We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good and bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Folkestone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good and bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

the alarm call was late and the room was cold.it was not explained where to collect the take away breakfast. I can not sleep with any light in the room so I found the blue night light in the bathroom disturbing. However the room was clean

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Mike H,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    520
    249
    65
    39
See reviews for
325
524
37
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

To be clear this is a budget stop, 5 mins from the tunnel terminal and orientated to good value. Simple but clean room. Reception with small bar and restaurant. Book dinner as sometimes they sell out.

Best thing was the staff. Very friendly and helpful, just what you need after a long drive . Good team. Particularly Stephan who was very lively, fast and friendly.

I will definitely use this place again

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Philip R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express, Folkestone Channel Tunnel.

I am so pleased that we met your expectations during your stay and to receive such positive comments about Stephen.

I hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards,
Martin Howard
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Check-in exceptionally quick. Room clean, comfortable and convenient. Dinner available, with specials, and reasonably priced. Breakfast simple, buffet style, hot and cold. Plentiful. Staff friendly and helpful. As good as you would require from an hotel used as a stopover.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

This hotel is fairly basic but the price reflects this, it is actually clean and breakfast was a pleasant surprise, again basic but adequte. Value for for money is high although facilities are low, so I would suggest arrive late and get an early shuttle and this hotel will serve it's purpose.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank onthepiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here prior to using the euro tunnel which is only 5-10 mins away. Rooms clean and comfy - bathrooms a little small. Nice food (would recommend the pie and mash) and staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again when using the tunnel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shandy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

The only real problem we had was that the mattress needed replacing, it was hard yet sagging in the middle, so we were lying at an angle which gave us both bad backache. Also there was a rumbling noise from something (maybe some kind of generator) that went on all night, maybe if we had slept we may not have noticed. (room 310).

The breakfast was edible, cereal, toast, rolls etc, they also served hot beans, sausages and scrambled eggs, we didn't try these so could not comment.

The staff at check in and out were very pleasant, none of the above would stop us staying there again (this was our third stay) just maybe ask for a different room. It is so convenient for the tunnel only 10 minutes at the most away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MazSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear MazSolihull,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's great to hear your candid comments about your stay with us. I appreciate your positive feedback on our hotel staff and check in experience. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide a relaxing, enjoyable and friendly accommodations. It is regrettable that you did not try our complimentary breakfast. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced in your room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

After having to leave a terrible hotel late at night, we literally booked a room out of desperation. We hadn't read any reviews or anything.

This was a pleasant hotel. Compared to the hotel we had left this was like a 5* experience. It was obviously one of the chain, however I found it to be very pleasant. The gentleman on reception was accommodating and explained how the hotel we had left had the amount of stars it did.

The room was a decent size. The view was of the car park. Breakfast was decent and plentiful. I have no complaints. I would happily stay in a holiday Inn Express again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissTee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.3 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel

Property: Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Address: Cheriton High Street, Folkestone CT18 8AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a prominent position alongside the M20 motorway and the hotel has ease of access to all main national and international transport links. The hotel is adjacent to the Eurotunnel Channel Tunnel terminal which provides regular services to continental Europe. Junction 12 is within a few minutes drive facilitating connection to the national motorway network, the major airports and greater London, Paris and Brussels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Hotel Folkestone
Folkestone Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing