We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant and will return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton
Ranked #6 of 25 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Brilliant and will return!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Had Saturday lunch at the Foxglove yesterday and it was all excellent. The only sad thing was that we were both too full to order pudding! Both the waitress and the bar maid were wonderfully polite, welcoming, kind and friendly. We think the decor was very modern and luxurious and we felt very relaxed in the surroundings ( next to a lovely fire!).
We ordered from the set lunch menu and everything we ordered was hot and delicious and served efficiently and with a smile.
Thank you for our lovely dining experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinaYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
May we thank you for your review, as we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us at The Foxglove. We have replied to you personally and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    58
    31
    21
    10
See reviews for
38
72
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We visited The Foxglove on Friday 01/11/13 at about 2030.We were shown to a table straight away by a polite waiter who took an order for our drinks.( A pint and a lime &soda)
25 mins later a different waiter came to take our food order and we also ordered 2 glasses of wine to have we our meal. We asked if our original drinks order could be served as we had been waiting 35mins, the wine we had ordered for our meal was brought to the table.
We explained that we wanted our original drinks order . The wine was taken back to the bar and left on the top. 45 mins after we arrived we received our original drinks order and the wine again ! We asked for the wine to be taken away, 5 mins later it was brought to the table again. We asked for it to be taken away again and for a fresh glass of white wine to be poured when it was brought back with our meal as it was now warm.
The bread we had was ok!
Our meal was served - the waiter was very polite. The wine was brought back to the table and it was clear that they had just put both the red and white glasses in the fridge!
We both had burgers- I took the top off mine to remove some if the bacon the burger was chared black and burnt across the whole of the top with a thick charcoal rim around the whole burger. It was inedible.
I took it back to the bar , the waitress asked me what I wanted her to do about it. I asked her to take it back to the kitchen. The waiter came back to the table he said that the chef said " that is how we cook them here so if we do another one it will just be the same" The waiter said that it was burnt and asked if I wanted something else . I said not to bother as my husband had nearly finished ,The waiter apologised.
We left a few minutes later - they didn't charge us for my meal ( which I hadn't eaten or the wine )
Overall the service team were polite but very disorganised, the food was terrible and the chef cooked a very burnt meal and then sent a rude , arrogant message to a customer.

It's our local pub/ restaurant but we won't be going back .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
We are sorry that you had a disappointing visit to our Innkeepers Lodge, and we do appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Huddersfield hotels

yorkshire england
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This one is better than average and average is good,
Nice comfortable rooms, very friendly staff, really nice food , very well prepared and cooked to perfection , a real credit to the chef, Will always look for local innkeepers lodge as first choice

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morrisonsofyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit to The Foxglove, Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield and I have shared your comments with all the team. We have replied to you personally and look forward to taking care of you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here due to location but the quality of service was appalling. Staff rude & poorly trained, kept waiting to checkin, room average, small window, poor lighting in room, bet owners wife has never tried to get ready in this room... Advised cooked breakfast between 10-12 but when we arrived felt like they were doing us a favour. Staff rude, sloppy and poorly trained. No choice, had to get up to request tea/coffee, no toast, juice or service. Smiles extra.... :-( spoke to other guests who suffered same, customer service from the dark ages, trouble felt it was probably the norm.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank N7CPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Foxglove on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied, and we have replied to you personally about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed on 25/10/2013 which was pretty much a last minute booking as we were going to a gig nearby.

Although we didn't check in until well into the evening, I can only say that we were pleasantly surprised at the location.

The room was spotless and the bed was comfy. The bathroom was also gleaming.

I have to say that the one thing I did notice (and which is a rarity these days) is how friendly and helpful the staff were, whether it was front-of-house or house-keeping. Each and every one of them were pleasant, smiled and actually seemed to be happy in work.

The Foxglove was warm and inviting and the food being served looked gorgeous.

We didn't stay for breakfast as had to shoot off the next morning, but no doubt the Full English wouldn't have disappointed.

For what we paid (£49 for a double room with continental breakfast thrown in), we were suitably impressed and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you found The Foxglove Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge, Huddersfield a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night. We booked the family room, Which being on the back off the main building, ( by the kitchens ) was like a sauna, heat was unbearable,it didn't look good with windows open and portable air con units on full blast. Staff where lovely and we got moved into 2 standard rooms in the main lodge at no extra cost. Which was a lot better . Breakfast in main restaurant was good and plentifully. Would stay again in main lodge but not in the family room.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mr T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for posting your kind review about your visit to The Foxglove Inn, Huddersfield on Trip Advisor. It is our aim to give every customer the very best service and experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here for a night on the way to the sculpture park in Bretton Hall. Stayed in the annexe, not the nicest outlook but fine. Bed and room were comfortable and we had a peaceful night's sleep. Had a meal in the bar in the evening and the food was good much better than expected. Would we stay here again, yes certainly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Foxglove, Kirkburton .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huddersfield
7.1 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
4.0 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
749 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
3.9 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
546 reviews
4.3 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton
Address: 36A Penistone Road | 36A Penistone Road, Kirkburton, Huddersfield HD8 0PQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to soak up the ruggedly beautiful landscapes and industrial heritage of South or West Yorkshire, this idyllic hotel in Kirkburton is one of the most charming places to stay in the Huddersfield area.Built around 1864, The Foxglove sits on the edge of the wooded Burton Dean Valley in the conservation area of Kirkburton. As well as housing 23 comfy rooms it serves a range of lovingly kept cask-ales alongside a menu of hearty, seasonal pub food.Surrounded by sweeping Yorkshire scenery, the lodge is an ideal base for exploring local gems such as Holmfirth (the setting for TV's Last of the Summer Wine). You'll also find some of the country's most interesting museums nearby. Descend 140 metres underground at the National Coal Mining Museum, experience working-life at the Colne Valley Museum or enjoy world-class art dotted around the 500 acres of Yorkshire Sculpture Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxglove Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge Huddersfield Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing