We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average at this price level”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton
Ranked #7 of 21 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Arrival at The Foxglove is a surprise, it actually looks more attractive than the pictures! It is in a hollow ( good test of hill start skills exiting the car park in the morning !)and despite being close to a main road and next to a freight yard the surrounding hills and trees ( plus greenery around the pub itself ) give a pleasant rural feel. Inside the pub it is modernised in a rustic way. All flags and oak beams etc but has a nice pub feel. The accommodation annexe is just 50 yds from the pub and is about 10 years old. My first floor room was spacious ( despite some parts of the roof being sloping) and had a comfortable and clean feel. WI Fi, TV etc all good. The night was quiet and the bed comfortable. The free Continental breakfast was a bit sparse but OK for toast and coffee.
In the evening the pub had some good and bad points. Staff were fine and the real ale was excellent. However 90/95% of tables are for diners so not so relaxed if you just want a drink and read the paper. The menu is typical and reasonably priced but the quality is not great. Everything is mass produced/microwaved. My fish pie tasted OK but was mainly potatoes in sauce with the odd morsel of fish. The ' Seasonal Vegetables' all appeared to have been reheated many times.
Overall though the whole experience was good and good value for money.
One specific gripe is that the hot water in the rooms was scalding and only possible to have a hot or very very hot shower. I would have thought this was a Health and Safety Issue , especially where children were involved. Surely there must be some way to turn the boiler thermostat down??

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albermarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Many thanks for giving us your thoughts following your visit to Innkeepers Lodge Huddersfield . We really do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed in room number and it seems I had the same problems as someone else did in December 2013.. Although perhaps now the problem is even worse. The pipes are located above the bed and constantly creak and bump. We could not get any sleep as the noises were so loud. In the end we turned the tv up so that it drowned out the noise. It was easier to sleep with a loud tv in the background! There was no phone available to call for assistance. The vending machine outside the door was also very noisy, and on arrival there were hairs found on the bathroom floor!

The bed was uncomfortable - very firm mattress with super soft pillows meaning no support at all.

The place itself is lovely. I think management just need to start taking note of people's feedback and make the required improvements.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lunda22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Had to stop over at short notice in the town so booked in this central hotel. Price was £52 for bed and continental breakfast. Only quibble with the bedroom was the size of the bed. We had an attic room and clearly a double bed would not fit in due to the real chance of a bumped head during the night! The room therefore had a large single bed in it which was far two small for us, even though we are of slim build! Overall though a clean and tidy room that was value for money.......unlike the £5.50 Eton Mess I had in the restaurant! For my money I got ONE strawberry cut into 5 pieces, loads of very cheap cream and a couple of small pieces of meringue. Never have I had a pudding as rubbish as this. The daft thing was my main course was a nice gammon steak which was decent value at £7.50.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LuxuryGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

The time you have taken to leave us a review following your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton is appreciated, and we will use your comments to ensure that our standards do not fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I have two basic requirements of a hotel, a comfortable bed and a quiet room.
This Hotel provided both and more.
The room was large with a full sized sofa and writing desk.
The bathroom was also generously proportioned and everything worked at it should.

My only gripe is that my breakfast cutlery had the remnants of other peoples food on it. I had to search through quite a number of spoons in order to find one that I considered to be clean. This is very sloppy, the management need to raise their game.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank impulsivearies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The Foxglove, Innkeeper's Lodge, Huddersfield , and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

we stopped off here for a night as our parents we staying for a night as an inbetween for us to have a meal together. they managed to get a special deal for £39 a night but when we booked it cost £69. either way, the cost wasnt too overpriced for what you get. its a decent size challet (with a small but clean bathroom) only a 30 second walk from the pub next door. the bed was super comfy and there is a kettle with tea/coffee provided. the only downside was the fact that lights are all on one switch meaning if you want to make a coffee early in the morning, all the lights come on in the room waking other up

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirsteen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for reviewing our Innkeepers Lodge. Your feedback is most appreciated and will be noted by everyone at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The service, decor and quality of the food was better than rest of the Innkeepers chain which takes some doing. Nice surroundings. Everyone pleasant and friendly. The only reasons it is not reviewed as excellent was the fag burns in the net curtains in the bedroom and the lack of matching mugs (sounds like c4 four in a bed) - good value for money and will come back (even if only to check on net curtains)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Scrooge736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for reviewing our Innkeepers Lodge. Your feedback is most appreciated and will be noted by everyone at The Foxglove, Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed yet another excellent early bird meal at The Foxglove, Kirkburton today. The menu always interests and the food is well-cooked and tasty, served by friendly, helpful staff. Thank you to all - we will keep returning!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Heyender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for posting your kind review about your visit to The Foxglove on Trip Advisor. It is our aim to give every customer the very best service and experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
5.2 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
1.0 mi away
The Woodman Inn
The Woodman Inn
#1 of 21 in Huddersfield
405 reviews
1.6 mi away
Three Acres Inn & Restaurant
Three Acres Inn & Restaurant
#3 of 21 in Huddersfield
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
5.5 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
591 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#3 of 14 in Huddersfield
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton

Address: 36A Penistone Road | 36A Penistone Road, Kirkburton, Huddersfield HD8 0PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range: £48 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to soak up the ruggedly beautiful landscapes and industrial heritage of South or West Yorkshire, this idyllic hotel in Kirkburton is one of the most charming places to stay in the Huddersfield area.Built around 1864, The Foxglove sits on the edge of the wooded Burton Dean Valley in the conservation area of Kirkburton. As well as housing 23 comfy rooms it serves a range of lovingly kept cask-ales alongside a menu of hearty, seasonal pub food.Surrounded by sweeping Yorkshire scenery, the lodge is an ideal base for exploring local gems such as Holmfirth (the setting for TV's Last of the Summer Wine). You'll also find some of the country's most interesting museums nearby. Descend 140 metres underground at the National Coal Mining Museum, experience working-life at the Colne Valley Museum or enjoy world-class art dotted around the 500 acres of Yorkshire Sculpture Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxglove Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge Huddersfield Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing