We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of vintage Inns Better restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton
Ranked #7 of 21 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We were 4 adults and 2 children dining here on a busy Saturday. It was annoying to have to phone to book a table inatead of doing so online as with other restaurants in this Group.
The Service was rather slow, perhaps because we all ordered diffrent thigs form the menus.The Staff who served us were friendly, helpful, and very patient especialy with the children. (They sat at the table and did not run around as others did).
We enjoyed our meal and did not feel rushed to move on. We have dined at several other Inns in this group and the foxglove was definitely one of the best.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank samsmum43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

Our first experience was the manager ( we presume) saying in a loud voice yes you can have this table but we need it at eight ! We arrived shortly after six, its rare we take two hours to eat pub food ! And this is definitely pub food and not the best we have had, the James Martin Pie was fair, the burger could have done without the totally inedible piece of bacon placed on top and charging extra for fat chips is well bizarre . Also £3.50 extra for onion rings is expensive and you get to know about these extra charges at bill time , it's not a deal breaker but these silly extra charges are odd and don't make you leave, thinking that was a fair price for the meal, what next extra for a knife & fork ! Oh and just give us sauce and vinegar , having the waiter stood dishing it out like its saffron at fifty pounds a oz is again silly , it's not fine dining its a pub .

On the up side our waiter was excellent , friendly informed about the drinks and dare we say it human . Unlikely we will go again .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Speedyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We live locally and have visited here several times, for convenience more than anything else. Food prices are the equivalent of somewhere serving decent, good portions of fresh home cooked food food, but being a chain, the food here can never be described as fresh or home cooked. Today's meal ost £30 for 2 mains and 2 drinks. One meal had to be sent back as the rare steak was served char grilled beyond recognition. Consequently we both ate our meals separately. The other meal hound have been returned and I was only able to eat half. The only person who asked if we enjoyed our food was the bar man taking our money as we left. Have one home nd raided the cupboards for something else to eat. In addition, the carpet where we were seated at the Foxglove was beyond filthy. Admittedly it is a Sunday and they will have had a lot of families today but nevertheless it only takes 2 minutes to give it a sweep. Have given this place enough chances and will not be giving them any more of my money in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

first of all i have not stayed at the foxglove, however i feel i have to vent my unhappiness with the way they deal with bookings, i live in the local village to this hotel. i have a number of friends who want to book this hotel for a night in August 2013 for a regular get together we have arranged. i am amazed that in this day and age the Foxglove will not accept 1 night bookings at this time,they only accept 2 night bookings but ring them nearer the time and they will see what they can do?
dont they realise we are in the middle of economic recession, they should be happy with the one night bookings and also realise that people cant wait until the last minute to book hotels when they have to travel a distance. i would be interested to here any comments from Vintage inns about not taking 1 night bookings and probably losing up to 4 rooms being booked because of this crazy rule they have

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank kirkburton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I work nearby so regularly go to this pub for lunch visits (especially in Summer to sit in the lovely beer garden).

Atmosphere is lovely and has recently been refitted with extra seating so this is great. As I said lovely outside area with plenty of seating.

Food is lovely but overpriced and not consistent. Portion sizes great but would like to pay a few pounds less!

Staff are polite and attentive never had any problems with them but may be something to do with being regulars.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

Rooms very clean and comfortable. Quite small but absolutely fine for a quick overnight stay.
Good to see free wifi although O2 reception good anyway.
Had to wait a while to order breakfast (after I went and found a staff member) once it arrived it was of good quality

Overall a great place to stay while on business. I have stopped in a lot worse hotels and paid a lot more for the privilege.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mbusiness2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

Table of eight. Pub was quiet on Monday. Food was good but forgot some of it. Little bit expensive menu and in particularly starters not good value. Could be so much better I am sorry to say. Waiter was really helpful and I suspect let down by kitchen as food also came in bits

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huddersfield
7.1 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
6.1 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
3.6 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
773 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Woodman Inn
The Woodman Inn
#1 of 21 in Huddersfield
403 reviews
1.6 mi away
Three Acres Inn & Restaurant
Three Acres Inn & Restaurant
#3 of 21 in Huddersfield
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton

Address: 36A Penistone Road | 36A Penistone Road, Kirkburton, Huddersfield HD8 0PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range: £49 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to soak up the ruggedly beautiful landscapes and industrial heritage of South or West Yorkshire, this idyllic hotel in Kirkburton is one of the most charming places to stay in the Huddersfield area.Built around 1864, The Foxglove sits on the edge of the wooded Burton Dean Valley in the conservation area of Kirkburton. As well as housing 23 comfy rooms it serves a range of lovingly kept cask-ales alongside a menu of hearty, seasonal pub food.Surrounded by sweeping Yorkshire scenery, the lodge is an ideal base for exploring local gems such as Holmfirth (the setting for TV's Last of the Summer Wine). You'll also find some of the country's most interesting museums nearby. Descend 140 metres underground at the National Coal Mining Museum, experience working-life at the Colne Valley Museum or enjoy world-class art dotted around the 500 acres of Yorkshire Sculpture Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxglove Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge Huddersfield Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing