We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So convenient for the channel tunnel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We have stayed here several times since it opened around three years ago and it has continued to improve throughout that time. The have now improved the menu and extended the food service hours. It is not glamorous but it is clean, comfortable and an ideal place to stay prior to a morning crossing via Eurotunnel. It is less than ten minutes drive from the check in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear ZoeP,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Folkestone.

I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay again at the hotel. Thank you for such positive feedback regarding the team, hotel and our new dinner menu.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards

Martin Howard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

743 - 749 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Welcomed to the hotel by a polite young man who was also a chef there,rooms were large clean and airy and the beds comfortable.No restaurants nearby so took a taxi into town at a cost of nine pounds each way.
Breakfast next day was alright a perfect if unspectacular hotel to stay before a trip through France the next day.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ethelred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Ethelred,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Folkestone.

I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel was of a suitable location for the Channel Tunnel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards

Martin Howard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Have previously written a good review for this hotel so as we were making the trip again thought we would use it again. There was a complication this time as on the 2nd night we would have a dog with us. Tried booking on line but lots of difficulties encountered so decided to ring. We live in Spain so to keep costs down we use Skype. The lady on reception that answered despite trying to be helpful only succeeded in winding me up, when she eventually stopped moaning about the quality of the call and whereabouts in Spain I was calling from went to check on the rate Skype decided it had had enough and cut the call short. I rang again but soon gave up after problems with the same lady, managed to book on line but had to be 2 separate bookings to avoid paying the extra for the dog on the 1st night but did note this on the booking form. A few days later we decided to add an additional night and was horrified to see the rate for that night was some £ 40 more than the previous night. When we arrived that hadn't taken any notice of our other booking and had us in differebtvrooms for the stay. The lady I had spoke to was on reception and after a long drive through from Spain it was hard work getting the bboking sorted. We did manafe to get the same room for our entire stay but that was on the 2nd floor, why put people w7th dogs on the 2nd floor. Part of their pet deal is to supply bowls and food for your dog, ok the 2nd night we had food but nobody had tjought to ask what breed dog we had and what type of food was needed. We had a German Shepherd and were given 2 small containers of wet food. The next day we were not given anything. Will I use them again? Sadly the answer is no despite the great location. Beds also need updating

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uffington15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear uffington15,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincerest apology for the experience you had during your stay with us and the service you received did not live up to your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We often stay as we visit France/Belgium half a dozen times a year, the hotel is ideal for tunnel/ferry, is very clean, the staff are helpful, rooms are basic but adequate for stop over, there is plenty of parking on site as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madaboutsportltd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 days whilst on a training course. The hotel itself is very clean and benefits from free wifi for 24 hours. The rooms are basic, but for the price you pay, you can't complain. My tv was temperamental and had to watch Frozen Planet as I couldn't turn over or turn it off. Witnessing the demise of baby penguins was not what I had in mind. The free breakfast is again very basic but it is free and for what it is (eggs, beans and sausages) it was okay. The restaurant I found was very pricey.

Overall, great stay and would stay again

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nibblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A mere 10 minutes from the Channel Tunnel entry/exit makes the Holiday Inn location almost perfect for a quick stop over before beginning or ending a trip. A few pointers, the price fluctuates radically so its best to book ahead if you are considering a stopover. Also, try for a room 'upstairs', it can be noisy on the ground floor with cars arriving and, or, staff going about their business. bedrooms have the usual facilities with TV and internet.
Meals are 'structured' with a basic evening menu and a fairly standard breakfast with the usual suspects, beans, scrambled eggs etc.
If you want ease, this is it, if you want any frills or some personality, try a local B&B.

Room Tip: Upstairs, the higher, the quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMW1200adv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear BMW1200adv,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We understand that having a comfortable stay is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the noise. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times as it is a great location for the Channel Tunnel, the tunnels terminal is about 5 mins away by car, there is a Tessco just up the road so you can fill your car with petrol before you head for the Tunnel, the hotel has quite a big carpark and there is usually room to park but they have started charging the public to park there which is a bit of a pain but it is free for hotel guests, the hotel is clean and spacious and the staff are helpful, the rooms are clean and roomy with a en'suite toilet and shower with clean crisp towels, there is free tea and coffee in the room and a television, there is also free WIFI in the bar area, breakfast is included in the price which is quite good apart from the sausages which taste cheap and nasty, the only realy downside to this hotel is the bed, it is not very comfortable, could do with a memory foam mattress, all in all not a bad hotel, but star lost because of the bed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLADESMAN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Bladesman,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Folkestone,

Your feedback is very important to us to help us establish what is important to our guests and helps us improve our service. I am unable to locate your reservation from your trip advisor name, therefore could you contact me on gm@hiexfolkestone.com with your reservation details so I can investigate the mattress in your room.

Kind Regards

Martin Howard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
1,087 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
482 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
319 reviews
2.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#3 of 10 in Folkestone
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel

Address: Cheriton High Street, Folkestone CT18 8AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: £52 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a prominent position alongside the M20 motorway and the hotel has ease of access to all main national and international transport links. The hotel is adjacent to the Eurotunnel Channel Tunnel terminal which provides regular services to continental Europe. Junction 12 is within a few minutes drive facilitating connection to the national motorway network, the major airports and greater London, Paris and Brussels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Hotel Folkestone
Folkestone Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing