We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, staff friendly and accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, staff friendly and accommodating”
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Clean and comfortable room. Quality breakfast. Very convenient for town centre shops and facilities. Secure parking is a definite attraction. Very good value for money. We appreciated being able to take our well-behaved dog with us.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trev0rV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    141
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
144
198
78
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

The family and staff are very friendly and I felt well looked after during my stay
Its a bonus to be able to use the available computer to keep contact with home
The English breakfast was a good start to the day and there were lots of ideas provided for local restaurants in the evening
There is a small friendly and comfortable bar in the evenings
I would definitely choose to stay there again

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fletcheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We have now stayed at the Huddersfield Central Lodge twice, and intend to keep coming back while our son is at Uni . Price is higher than the chain hotels nearby, but the personal attention, the secure parking, 24 hour manned entrance, and of course the breakfast, make it worthwhile. I had a slightly disturbed night due to noisy pipes, and we received a letter apologising about it, a nice gesture. These things happen.
They also have an appartment with a kitchenette, useful for longer stays.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutton surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

It was a pleasure to stay at the Central Lodge, from the moment of arrival the staff and owners of the hotel were so pleasant and helpful.
I picked this hotel after reading other guests reviews, and for me it was a no brain-er to stay there.

The first night I went to the bar and the staff introduced me to other guests and brought me into their conversation. Which was great for me because being on my own for a week is not much fun and I had a great laugh with them during my stay.

One of the assets for this hotel is their secure gated car park which is also covered by C.C.T.V, as my car was only 2 weeks old , it was great to have this peace of mind.

The room I was given was spacious and very clean, with a 36'' flat-screen T.V and everything you may need, i.e iron, ironing board , tea, coffee, and bathroom products.

The breakfast was great and had every thing I could possibly want, and I found I did not have to eat for the rest of the day afterwards.Although the hotel does not provide evening meals, it does have extensive take away menus, and the staff are more then happy to place an order for you and you can either eat it in the hotel dining area or the comfort of your own room, which i thought was a great idea.

Overall this is a very pleasant place to stay and i would highly recommend it . I would like to say a big thank you to Joe and his staff, especially the young girl staff member who helped me with my revision for the test I had at the last day of my stay, and if I was ever in the Huddersfield area again i will definately stay at the Central Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarySuttonSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We booked two rooms at the Central Lodge for one night in July, for my son's graduation. The Lodge is located right in the centre of Huddersfield, within easy walking distance of the shops in the town centre and the University. We were greeted warmly by the proprietors, Johnny and Joe, and given a welcome cup of tea. I have to say that the service at the Central Lodge was absolutely fantastic - nothing was too much trouble. There is no restaurant, but a selection of take-away menus were available, and they were happy to phone through our selection, and allowed us to eat our order, (a range of curries!) in the bar. All this at quite a late hour.

The rooms I can best describe as traditional, not particularly spacious, but clean, with en suite, and perfectly adequate for an overnight stay.

Breakfast is superb, a full English, beautifully cooked, and choice of cereals, yogurts, etc, toast, and also a range of home made preserves. It really set us up for the day.

It was also raining that morning, and as we had just come from the South where there was a heatwave we had no umbrellas with us. Luckily the Lodge had some for guest use, and we were able to borrow a couple, which really saved the day, otherwise we would have been completely drenched in the 10 minute walk to the University. We were able to leave the car in the gated Car Park, as parking in central Huddersfield isn't easy, so this was also a great help.

I do, however, have a couple of reservations. For some reason, both our rooms were very hot, ours in particular. This was not due to the weather - it was quite cool outside. We weren't able to open the window as there was a club just across the road which played very load music into the early hours. We did have a fan in our room, but this was insufficient. We had already been offered the use of a fan if necessary, so we had to take up this offer, and the combined efforts of two fans did the trick. I'm not sure whether we were just unlucky with the location of our rooms, or whether they all suffer from the same problem. The public areas downstairs seemed fine.

So I would certainly stay at the Central Lodge again, so long as it was in a different room.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeatCentrallodge, Owner at Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
Hello!

Many thanks for your lovely review and the kind comments regarding our staff and facilities. I am glad the brollys were useful to you, we buy them from the pound shop!

I'm sorry to hear the problems with heat in your room, which I would like to blame on our lovely thick yorkshire stone walls. However, I'm glad the fans were helpful, and we have plenty available for all guests.

Please accept my apologies for the noise disturbance from the nearby venue. To be honest we have had a few similar comments recently, and we are in touch with the local Council Noise Pollution Offices. They have issued notices to the venue, instructing them to reduce and keep down the volume, so as not to disturb our guests, even with windows open. Up to now they are complying with this order.

Many thanks once again for taking the time to place a review, and good luck to your son now that he has graduated.

Kind regards,
Joe Marsden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Really appreciated the free WiFi. Location was excellent - easy walking distance to the University of Huddersfield

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJW2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2010

I write this on behalf of myself and my other 5 collegues who stayed at the Central Lodge. Our rooms were above the standard we were expecting with them being extremely comfortable and clean. But above all, the staff were exceptionally friendly and went to great lengths to make our stay a welcomed one and went that extra mile to in recommending/offering to book local restaurants and places to visit. I would not hesitate to recommend anyone to stay here and would make this suggestion in complete confidence. If I am ever in Huddersfield again I would definitely stay at the Central Lodge. Oh... and the breakfasts are tremendously delicious and substantial!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
546 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
3.7 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
#10 of 17 in Huddersfield
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Huddersfield
Travelodge Huddersfield
#7 of 17 in Huddersfield
315 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
3.7 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel

Property: Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Address: 11/15 Beast Market, Huddersfield HD1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
#1 Business Hotel in Huddersfield
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Star Metro Hotel accreditation from Visit Britain and AA. Quiet town centre location. All rooms fully en-suite, fully licensed bar. Smoking rooms are available on request. Free Wi-Fi. Free on-site secure car parking. Award winning Yorkshire Breakfast included in all rates. We are ideal for visiting friends, family or business colleagues traveling to our area. We have some small studio rooms which have a kitchenette and a small dining area, ideal for medium and long stay visitors or families. Special offers always available and updated often. We are waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huddersfield Central Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing