We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Foxglove inn, huddersfield”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton
Ranked #10 of 25 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Foxglove inn, huddersfield”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night. We booked the family room, Which being on the back off the main building, ( by the kitchens ) was like a sauna, heat was unbearable,it didn't look good with windows open and portable air con units on full blast. Staff where lovely and we got moved into 2 standard rooms in the main lodge at no extra cost. Which was a lot better . Breakfast in main restaurant was good and plentifully. Would stay again in main lodge but not in the family room.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mr T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for posting your kind review about your visit to The Foxglove Inn, Huddersfield on Trip Advisor. It is our aim to give every customer the very best service and experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    56
    30
    21
    10
See reviews for
36
68
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here for a night on the way to the sculpture park in Bretton Hall. Stayed in the annexe, not the nicest outlook but fine. Bed and room were comfortable and we had a peaceful night's sleep. Had a meal in the bar in the evening and the food was good much better than expected. Would we stay here again, yes certainly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Foxglove, Kirkburton .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and myself have stayed here on a few occasions and love the setting. Recently the bar has had a makeover which has kept lots of traditional feel to the pub and the food served is top class , although a selection of English breakfast rather than continental would be more appealing. The rooms on the other hand are a little dated and in need of upgrade to a more modern feel.
All this said , we would still stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Huddersfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My mother and I stayed for two nights last week while attending a workshop nearby. The first impression is great - it is lovely in it's setting and there were flowers, etc. Pip seems to be in charge of just about everything and she's polite, enthusiastic and positive. It's a bit strange to check-in standing at a little podium in the middle of the pub, but the room is charming and the atmosphere is inviting. The innkeeper's lodge was the building next door and had been recently renovated so there was a strong smell of fresh paint and a few workmen still checking odd-bits. Our room was spacious and clean, but the light bulbs kept flickering which was making my mother uncomfortable. We ended up unscrewing some of them. The other weird thing was the toilet seat - it didn't seem to fit correctly and slid from side to side when you used it. We noticed that the seats in the public toilet in the pub were mostly the same, so I'm not sure why they can't find the correct fit. Also, the fabric of the valance was coming undone and was hanging down over the window - it looked like the staples used to attach it to the wood frame underneath were too short and the weight of the fabric pulled loose. We told Pip about it, we didn't want them to come and fix it - just for them to know that we hadn't done the damage to it.

We ate our meals in the restaurant and contrary to some of the reviews here, we found the items to be tasty and reasonably priced. Our first night we ate early, so service was pretty quick. The next night (Saturday I believe) was a different story as the place was packed and we couldn't get a table which is awkward when you're staying there and don't have other options. There is, however a nice garden in the back and many people sit out there - perfect after the really warm weather we were experiencing then.

We noticed in our room, a paper that said if you'd forgotten anything or needed an iron to ask and it would be supplied however we had a hard time in the pub getting anyone to stop and speak to us as they were run off their feet with customers. A frazzled but kindly lady told us to just open the supply closet and help ourselves. We felt kind of strange about doing it, but we needed things ironed so we did as she said.

Another strange thing was that we came back from our workshop, having been out most of the day - and found that the cleaning ladies had left a wet, dirty cleaning cloth half slung over my mother's suitcase and the tea tray. Thankfully the things in her case weren't very damp as a result - but we couldn't use the tea cups, etc. I know it was an accident, but it was very unfortunate.

Last thing was something that happened with the taxi. We had asked Pip about the cost of a taxi to the Meeting House where our workshop would be held. She said that she'd be glad to call a taxi and we asked what the charge would be. She said not to pay more than about 6 pounds. When the cab arrived and we were on our way to the destination - we asked the driver about the cost and he replied 12 pounds. We told him what we had been told and he said that the prices were set by his office, not by himself and that we should call and speak to them directly. I can understand a few pounds different - but it was twice as much. When we returned to the hotel, we spoke to Pip about it and she seemed surprised and said that she would call the company and let us know what happened. The next morning when we were checking out, we were told that Pip was not working that day and there was no information about the taxi or what happened which was disappointing. Of course, she can't be there 24 hours a day - but there should have been some kind of follow-up.

The Foxglove has so much going for it - it is attractive, and Pip is an awesome asset but I feel like there isn't follow-through and she can't possibly do and be everything. It's wonderful that it's been re-done and I'm sure it wasn't cheap - but after that outlay, the workmanship should have been pristine and not have curtains already falling down. The cleaning staff really need to be more careful - it was very careless to leave that dirty towel like that, and we were lucky that nothing was ruined by the damp. In conclusion, I really wanted to be able to leave a glowing review - they have the potential to be really first-rate, they just need a bit more organization and polish. If we're ever back in that area, we would certainly give it another try.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celticfairiefae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is a local pub/ restaurant to where we live so we call in occasionally for a meal. Called in Saturday night for a quick meal to be met by the manager who advised an hour wait for food - The restaurant was half empty.

Ordered a drink while we considered our options and overheard the Manager having a very assertive conversation with a resident at the Foxglove who he had also just told would have to wait an hour for food. Having noticed an advert for a Wimbledon themed afternoon the following day I ordered a Pimms to be told they had sold out.

We went to sit outside with our drinks and were disgusted with the state of tables - place was filthy - dirty plates and glasses with used serviettes littered across the grass - table tops greasy.

It looked as if they were short staffed and very flustered. There are some good pub restayrants within a 2 mile radius - we decided not to eat at the Foxglove and will not be returning any time soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terriers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to the Restaurant and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Huddersfield hotels

Barry
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed here on the 3rd July on business and have no complaints. The room I was in had been fully refurbished within the last two weeks and was gleaming like a new pin. The bed was great and I enjoyed a good nights sleep. The food was top end of the range pub grub and well worth the price. Breakfast was cooked to order and good quality. All of the staff I had dealings were frieindly and seem keen to do their best for you. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebaldoneontheleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
137 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We have dined here in the past and been disappointed. However some friends suggested we try it again, which we did. Helpful staff, clean surroundings - but oh the food. Dont know how the chef manages to serve-up such poor food. Definitely give this place a miss!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huddersfield
6.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
273 reviews
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
264 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
706 reviews
19.0 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton
Address: 36A Penistone Road | 36A Penistone Road, Kirkburton, Huddersfield HD8 0PQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to soak up the ruggedly beautiful landscapes and industrial heritage of South or West Yorkshire, this idyllic hotel in Kirkburton is one of the most charming places to stay in the Huddersfield area.Built around 1864, The Foxglove sits on the edge of the wooded Burton Dean Valley in the conservation area of Kirkburton. As well as housing 23 comfy rooms it serves a range of lovingly kept cask-ales alongside a menu of hearty, seasonal pub food.Surrounded by sweeping Yorkshire scenery, the lodge is an ideal base for exploring local gems such as Holmfirth (the setting for TV's Last of the Summer Wine). You'll also find some of the country's most interesting museums nearby. Descend 140 metres underground at the National Coal Mining Museum, experience working-life at the Colne Valley Museum or enjoy world-class art dotted around the 500 acres of Yorkshire Sculpture Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxglove Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge Huddersfield Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing