. 20" TV. Iron & iron board.

Excellent rate for triple room (£84) includes breakfast (continental and hot breakfast offered).

Staff were very friendly. I would definitely stay here (with the lads) again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VitzWainui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We stayed here for my friend's hen night recently and it was an excellent hotel. They offer triple rooms - ours were in the mews building, with sloping ceilings and windows front and back. Full kitchenette for longer stays, ironing board, newly fitted bathroom with a strong shower, skylights, recliner chairs, just lovey! The service was very good too - the receptionist recommended restaurants and gave us maps and menus too! Breakfast was good and I think it worked out to 32pp.

Central location was useful for stumbling back late at night, and the town is great fun!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank She25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Got your attention? Right - cracking hotel. Conscientious owners and staff make every effort to get everything 'just right' from vehicle and hotel security through good-size, well-equipped, clean room and helpful staff to fine breakfast and comprehensive guide to recommended restaurants (with special takeaway service provided by four local restaurants - the hotel providing the plates, cutlery etc). A spacious conservatory for those sunny Huddersfield days (20th June and 3rd August). AND (where else would you find this?) - a gazebo for smokers and their non-smoking friends with wall-mounted large flat-screen TV. Computer/internet in lobby and wi-fi for those with laptop - as I said before 'Arry, the management has tried to think of everything. A few quibbles of course - room a bit stuffy and from the outside, the hotel didn't pass the wife's 'curtain test' but thank goodness we overlooked that. A memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wirepuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Windermere, Cumbria
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2009

This family run hotel was just excellent in every way! The service was impeccable they could not do enough for us. Excellent owners, excellent staff. Rooms impeccable. Breakfast was so good they even used free range eggs off their own poultry which they keep at their own home. Next time we visit Huddersfield we will definitely go back there and will not go anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

My stay at Huddersfield Central Lodge was excellent. My luggage was stored for me since I arrived too early to occupy my room. No hassle about that and no one expecting a fat tip for the service like at big hotels. Easy walking distance to and from railway station.

Single room in the mews much larger than I had expected. Very clean and modern. Excellent breakfast. Free internet access near the registration desk is great for those travelling without their own laptop computer.

A short train ride to Marsden and a visit to the Standedge Tunnel is a great way to spend a few hours if you have the time.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cl1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
546 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
3.7 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
#10 of 17 in Huddersfield
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Huddersfield
Travelodge Huddersfield
#7 of 17 in Huddersfield
314 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
3.7 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel

Property: Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Address: 11/15 Beast Market, Huddersfield HD1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
#1 Business Hotel in Huddersfield
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Star Metro Hotel accreditation from Visit Britain and AA. Quiet town centre location. All rooms fully en-suite, fully licensed bar. Smoking rooms are available on request. Free Wi-Fi. Free on-site secure car parking. Award winning Yorkshire Breakfast included in all rates. We are ideal for visiting friends, family or business colleagues traveling to our area. We have some small studio rooms which have a kitchenette and a small dining area, ideal for medium and long stay visitors or families. Special offers always available and updated often. We are waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huddersfield Central Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing