We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Usual good service from this HIE, comfortable, clean and friendly staff. Breakfast area was a little cramped for room but plentiful supply of food. Would recommend for overnight before heading to France.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussiesabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Aussiesabroad,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Folkestone.

I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel was of a suitable location for the Channel Tunnel, I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards

Martin Howard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

739 - 745 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here in February before crossing to France,
It's perfectly located for a tunnel crossing,very close to the tunnel,the rooms were clean,tidy and well laid out.
The whole family had a good nights sleep and we're well rested for a very early crossing.
The complimentary breakfast was a good touch in the morning to take out .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed one night only for convenience to the ferry terminal for France. The rooms were clean, comfortable and of a high standard. The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful and the hotel is, indeed, only 5 minutes away from the ferry terminal. The bar was quite busy in the evening, so plenty of people about. We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening because we arrived quite late, but we had breakfast, which was adequate and to usual Holiday Inn Express standards. All-in-all, a good night's stay as a stop off for the continent. Plenty of parking availalbe.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2509Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear 2509Jill,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Folkestone.

I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel was of a suitable location for the Ferry, thank you for your positive feedback about the team and facilities.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards

Martin Howard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I booked this hotel as we were attending a wedding locally, and thought that a holiday inn hotel would be a safe bet!

How wrong could we have been.....

The room walls were filthy and marked, the paint was falling off the window sills, the bathroom was dirty and smelt of urine, the sink was so blocked (even when we entirely removed the plug) while brushing your teeth over the sink the basin just filled itself up with a toothpaste saliva water, the heating was stuck on 25 degrees and when we asked if they could help us turn it down we were told it had to be controlled centrally and not individually, when we returned in the evening from the wedding we asked if it had been done and were told the same thing (the room was still very hot), we gave up and opened the windows as far as possible, which was all of 2 inches! The bed was very creaky and uncomfortable, the carpet was stained and again filthy! There were no plug sockets near the bed to charge your phone or near a mirror to allow you to have access to a mirror while drying your hair, and no iron!

Overall it was a very restless night of not much sleep and lots of noise as we had the windows open and were above the entrance to the hotel. Needless to say we will not be staying here again! However, when we did mention this to the receptionist she didn't seem at all phased when we told her how bad the stay had been and offered us a refund on the hotel rate for the evening (even though we hadn't checked out at this point so they shouldn't have even debited our account, which they then had to refund!)

My partner and I have both stayed in a lot of different hotels through work but this was definitely an experience- NOT to be relived!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alicehalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear AliceHalls,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Folkestone, Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion.

Your feedback is very important to us to help us establish what is important to our guests and helps us improve our service. I am unable to locate your reservation from your trip advisor name, therefore could you contact me on gm@hiexfolkestone.com with your reservation details; I will then be able to investigate your experience in full.

Kind Regards

Martin Howard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We have stayed here several times since it opened around three years ago and it has continued to improve throughout that time. The have now improved the menu and extended the food service hours. It is not glamorous but it is clean, comfortable and an ideal place to stay prior to a morning crossing via Eurotunnel. It is less than ten minutes drive from the check in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear ZoeP,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Folkestone.

I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay again at the hotel. Thank you for such positive feedback regarding the team, hotel and our new dinner menu.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards

Martin Howard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Welcomed to the hotel by a polite young man who was also a chef there,rooms were large clean and airy and the beds comfortable.No restaurants nearby so took a taxi into town at a cost of nine pounds each way.
Breakfast next day was alright a perfect if unspectacular hotel to stay before a trip through France the next day.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ethelred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Ethelred,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Folkestone.

I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel was of a suitable location for the Channel Tunnel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards

Martin Howard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Have previously written a good review for this hotel so as we were making the trip again thought we would use it again. There was a complication this time as on the 2nd night we would have a dog with us. Tried booking on line but lots of difficulties encountered so decided to ring. We live in Spain so to keep costs down we use Skype. The lady on reception that answered despite trying to be helpful only succeeded in winding me up, when she eventually stopped moaning about the quality of the call and whereabouts in Spain I was calling from went to check on the rate Skype decided it had had enough and cut the call short. I rang again but soon gave up after problems with the same lady, managed to book on line but had to be 2 separate bookings to avoid paying the extra for the dog on the 1st night but did note this on the booking form. A few days later we decided to add an additional night and was horrified to see the rate for that night was some £ 40 more than the previous night. When we arrived that hadn't taken any notice of our other booking and had us in differebtvrooms for the stay. The lady I had spoke to was on reception and after a long drive through from Spain it was hard work getting the bboking sorted. We did manafe to get the same room for our entire stay but that was on the 2nd floor, why put people w7th dogs on the 2nd floor. Part of their pet deal is to supply bowls and food for your dog, ok the 2nd night we had food but nobody had tjought to ask what breed dog we had and what type of food was needed. We had a German Shepherd and were given 2 small containers of wet food. The next day we were not given anything. Will I use them again? Sadly the answer is no despite the great location. Beds also need updating

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uffington15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear uffington15,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincerest apology for the experience you had during your stay with us and the service you received did not live up to your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
1,088 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
482 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
319 reviews
2.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#3 of 10 in Folkestone
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel

Address: Cheriton High Street, Folkestone CT18 8AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: £52 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a prominent position alongside the M20 motorway and the hotel has ease of access to all main national and international transport links. The hotel is adjacent to the Eurotunnel Channel Tunnel terminal which provides regular services to continental Europe. Junction 12 is within a few minutes drive facilitating connection to the national motorway network, the major airports and greater London, Paris and Brussels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Hotel Folkestone
Folkestone Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing