We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what it says on the tin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not what it says on the tin”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here for a night before getting the Eurotunnel and booked it specifically because the website made it sound really dog-friendly and it was our first time taking our two small dogs with us.......we were disappointed! The hotel itself was really clean, staff very friendly and complimentary breakfast more than adequate and I would certainly recommend it for a cheap option before travelling.......but not with dogs. The rooms where pets are allowed are not as accessible as we'd thought (they were through reception, bar & upstairs via stairs or a lift which was very entertaining for two dogs who live in a bungalow & have never seen either!!) The garden turned out to be the car park and all the so-called extras (dog beds etc.) I thought I'd pre-arranged didn't materialise.......this isn't complaining because I should've mentioned it at the time, but with our dogs going abroad I'd rather it were hassle-free. We'll definitely travel with our dogs again........but if our dogs are with us we won't travel via this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farleycross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear farleycross,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback online. I am pleased that you found our staff to be accommodating and the breakfast served was sufficient for your needs. However, I truly regret that you were not completely satisfied dissatisfied with the condition of the room that you were given. We have taken note of your feedback and this shall be used to consider for improvements needed in our efforts.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    529
    254
    67
    39
See reviews for
331
536
37
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed for one night. The room was very clean with a very good shower. Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very good and came as part of the room package. The WIFI was free which was helpful. Would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joninkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Joninkent,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Folkestone.

I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel was of a suitable location for the Channel Tunnel, I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards

Martin Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed in that hotel for 1 night but I have to say that , staff and services are really good and the room are really nice and clean as well, breakfast is complementary and also very good with a lot of variety to eat well done ,

Room Tip: All rooms are ok and mostly fully booked so i cant say anything about it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
206 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Easy access off junction 12 of the M20 and right next to a 24 hour Tesco store if youve forgotten anything or need essentials before travelling onwards. Check in was easy and the staff were very polite and helpful. I had a double room on the first floor which was clean and tidy and plenty of space. The usual tea and coffee making facilities were on hand with a kettle and the bathroom had Dove handwash and showergel available. The towels were still fluffy but the shower jet was very poor and it took ages for me to get wet.
A small Tv with free view channels was on the corner of a desk and wifi availability was on hand with a code to input for 24 hours free access.
The bar was ok for a quiet drink but being a real ale drinker i was disappointed that they only had Boddingtons on tap.
The hotel is ideally located for easy access to the channel tunnel and not to far from Dover if your using the ferry. Plenty of parking space.
Breakfast the following morning consideted of cereals and sausages beans and scrambled egg on a help yourself basis.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissTonyPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear SwissTonyPortsmouth,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Folkestone.

I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel was of a suitable location for the Channel Tunnel. I am sorry to hear of the problems you experienced with the shower in your room, my maintenacne team will be carrying out more regular checks to ensure this is resolved.


I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards

Martin Howard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here before an early morning tunnel crossing to France.
Parking is plentiful and easy to access. Staff are efficient and friendly. Rooms are clean and well laid out. Food, although mostly frozen and reheated, was tasty and well presented. Tesco just down the road if you've forgotten any holiday essentials and need to fill up with fuel.
Highly recommended for an overnight stay with easy access to the tunnel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheRedHelmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

If you need somewhere close to the channel tunnel this hotel is ideal. The staff were efficient and friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I didn't have breakfast as it was an early start but I was offered and alternative.
It really is that simple. I wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The evening meal choice was very poor. Nothing is cooked fresh, its all frozen products.
No flexibility from the chef to cook something else. Only three members of staff on duty, Receptionist, chef and a barman that done everything else including the restaurant.
Breakfast was no better. They do not serve continental and hot course as separate. They are all inclusive with the night rate. Hot breakfast.....What a joke??? sausages, scrambled egg or beans, that was it. Breakfast finished at 9am. no good for people on holiday. All holiday inns apparently are franchises and the standards are set by the corporate image of people that are uncontactable. The hotel staff got very irate when we complained. Give them a miss. Premier Inn is £1 cheaper with a massive choice on the menu. One upside. The room was very clean except for a stained carpet, broken toilet seat, and a sink plug that did not work. Very poor standards.

Room Tip: go near the car park side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendybears1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear wendybears1949,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. It is truly unfortunate to see that you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. We have sent you a private message addressing your concerns. I trust we can regain your confidence in our products and services.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
2.1 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
2.8 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
2.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel

Property: Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Address: Cheriton High Street, Folkestone CT18 8AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a prominent position alongside the M20 motorway and the hotel has ease of access to all main national and international transport links. The hotel is adjacent to the Eurotunnel Channel Tunnel terminal which provides regular services to continental Europe. Junction 12 is within a few minutes drive facilitating connection to the national motorway network, the major airports and greater London, Paris and Brussels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, IHG, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Hotel Folkestone
Folkestone Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing