We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, comfortable, convenient & cute”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton
Ranked #6 of 21 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just an overnight stay. Check-in was quick & easy and the guy was friendly and helpful. Check-in is at The Foxglove pub/restaurant but the rooms are in a separate annexe area away from the hustle & bustle. The room itself was large & comfortable and the shower was hot and powerful enough for the water to escape into the bathroom!! It was extremely quiet and I slept very soundly. It was a very warm night & the room was quite stifling and the fan provided wasn't terribly effective. We had paid extra for a cooked breakfast the following morning which was great value but the continental one included gave plenty of selection so you won't go hungry. Free Wifi was a nice bonus too. Would recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank BlueGunnerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Foxglove, Innkeeper's Lodge, Huddersfield and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here as we needed overnight accommodation for a day out we had planned locally. Kirkburton itself is very pretty and the Inn and the pub are situated on a really lovely large plot of land. We had dinner and drinks in the Foxglove....average food and service but it was incredibly busy. Reasonable selection of both food and wines and they had a deal on Fish Friday whereby you got 50% off a bottle of wine if you ordered two mains off the fish menu....great value. We then stayed in the Inn and paid the little bit extra for a cooked breakfast. We stayed in the family quad room in the building next to the pub....reasonable size, very clean, quiet, pretty powerful shower and a drinks and snacks vending machine on the first floor. It had been a hot day and the room was pretty warm with a fan that gave little relief. Cooked Breakfast was really good value when paid for in room rate rather than separately, but even if you don't pay the extra...the continental breakfast had a really good range. All in all good value for money in a lovely location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NikiCop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Foxglove, Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Attractive place both externally and internally. Friendly and quick check in service in the bar area. The Rooms are in a separate annexe from the pub/restaurant and this means there is no noise from either. Wifi free and reasonable signal in the rooms. Adequate drawer space with an open wardrobe and enough hangers.
Comfortable bed but mattress beginning to form a hollow in the middle and leads to you both rolling to the centre. Needs turning over.
The room was cleaned well but the lack of air circulation and a cold room not exposed to the sun means the feel is one of damp. The shower is electric and has good pressure but the tiles and curtain do have mould on them. There was no possibility of the towels drying in the room during the day so new ones each day were required.
Quite dark in the room with only one window which meant you always needed the lights on.
Flat screen TV with freeview. Tea and coffee. No drinking glasses provided only two cups for tea and coffee.
Reasonable Continental breakfast provided in the restaurant area which consisted of the normal basic items.

Restaurant
Nice decor and a good feeling to the place.
Reasonable selection of food. My Wife had the Rib eye steak, Confit tomato and chips. I had the Wild boar and Chorizo burger with chips and salad.
The steak was cooked perfectly but came without the listed sauce of field mushroom and stilton. Surprisingly there was nothing else with it (other than chips) which made the plate look empty. The tomato was pretty much cold and uncooked but as it was advertised as Confit it should have been. The missing sauce was mentioned when the plates were cleared as this was the first opportunity we had to catch someone's eye without leaving the table. It had been missed by the kitchen and not noticed by the server.
The burger was very tasty although pointless being Wild Boar as Chorizo dominated the flavour and the meat was a bit dense to say the least.
We also ordered a bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon which was very nice and at a reasonable price.
No one came to check we were OK throughout the meal at all. They were all busy and otherwise engaged.
For dessert They served a coffee and small pudding for a good price so we both opted for this.
I had a chocolate pot and my Wife has an Eaton Mess with Strawberry and Pimms syrup.
The Chocolate Pot was essentially a tasteless chocolate blancmange. The Eaton Mess was served without the Strawberry and Pimms syrup. We did eventually catch the eye of the Manageress as she came into the room we were eating in as again they did not check on us. It was returned and served correctly. All in all a less than acceptable experience in nice surroundings which would not take a great deal of effort to correct.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trebor1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review, It was good of you to take the time to leave your feedback following your visit to The Foxglove, Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stay one night in Innkeeper's Lodge on a last minute booking whilst looking at National Trust properties in the area. The room itself was very clean and comfortable although the bed was a little soft but we liked it that way. We ate in the restaurant of the Foxglove next door which was also excellent value, the waiter Oliver was most helpful. The added bonus of cask ales just added to my joy. The breakfast is a complimentary buffet continental breakfast which is good quality and just what we wanted. There was an option for a cooked breakfast for a small price but we had enough with the buffet. We really enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

We are so pleased to hear that you found The Foxglove, Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stay one night in Innkeeper's Lodge on a last minute booking whilst looking at properties in the area. The check-in is in the Foxglove pub next door and the staff are extremely friendly and very helpful.

The room itself was very clean and comfortable although the bed was a little soft and if you were anywhere near the edge it was a constant battle to ensure you didn't roll out. My only criticism of the rooms is that the doors/walls are pretty thin and the snoring from the room next door easily drifted into our room, along with the noise of the neighbour loudly urinating the next morning!!

A continental breakfast is included in the very reasonable price which is served in the Foxglove.

Reservations are essential if you wish to dine in the Foxglove as it gets very busy, especially on a weekend. Food waste tasty and served in decent portions and good selection of beers are available to help was it down.

We will definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngusDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The Foxglove, Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield , and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed for one night as we were visiting friends in the area.
The lady who checked us in was a bit rude but the rest of the staff were very helpful
The room was very clean and looked like new carpets had been laid. Bathroom clean but a little dated. we did go to the reception and asked for an additional bath towel as we only had one but this failed to arrive before we went to bed.

Breakfast was very good and the morning staff were very cheery

Good location and good value for money

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wychypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Many thanks for giving us your thoughts following your visit to The Foxglove, Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield . We really do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed her for 1 night taking advantage of the excellent value of the innkeeper lodges for a night away. The rooms are pretty standard but for the price they can not be faulted. Our room was very clean and comfortable. No complaints. We ate in the restaurant of the Foxglove next door which was also excellent value. The breakfast is a complimentary buffet continental breakfast which is good quality and just what we wanted. There was an option for a cooked breakfast for a small price but we had enough with the buffet. Really enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazzer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

We are so pleased to hear that you found The Foxglove, Innkeeper's Lodge, Huddersfield a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huddersfield
7.1 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Huddersfield
Travelodge Huddersfield
#5 of 14 in Huddersfield
319 reviews
3.6 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
773 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#3 of 14 in Huddersfield
559 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Woodman Inn
The Woodman Inn
#1 of 21 in Huddersfield
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton

Address: 36A Penistone Road | 36A Penistone Road, Kirkburton, Huddersfield HD8 0PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range: £49 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to soak up the ruggedly beautiful landscapes and industrial heritage of South or West Yorkshire, this idyllic hotel in Kirkburton is one of the most charming places to stay in the Huddersfield area.Built around 1864, The Foxglove sits on the edge of the wooded Burton Dean Valley in the conservation area of Kirkburton. As well as housing 23 comfy rooms it serves a range of lovingly kept cask-ales alongside a menu of hearty, seasonal pub food.Surrounded by sweeping Yorkshire scenery, the lodge is an ideal base for exploring local gems such as Holmfirth (the setting for TV's Last of the Summer Wine). You'll also find some of the country's most interesting museums nearby. Descend 140 metres underground at the National Coal Mining Museum, experience working-life at the Colne Valley Museum or enjoy world-class art dotted around the 500 acres of Yorkshire Sculpture Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxglove Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge Huddersfield Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing