We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere & Genuinely Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton
Ranked #10 of 25 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere & Genuinely Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stay one night in Innkeeper's Lodge on a last minute booking whilst looking at properties in the area. The check-in is in the Foxglove pub next door and the staff are extremely friendly and very helpful.

The room itself was very clean and comfortable although the bed was a little soft and if you were anywhere near the edge it was a constant battle to ensure you didn't roll out. My only criticism of the rooms is that the doors/walls are pretty thin and the snoring from the room next door easily drifted into our room, along with the noise of the neighbour loudly urinating the next morning!!

A continental breakfast is included in the very reasonable price which is served in the Foxglove.

Reservations are essential if you wish to dine in the Foxglove as it gets very busy, especially on a weekend. Food waste tasty and served in decent portions and good selection of beers are available to help was it down.

We will definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngusDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The Foxglove, Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield , and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    56
    30
    21
    10
See reviews for
36
68
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed for one night as we were visiting friends in the area.
The lady who checked us in was a bit rude but the rest of the staff were very helpful
The room was very clean and looked like new carpets had been laid. Bathroom clean but a little dated. we did go to the reception and asked for an additional bath towel as we only had one but this failed to arrive before we went to bed.

Breakfast was very good and the morning staff were very cheery

Good location and good value for money

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wychypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Many thanks for giving us your thoughts following your visit to The Foxglove, Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield . We really do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed her for 1 night taking advantage of the excellent value of the innkeeper lodges for a night away. The rooms are pretty standard but for the price they can not be faulted. Our room was very clean and comfortable. No complaints. We ate in the restaurant of the Foxglove next door which was also excellent value. The breakfast is a complimentary buffet continental breakfast which is good quality and just what we wanted. There was an option for a cooked breakfast for a small price but we had enough with the buffet. Really enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazzer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you found The Foxglove, Innkeeper's Lodge, Huddersfield a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Good clean accomodation, friendly helpful staff, fantastic picturesque location all at a bargain price no complaints at all! Shower in room number 4 was amazing,so powerful! Breakfast was ok, pretty standard for this type of place. Would definately come again :-).

Room Tip: Room number 4 is quiet and excellant shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djb507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge, Huddersfield and I have shared your comments with all the team. We have replied to you personally and look forward to taking care of you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
377 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We took advantage of a 3-night offer including cooked breakfast whilst visiting friends in the area. Spacious, clean, recently decorated room, comfortable bed. Unbeatable in the price bracket. The Manager and the waitress serving breakfast were friendly and efficient. The buffet breakfast was plentiful with good selection of food. The hotel is also situated in a very pleasant setting with adequate parking. Cannot fault it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnpatricia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Innkeepers Lodge Huddersfield and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
137 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Arrival at The Foxglove is a surprise, it actually looks more attractive than the pictures! It is in a hollow ( good test of hill start skills exiting the car park in the morning !)and despite being close to a main road and next to a freight yard the surrounding hills and trees ( plus greenery around the pub itself ) give a pleasant rural feel. Inside the pub it is modernised in a rustic way. All flags and oak beams etc but has a nice pub feel. The accommodation annexe is just 50 yds from the pub and is about 10 years old. My first floor room was spacious ( despite some parts of the roof being sloping) and had a comfortable and clean feel. WI Fi, TV etc all good. The night was quiet and the bed comfortable. The free Continental breakfast was a bit sparse but OK for toast and coffee.
In the evening the pub had some good and bad points. Staff were fine and the real ale was excellent. However 90/95% of tables are for diners so not so relaxed if you just want a drink and read the paper. The menu is typical and reasonably priced but the quality is not great. Everything is mass produced/microwaved. My fish pie tasted OK but was mainly potatoes in sauce with the odd morsel of fish. The ' Seasonal Vegetables' all appeared to have been reheated many times.
Overall though the whole experience was good and good value for money.
One specific gripe is that the hot water in the rooms was scalding and only possible to have a hot or very very hot shower. I would have thought this was a Health and Safety Issue , especially where children were involved. Surely there must be some way to turn the boiler thermostat down??

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albermarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Many thanks for giving us your thoughts following your visit to Innkeepers Lodge Huddersfield . We really do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed in room number and it seems I had the same problems as someone else did in December 2013.. Although perhaps now the problem is even worse. The pipes are located above the bed and constantly creak and bump. We could not get any sleep as the noises were so loud. In the end we turned the tv up so that it drowned out the noise. It was easier to sleep with a loud tv in the background! There was no phone available to call for assistance. The vending machine outside the door was also very noisy, and on arrival there were hairs found on the bathroom floor!

The bed was uncomfortable - very firm mattress with super soft pillows meaning no support at all.

The place itself is lovely. I think management just need to start taking note of people's feedback and make the required improvements.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lunda22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Huddersfield hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
7.1 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
6.8 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#10 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton
Address: 36A Penistone Road | 36A Penistone Road, Kirkburton, Huddersfield HD8 0PQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to soak up the ruggedly beautiful landscapes and industrial heritage of South or West Yorkshire, this idyllic hotel in Kirkburton is one of the most charming places to stay in the Huddersfield area.Built around 1864, The Foxglove sits on the edge of the wooded Burton Dean Valley in the conservation area of Kirkburton. As well as housing 23 comfy rooms it serves a range of lovingly kept cask-ales alongside a menu of hearty, seasonal pub food.Surrounded by sweeping Yorkshire scenery, the lodge is an ideal base for exploring local gems such as Holmfirth (the setting for TV's Last of the Summer Wine). You'll also find some of the country's most interesting museums nearby. Descend 140 metres underground at the National Coal Mining Museum, experience working-life at the Colne Valley Museum or enjoy world-class art dotted around the 500 acres of Yorkshire Sculpture Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxglove Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge Huddersfield Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing