We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of The White Swan

The White Swan
Ranked #30 of 574 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Discovered this place entirely by accident! Staying in the area for a friends wedding at a local hotel, decided to go for lunch and stumbled across this little pub!

Greeted very warmly and made to feel right at home :) obviously freshly refurbished to a high standard with a great atmosphere
We had hot sandwiches and desserts and they were FABULOUS! All fresh ingredients and great value! Lemon cheesecake was amazing !!! Would HIGHLY recommend this hidden gem! You won't be disappointed

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank AndyOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    39
    15
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our first visit here was for Sunday lunch and I can fully endorse the good reports that have reached me about the place. Starters enjoyed were the scallops and deep fried brie both as good as anywhere else if not better. Mains were the roast chicken, roast beef and bream. The beef was beautifully cooked and tasty with a lovely horseradish cream. The chicken succulent and my fish perfectly cooked with a crispy skin and lovely accompaniments. Everything is beautifully presented. Copious amounts of veg arrived, again beautifully prepared with a massive amount of potatoes, mashed, boiled and roast which is probably excessive but then portion sizes in this part of the world tend to be over generous. We ate plenty of potatoes but plenty were left I'm afraid. One Eton Mess was ordered for dessert and it was apparently 'incredibly delicious'.
Service is efficient and friendly and everything is clean and spacious having had an attractive, fairly recent renovation. Some might find the canned music loud and irritating but then we were seated very near a speaker and maybe elsewhere the noise is not so intrusive. There is a speaker outside the pub which at first seems at a loud level too but then the thinking behind this is maybe to disguise the noise coming from the M62. A minor quibble that in no way detracts from a first class meal, reasonably priced and promises all around to return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Leadboiler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
466 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Very good early bird menu”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Very good early bird menu, two courses for £9.95.
I had garlic mushrooms followed by fish, chips and mushy peas for mains.
My wife had chicken followed by sticky toffee pudding.
My only criticism was that the batter was underdone, anaemic looking in my view. But the fish itself was delicious, fresh and moist so I just left the batter and really enjoyed the fish.
Very good value, nicely served and quick to arrive.
We'll definitely go again and recommend it to others.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JGM1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food for all the family!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

What an absolute lovely meal we've just had here! All the food was fresh & cooked to utter perfection, with wonderful flavours! The staff were more than helpful & the owner jerry made us so welcome. It's a perfect setting, with tables in the sun on the patio & a clean childrens park across a little road.
We're tough critics as we eat out ALOT, but we will be definitely coming back as it was top quality food & a very reasonable price!

Helpful?
4 Thank Lottieloutone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Food ^_^”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The food was great & the service from the staff was even better :) Would 100% recommend this place to anyone who knows good quality food ^_^

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Swan also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Meltham, Huddersfield
 

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing