We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short....but sweet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2007

Stayed for one night only on a business trip, having read previous positive reviews about this hotel. I would endorse what has been said before - very friendly staff, above-average room and facilities including en-suite, and whilst only a b&b they will provide cutlery and plates should you wish to phone for a take-away. They permit this to be eaten in the dining-room area....or back in your room. An added bonus! The breakfast was of a good quality with everything you'd expect. The Lodge is indeed centrally placed and merely a few minutes walk from both rail station and shops. All in all, an enjoyable stay...and i would certainly return should I have occasion to do so.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Nigeljameson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

743 - 749 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2006

We stayed at The Huddersfield Central Lodge for just one night in November 2006 so that we could attend our son’s Graduation Day. After negotiating Huddersfield’s one-way system we found the hotel which is located right in the middle of the town..Check-in at reception was easy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our son stayed in room 34 in the main part of the hotel. I did not see his room but, even though we paid for a single room for him, his room apparently had three beds in it. My husband and I stayed in room 42 in The Mews. This room was very well equipped with all the usual: TV, hairdryer, coffee/tea making facilities but also included an iron and ironing board. Also, to my surprise, the room had a little kitchenette with microwave and hot plates. I think it even had a fridge. We also had our own private terrace with table and chairs and a patio gas heater. I think this room would make a great base for anyone holidaying in Yorkshire. It was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was adequate. There was plenty on offer but not very excitingly laid out. My only gripe was that the curtains in our room were rather thin. Our room overlooked an inner courtyard and the secure car park all of which were very well lit right through the night. Because of the rather thin curtains, our room was very light and I spent half the night awake because the room was not dark enough. On top of this, I heard a distant church bell chime every quarter hour. Had the room been dark and I was able to sleep deeply, I think I would not have heard the church bells. The hotel had a very large and very secure car park with electronic gates. We were able to leave our car there (for a charge of £4 for the day) after we had checked out and they allowed us to use the reception toilet to change in to for the Graduation Ceremony.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2006

Found the Huddersfield Lodge on the internet.....Right in the center of Huddersfield...bit difficult to find but well worth the effort. The rooms were large very clean and the beds so comfortable we had a wonderful nights sleep...everything on hand in the room...staff extremely friendly and helpful...lovely conservatory to sit in and have a drink....breakfast was wonderful.....we will definitely stay there again....a proper little jewel in huddersfields crown.

s.tuffs@ntlworld.com

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandrattwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2006

I spent 4 nights at the Huddersfield Central Lodge in May of this year, and it was a wonderful experience.

I found them on an internet search, and dealt with Lee by e-mail. I could tell from the friendliness of his e-mails that I would have a good time.

I have no complaints at all! There was a very warm welcome, the hotel is just a short walk to the town centre, my room was very comfortable and quiet, the breakfasts were delicious, and for take-away dinners (no dinners at hotel), they kindly provided a plate and silverware to take to my room. I was even given a ride to the train station when I left!

The staff was very friendly, very willing to chat and give hints on what to see.

I will certainly be returning for another stay in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2006

I have stayed at this family run hotel a few times, staff are very helpful, it is quite a small but well run hotel i dont think there are more than 30 rooms if that. rooms are morate but not massive, always clean. though not far from the town centre (beast market - next to an antique shop) it is quite quiet at night.

Good tasty english breakfast, never had any problems here. there give you a security access after late hours for entry.

would rate this place even better than the George and the hudddersfield hotel nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank drashome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2006

The Huddersfield Central Lodge, Mr&Mrs R Allan Newport East Yorkshire
lovely friendly, nothing to much trouble,nice finishing touches in rooms,eg complimentary shower caps,shampoos,soaps,hand & body lotion, even sewing kits,nice tea & coffee in rooms not your usual cheap stuff,(suchards hot chocolate mmm! ) irons even an ironing board,excellent choice of food breakfast that is,secure parking,will definatley stay there again,and highly reccomend this hotel,

1  Thank lynnEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank stefandaschiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#2 of 15 in Huddersfield
593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
3.7 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
2.2 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#10 of 15 in Huddersfield
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel

Address: 11/15 Beast Market, Huddersfield HD1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Huddersfield
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
#1 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range: £78 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Star Metro Hotel accreditation from Visit Britain and AA. Quiet town centre location. All rooms fully en-suite, fully licensed bar. Smoking rooms are available on request. Free Wi-Fi. Free on-site secure car parking. Award winning Yorkshire Breakfast included in all rates. We are ideal for visiting friends, family or business colleagues traveling to our area. We have some small studio rooms which have a kitchenette and a small dining area, ideal for medium and long stay visitors or families. Special offers always available and updated often. We are waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huddersfield Central Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing