We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub great accommodation needs tlc”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton
Ranked #6 of 20 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The service, decor and quality of the food was better than rest of the Innkeepers chain which takes some doing. Nice surroundings. Everyone pleasant and friendly. The only reasons it is not reviewed as excellent was the fag burns in the net curtains in the bedroom and the lack of matching mugs (sounds like c4 four in a bed) - good value for money and will come back (even if only to check on net curtains)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Scrooge736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for reviewing our Innkeepers Lodge. Your feedback is most appreciated and will be noted by everyone at The Foxglove, Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed yet another excellent early bird meal at The Foxglove, Kirkburton today. The menu always interests and the food is well-cooked and tasty, served by friendly, helpful staff. Thank you to all - we will keep returning!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Heyender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for posting your kind review about your visit to The Foxglove on Trip Advisor. It is our aim to give every customer the very best service and experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

easy check in, nice friendly staff.. Rooms were comfortable enough and certainly is value for money. Breakfast very pleasant and friendly service. Only complaint would be the toilet seat wasn't fixed properly. Id be happy to stay again and really thought it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Foxglove, Innkeeper's Lodge, Huddersfield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed two nights in this room. It had two faults and two shortcomings. The first fault was electrical. There is no bulb in the bedside lamp. The maid fitted one. It immediately blew. Plus it tripped a fuse. All the electrical fittings, except the overhead lights, were out. The maid knew what to do and disappeared to hit the trip.
There is a constant noise above the window - louder than a drip, it's a sort of bump. The housekeeper told me it would be fixed. It wasn't.
Immediately outside the room there is a vending machine. The motor kicks in and it can be heard in the room. People use obviously use it in the middle of the night and discuss the merits of Diet Coke, loudly. There is also a digital control unit nearby. Sometimes it squeals like a banshee. It can be heard upstairs. Other guests complained. Like mine, their complaints were not acted upon. The continental breakfast is only adequate.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the pub/restaurant section. Insist on one of these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaeldawkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

We are sorry that you had a disappointing visit to our Innkeepers Lodge, and we do appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

we have stayed twice recently as we had appointments nearby, the foxglove is in a pleasant situation and is well furnished, staff are friendly and helpful, then it all goes down hill.
on arrival we were told we had been allocated an upstairs room ,as my wife has mobility problems and we had pre-requested a ground floor room we were told by the manager that some people at central reservations were better than others! what he neglected to tell us was that the heating system was broken , so on a cold and wet December night we had no hot water or heating in our freezing cold room.
eventually driven by the cold down into the restaurant we pointed out the heating problems along with two broken bedside lights and a bathroom door that would not close to be told that we would be given a free drink before dinner!
of dinner itself the menu has pretentions to which the kitchens cannot deliver, nearly everything was very overcooked (don't ask for a rare steak) and when the bill came we were surprised to find our free drinks were on it.
needless to say we will not be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Foxglove, Innkeeper's Lodge, Huddersfield was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We (and several other couples in our party) stayed at the foxglove as we were attending a friends wedding in the area. Every our couple in our party was able to check in early but they wouldn't allow us to, which I suppose is ok as they do advertise the actual check in time when booking so I let this slide. Once we were able to get into our room some of the fixtures and fitting were broken and when this was highlighted to the staff (out of a fear they would try and charge me for the damage) they didn't care, I'm also aware of a friend room that had the shower nearly fall off the wall then used. The main problem came the following day when we were checked out. At breakfast we had learnt that we had been charged more for our room than all others in our party and when my wife challenged the manager of the 'hotel' he started being really condescending to her calling her sweetheart etc and saying there was no mistake. We complained to the company about this over charge and they confirmed that we had been over charged by the 'hotel' and that a refund for the difference would be sent to us. It has take 2 weeks after this confirmation from the company they had overcharged to action the refund and they have refunded it to a different card to the one used to pay. I would not stay at the foxglove again and would recommend friend to also avoid it in future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reviewer111999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Had Saturday lunch at the Foxglove yesterday and it was all excellent. The only sad thing was that we were both too full to order pudding! Both the waitress and the bar maid were wonderfully polite, welcoming, kind and friendly. We think the decor was very modern and luxurious and we felt very relaxed in the surroundings ( next to a lovely fire!).
We ordered from the set lunch menu and everything we ordered was hot and delicious and served efficiently and with a smile.
Thank you for our lovely dining experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LinaYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

May we thank you for your review, as we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us at The Foxglove. We have replied to you personally and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
3.6 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
1 mi away
The Woodman Inn
The Woodman Inn
#1 of 20 in Huddersfield
414 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
609 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
3.9 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#3 of 15 in Huddersfield
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton

Address: 36A Penistone Road | 36A Penistone Road, Kirkburton, Huddersfield HD8 0PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range: £48 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to soak up the ruggedly beautiful landscapes and industrial heritage of South or West Yorkshire, this idyllic hotel in Kirkburton is one of the most charming places to stay in the Huddersfield area.Built around 1864, The Foxglove sits on the edge of the wooded Burton Dean Valley in the conservation area of Kirkburton. As well as housing 23 comfy rooms it serves a range of lovingly kept cask-ales alongside a menu of hearty, seasonal pub food.Surrounded by sweeping Yorkshire scenery, the lodge is an ideal base for exploring local gems such as Holmfirth (the setting for TV's Last of the Summer Wine). You'll also find some of the country's most interesting museums nearby. Descend 140 metres underground at the National Coal Mining Museum, experience working-life at the Colne Valley Museum or enjoy world-class art dotted around the 500 acres of Yorkshire Sculpture Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxglove Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge Huddersfield Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing