We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Edgerton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edgerton Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Stayed for 1 night in November. Very well priced and location great for town centre. Room was very clean with a modern interior. Double bed is comfortable and room warm with efficient central heating. Power shower in a clean bathroom is brilliant. Only negative of the room there was a large domestic fridge, the size not needed and looked out of place with the modern decor and above all else annoyingly buzzed at night so ended up just switching it off. Full English breakfast was tasty and filling in a very clean communal room. 24hr reception friendly and no issues checking in and out. Surprisingly quiet considering it is located next to a busy road. Parking is tricky to get to if you have a big car but 24hr CCTV monitoring for peace of mind well worth the effort. I will definitely be staying again, thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolvespaul81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed here for one night and would happily visit again. The staff were friendly, welcoming and happy to chat.

We booked a double room and were given a family room which had a king sized bed. The bed was comfy and the duvet was great - all light and snuggly. The room was airy and modern. Furnishings & facilities were basic, but as good as/better than in other 3* B&Bs we have stayed in. They include coffee & tea making facilities and an iron + ironing board - ideal if you're travelling on business.

As others have said, the room, en-suite and shared areas are spotlessly clean - and I'm fussy about these things :-)

Breakfast was fairly standard - a choice of cereals and fruits; juice and brown or white toast. Tea and coffee (both good) were brought fresh to the table. Cooked breakfast was okay, although the bacon was a bit strange and I would have preferred my egg soft (not given the choice).

Booking was easy - just a quick phone call the day before. They take card details, but only take payment in person on arrival, and you can then pay by cash or card. We even got a 10% discount having checked out Trip Advisor first! It's worth mentioning that breakfast costs extra.

The building is great - a typical Victorian, Gothic pile put up by a mill owner to display their new wealth. However, access wasn't designed with cars in mind, and access down the side of the building to the car park is a bit tight. We managed in our Volvo estate, but you'd have to be brave to try with anything more than a couple of inches wider.

If we need another short stay in Huddersfield, we would book The Cambridge without hesitation.

Room Tip: Didn't see a lift. You might want to check which floor your room is on if you have mobility issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

dont book with this hotel as they charge your card when you paid in full with cash

Room Tip: cambridge hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GARY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeGuestHouse, Manager at Edgerton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear Gary. I'm sorry for the review you have posted but considering you didn't even stay with us we're surprised with your review. We did refund you for your late cancellation through a third party booking engine but we can assure you we don't charge a customer twice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Wonderful staff, clean, lovely reception. Will definitely be coming back. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeGuestHouse, Manager at Edgerton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thank you for the kind words. We look forward to having you back soon. (-:

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Nice building. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean, well furnished room. Easy walk from town. Nothing spectacularly good, but generally good all round.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RT1973RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Visited at the weekend with our 15 year old, booked a triple room. Nice big room, a basic hotel with a fridge in room however and we were told not a problem if we wanted to order takeawys etc, clean and just what we needed. Staff were excellent couldn't help enough, good advice for where to go out and eat, etc. Breakfast was cooked to order just how we liked it and plenty of it. It seemed that the place was full of families and we all arrived at the breakfast room at once but the staff coped admirably. Extremely convenient for getting into Huddersfield and a carpark in the grounds with cctv. I would return and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenandjesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

I stayed here with my friends for a night out in Huddersfield in April 2010. Although it is a bit tricky to find, we ended up at the Cambridge Lodge, owned by same people luckilly as the owner drove us to the Guest House. It is owned by a friendly Asian family, who we're very polite and helpful. The room was nice for what we paid, comfy bed, clean, nice shower, basically it had everything we needed. Can't knock it for the price, & would recommend it to anyone wanting a bargain hotel for a night or two in Huddersfield.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcnjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#3 of 14 in Huddersfield
572 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
0.7 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Huddersfield
Travelodge Huddersfield
#6 of 14 in Huddersfield
324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pinfold Guest House
Pinfold Guest House
#2 of 21 in Huddersfield
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgerton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgerton Hotel

Address: 86-88 New North Road, Huddersfield HD1 5NE, England (Formerly Edgerton Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range: £48 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgerton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family run Hotel, featuring a beautiful period property with great hospitality and service.Offering free on-site car parking and free Wi-Fi, Edgerton Hotel is a 10-minute walk from Huddersfield town centre and 0.5 miles from the bus and railway stations. It's 1 mile away from Huddersfield University, only 1.3 miles from Galpharm Stadium and 1.1 miles away from Huddersfield Royal Infirmary. There's a bus stop right outside the Hotel with buses running regularly towards town centre. The beautiful Victorian Hotel is based on the A629 towards Halifax. It's approximately 5 mins away from Greenhead Park and 2 mins away from Kirklees college. about 2.5 miles (4 km) from junction 24 of the M62.Free private parking is available on site, with closed-circuit TV surveillance for additional security and our reception is open 24 hours a day so you can check in at your leisure.There are 30 spacious and comfortable rooms, all of which are en suite with POWER showers. Each room has a TV, a telephone, a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities Ironing boards, irons and hair dryers. Guests also have access to a microwave to warm up their food if required and there are plenty of local take aways, restaurants and pubs to eat out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Edgerton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing