We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for a one-night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 December 2013

As with nearly everyone else here, we stayed for one night en route to the ferry.

When we arrived in the evening there were still plenty of places in the car park. Checking in was hassle-free, the receptionist was friendly and efficient.

The room was modern and very clean and the temperature was fine. The bed was comfortable and there was a good selection of pillows. The bathroom was small but perfectly adequate, and the shower pressure was fine.

One thing that disturbed my sleep was the light fitting over the bed. Something to do with the way it was installed meant that after switching it off, the surrounding emitted a cracking noise every few minutes until it completely cooled (which took a while).

Connecting to the wifi was annoying. Despite plastering stickers all over the place boasting about their free wifi, we were given a long code suitable for just one device. Once you've entered this, you then have to register. The whole process is a pain, especially on a tablet, and seems unnecessary.

Breakfast was adequate. If we were paying extra we would've felt slightly cheated, but included at this price it seemed OK. There was no bacon, the sausages were fine, the pastry products were a bit dry. As others have noted the small serving room means that there is a constant queue even when it's not particularly busy, it took me a while before I could go back for coffee.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

836 - 842 of 1,325 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

We decided to have a day trip to France from the West Country so we booked an overnight stay the night before. Dinner was until 9.30pm with last orders at 9.15pm. A warm welcome was received and dinner ordered, a little expensive but very tasty and we would certainly eat there again which we will be doing next week as we are in the area again and going on a mini cruise.
The room we had was spotless as was the bathroom and although the room temperature was on the chilly side,we turned the thermostat up ,soon all was well.
Breakfast was a choice of either cooked food comprising sausage, scrambled egg and beans or continental breakfast with fruit juices or hot drinks.
We noted that someone found the hotel difficult to find, it seemed easy enough, come off at junction 12 southbound cross the motorway and take the first turning right, follow road for half mile and there it is.
The staff were very friendly and attentive and we look forward to visiting next thursday

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here four times. Great for the Eurotunnel.. Only 5 minutes away. Has a nearby Tesco for last minute holiday things. Safe and secure car park. Some great staff too.. Taff and Steve in particular. See you again soon.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank BigChrisNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Despite having problems finding the hotel. They really do need to update the postcode. For future guests, if you spot the Saga offices, make for that, go a little further hotel right next door
Oqn arrival we were warmly greeted. Easy check in, lounge area not particularly the best place to relax in, but hey it is an express hotel. Bar open for a night cap and warm snack if required.
Room very clean, bed very comfortable. Stay included a good substantial breakfast despite original misgivings. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and will happily book again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ifwoollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Oh dear! I swore I would never stay at this hotel again! I should read my own reviews to jog my memory!
The bedding still does not fit the beds or the duvets!! If the flat sheets were big enough to be tucked in under the mattress, so they didn't ride up in the night , AND the duvet covers were a little larger to accommodate the actual size of the duvet then this would be a good hotel, great value with a fairly good bar!! We paid £62 direct with HIE which included a free breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't think it possible to find a quiet room here as the clientelle are oblivious to anyone else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gourmet42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear gourmet42,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The one great thing you can say about this Holiday Inn Express is that it is very close to the Channel Tunnel station. on entering our room it was clean and spotless it really started to go downhill from there.

Arrived late so nothing to eat at the hotel apart from vending fayre, there is a Tesco 24hrs around the corner but a Tesco sandwich did not feel that appetising at all. The area around the hotel was a ghost town for all intent and purpose, even the McDonalds was closed at 9:30pm.

My two biggest bugbears is the heating system is probably one of the poorest ever encountered, it was a cold night and the chill was never removed from the room. It is apparently centrally controlled but they are obviously under orders to make sure the heating is minimal to say the least.

The duvet is extremely thin and considering I was driving to Paris in the morning I deemed my lack of sleep the whole night a health hazard. Hilton you can do better than that, I would rather pay £10 a night more and have some heating. My daughter slept on a fold out and she complained about the folds in the bed also.

I booked a Holiday Inn Express having had a great experience in other centres so I was a little disappointed to say the least.

If you have the breakfast, you will not get any bacon and the scrambled egg had the consistency of powdered egg reconstituted, I hope I was wrong? Anyway the breakfast was ok apart from the cooked side of things which was a little paltry. breakfast was served at 6am our final check-in was at 6:30am so it was a little rushed to say the least.

Final analysis it was close to the shuttle but a little distance in comfort and could do better. The staff appeared to be ok.

Room Tip: Bring a duvet or hot water bottle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKHappyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear MKHappyTraveller,

Thank you for your feedback. It is good to know you appreciate our location and clean rooms. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service. For that reason, the comments regarding the heating system, duvet and breakfast are troubling and will certainly be looked into. I do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. Rest assured your feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We used it as a stop-over on our return from France. Hotel is quite easy to find, especially if you have a SatNav (Note it is next door to the Saga offices) and has good car parking, although lighting in the carpark takes saving electricity a bit too far! The room was spacious, comfortable and for a "budget" hotel, primarily designed for one nighters, was well equipped with hair dryer, TV and tea making facilities. The bathroom was spacious and the wrap around mirror over the wash basin found favour with my "boss". The bathroom door was cunningly designed to also act to close off the toilet area from the shower/grooming area . . good idea! A further good idea in the bathroom was the fitting of a "blue" night-light so one could easily find one's way "in the dark"! The heating is discrete to each room from a single heater/AirCon unit, the noise from which could be a nuisance to some. Although we didn't have an evening meal, there are meals and/or light-bites available at sensible prices, although I can't comment on the quality. However, the breakfast choice was very good and wholesome. The staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming. We will certainly consider using again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folkestone
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
2.8 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
201 reviews
2 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#1 of 3 in Hythe
1,929 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel

Address: Cheriton High Street, Folkestone CT18 8AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: £58 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a prominent position alongside the M20 motorway and the hotel has ease of access to all main national and international transport links. The hotel is adjacent to the Eurotunnel Channel Tunnel terminal which provides regular services to continental Europe. Junction 12 is within a few minutes drive facilitating connection to the national motorway network, the major airports and greater London, Paris and Brussels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Hotel Folkestone
Folkestone Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing