We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
45
6
1
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
6
1
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones complimentary fruit honesty bar unique building thanks john cliff face tour de force cowboy feel unmade road secluded area steam punk country music an exceptional host boutique feel quirky place stunning scenery on arrival
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2016

My daughter chose this place because of the price when staying there for uni.... She took me back to visit because it is stunning The best welcome we have ever had anywhere. The whole place is incredible the views from the balcony amazing Excellent breakfast Can't praise the whole set up enough

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vivienne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Quirky....Bohemenian...Idyllic Views...Friendly...Excruciatingly Welcoming...

Luxurious accommodation and a unique, magical experience...

The Edge is my fave off the beaten track retreat thus far, and definitely the best value for money...

You will be well looked after and experience hospitality in its fullest sense.

I'll definitely be returning...

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank mimznmumzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We stayed for one night only as we were attending a party in the area. John is a very garrulous fellow and keen to share his local knowledge. The Edge is not the easiest place to find for local taxis but the reward is a terrific view. Bedroom was clean and comfortable, albeit slightly questionable decor. John seems to have a thing for shag pile carpets. Breakfast was hot and filling. The only drawback was that everything we wanted to do was on the other side of Huddersfield so we spent too much time back and forth in cabs.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Howard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Huddersfield is where my Mother and Father were born, grew up, fell in love and married before moving "down south". So many of the family have sadly departed but every now and then we meet up. This weekend was just such an occasion...a family BBQ in Huddersfield. I didn't know where to stay...a female travelling on her own...need somewhere comfortable, yet safe. I happened across this place via Bookings.com. It said it "Unique"...they weren't wrong. It was an eclectic mix of guest house, family home, hotel via a building that was a cross between a barn, lodge, Texan ranch. The views are stunning! The host, John, welcomed me with open arms...literally. Made me feel instantly comfortable. With pride he showed me around the property allowing me to choose the room I felt suited my needs the most. I felt so thoroughly relaxed. Welcomed with a lovely coffee, fresh scone with cream and jam! Anything I wanted for breakfast! An honesty bar (not expensive either!). Free coffee and tea for guests. A variety of literature about the area including places for delivery Indian food, pizzas etc. A truly welcome piece of querkyness that was so peaceful, tranquil and warming to the heart. You have to see this place to appreciate it. To sum up....excuse all the spelling and grammatical errors...I would definitely visit again! Thank you John!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Lived up to previous reviews.I have spent an enjoyable week based here John is very accommodating, nothing was a trouble to him. Rooms lovely, food to be recommended. I was on my own car less and found this an ideal base for the week

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank annehO6302KH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews