We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another of the Norths great restaurants”

The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 573 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$52 - US$98
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: A warm welcome to The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant, set in beautiful Pennine countryside with a 40 year reputation for excellent food & first class service and voted Dining Pub of the Year 2015 by Yorkshire Life. Browse this season's menu below, or book accommodation with us here and we look forward to offering you a warm hospitable welcome when you visit us. At the very heart of The Three Acres lies a deep passion for food. We take pride in the calibre of our chefs with their creative flair and keen eye for detail under the lead of Head Chef Tom Davies. Our inspiration comes from food itself and the market fresh produce available for the season, allowing kitchen to craft dishes with a distinct and unique Three Acres style. Dine with us and experience our passion. The Three Acres has been owned by Neil Truelove and Brian Orme for over 40 years. 40 years plus of love of good food, of experience, of professional service and most importantly, of offering a warm hospitable welcome to all our diners and residents. With the next generation, Tom Truelove, Neil's son now involved in the business as a partner, we look forward to many years of continued high standards at The Three Acres.
Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Another of the Norths great restaurants”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have been eating at the Three Acres since the late 1970's. The food is still as consistent if unfortunately we are not able to visit as often as we would like. We ate this time on a Tuesday lunch time. It was busy, yes Tuesday lunch time and busy. I had the mushrooms to start, excellent! My wife had the Asparagus with Duck Egg, also rated excellent. For main I had the Stroganoff and my wife the Langoustine/Chicken in Filo Pastry. All the food was cooked to perfection. No time (or room for a pudding) so until next time

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ZZJonZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Manager at The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi John
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit.
We look forward to your return when we hope you have time for a pudding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    598
    227
    116
    42
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be !”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Even though it was a Friday night in July and the restaurant was full, we didn't expect to be served by a waiter who was a novice and not familiar with the menu or the wine other than to tell us what was already off the menu !
The food was ok but not up to the memorable 3 Acres standard and disappointing for the 3 of our party of 5 who were visiting it for the first time.
What finished us off was having to go to the bar counter to pay because they didn't have a hand held terminal credit card device for us to pay at the table, Then we were told we couldn't put a separate tip on the credit card and would have to give cash - archaic or what in 2014 !
Would we travel the 20 miles from S.W. Sheffield to go there again - unlikely !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Manager at The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi William
Thank you for posting such a candid review of your recent visit.
We are looking into your observations once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Superb..”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Marvellous - The welcome, the service the atmosphere and the choice and the delicious food.. The portion sizes are big so you may need to choose starter or dessert..

I would highly recommend and have already booked to go back with my parents..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathrynAndMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Manager at The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi Kathryn & Martin
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit.
Thank you for rebooking and we look forward to welcoming you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great as always”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Called for a drink on a Saturday night feeling a bit peckish but as we hadn't booked we didn't expect to get a table... but surprisingly we did! Only had starters & side orders but as always the food was good & service excellent. I love this place as it's always buzzing and welcoming.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MisJoules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Manager at The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit we are pleased you enjoyed your evening and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We go here for special occasion meals, either anniversaries or birthdays , or just simply as a special treat, we are either in groups of 2,4 or 10. May I say they NEVER fail to deliver on quality of their food, the staff are amazingly polite and professional, the surrounds are beautiful, I cannot fault this establishment at all. We were here for my mother in laws 80th birthday last night, once again they never failed to deliver anything other than pure excellence. Thank you for making all our nights with you special.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G, Manager at The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi Maxine
Thank you for posting such a favourable review of your Mother in Law's 80th birthday celebrations.
We are very pleased everyone had such an enjoyable evening, many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Brighouse, Huddersfield
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing