We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No refrigerator”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No refrigerator”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We chose to stay at this hotel the night before leaving on the shuttle for France and again when returning. We were not impressed by the cleanliness and the amenities. Considering that this hotel seems to have full occupancy all the time due to it's proximity to the shuttle I would have expected better. It seems that they feel that they don't have to try.
Won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lillimur3420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear lillimur3420,

Many thanks for reveiwing the Holiday Inn Express, Folkestone we appreciate the time you have taken.

I am extremely disappointed that our cleanliness levels were not to your satisfaction, we are always striving to provide the most superior service to our guests and I sincerely apologise that this was not the case during your stay with us. As a Holiday Inn Express we adhere to brand standards set by the Intercontinental Hotel Group and specifications do not allow us to provide refridgerators in the room, however we can always keep medical or baby products stored in a fridge in our reception area.

We would welcome the opportunity to improve our services to you when you next visit the area and sincerely hope that you will consider us again.

Kind Regards,

Sophia Fagan
Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    548
    259
    68
    39
See reviews for
338
556
38
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We crossed the English Channel on Le Shuttle and stayed one night before driving up to Scotland. We had a room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Sofa Bed.

The sofa bed had no support. Of course I didn't expect it to be like a bed mattress but it was pretty bad.

The room was pretty standard and nothing outstanding. Bathroom was also just average.

Free breakfast was also very average. Just some toast, sausage and scrambled eggs. Very bad tasting coffee. It had no flavour whatsoever. I saw people dump 2 ~ 3 packets of instant coffee into their coffee.

Its okay for a short one night stay before or after crossing the Channel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRUS_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear KRUS_87,

Many thanks for taking the time to reveiw the Holiday Inn Express, Folkestone.

I am very sorry to hear the you found our sofabed uncomfortable - as per our brand standards there are only certain products and services that we can offer, due to our Express status we are unable to provide bedrooms consisting of two double beds and would recommend our twin bedded rooms for adults wishing to share a room but have separate beds.

I sincerely hope that we will have the oppertunity to improve our services to yourself when you next visit the area.

Please feel free to email myself to ensure the correct room type is allocated for any future reservations. sales@hiexfolkestone.com

Kind Regards,

Sophia Fagan
Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel on our way to France. The hotel was clean and tidy, we ate in the hotel never again food was not that good who can burn chips! also found soft drinks very expensive if traveling with children you may wish to take your own it cost us £7.50 for 2 small glasses of lemonade in the bar.
Unfortunatley it wasnt till we were in france i realised i had paid nearly £8.00 for a pint of lemonade total rip off.

Room Tip: Dont drink soft drinnks in the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monty320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear monty320,

Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay. While we are glad that you liked the cleanliness of our hotel, it is regrettable that your dining experience prevented you from full enjoying your time at the hotel. As hospitality professionals, we provide product and service rates that are competitive in the area while simultaneously ensuring that our facilities are well maintained. It is not our intent to inconvenience valued customers like you, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations.

Please know that your comments are very important to us, as this is our best resource for improvement. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next future visit.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

As our usual choice of the Dover Premier Inn was too expensive on this occasion we decided to overnight at this hotel before jumping on the ferry before the last stretch of our trip home to germany on Sunday.

Hotel is well signed from the M20 so we found it, parked and checked in without issue.

We were assigned room 103, first floor, not too bad as we are travelling with a 17 month old nipper. However the room stunk of damp (I think) when we went in. But opening the windows to give a good airing improved that.

The biggest issue however was the bed in this room. We aren't small, but far from the biggest and we could barely lie side by side on this creaky, uncomfortable effort of a bed. How that can be considered a double I have no idea.

As you can imagine, a sleepless night followed, just what you need when you have a days travel ahead of you.

Breakfast was fine, slightly rubbery sausages, but I've had worse.

My advice, unless you are a midget or travelling alone, stay at a premier inn, the beds are worth it!


Luckily on check out the staff member didn't ask how our stay had been, they may not have liked the answer.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ta5jda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Ta5jda,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for The Holiday Inn Express, Folkestone.

I am pleased that you found it easy to find us and there was ample parking available. I am, however, disappointed to hear that the comfort of our beds did not live up to your expectations. I can confirm that as per our brand standard bed type the double beds are in line with the guidlines provided to us by IHG. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay.

We appreciate your feedback and this has been noted to help us improve for the future.

Kind Regards,

Sophia Fagan
Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here en route to France on a motorcycle trip. The staff could not be more helpful, allowed me to park the bike under the canopy at the front as it was raining, the room was very comfortable and clean, breakfast was very good hot and well presented. All in all an enjoyable overnight stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 787johnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review and kind comments regarding the staff helpfulness. I was happy to note you had a enjoyable overnight stay.

Myself and the team look forward to seeing you again

Kind Regards
Gavin Ethridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

A second stay here. I'm no fan of hotels that are so similar to each other that you have no idea where you are when you wake up but the Holiday Inn Express chain does have its advantages. Free WIFI is one of them. Really, free WIFI in your room, not just the communal areas. The new menu was a bit lacking in meat free options but once again the staff were friendly and professional.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank HarveyNobum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly, thank you for your review and secondly thank you for your patronage to the hotel. It’s always pleasing when a guest returns as it’s an indicator that we are doing things correctly.

As you correctly stated we do offer free WIFI to all guests and this service proves very popular.

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 663 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

If your looking for a hotel to stay at prior to boarding the Euro Tunnel, then this is the one for you.
Parking is on the flat, and is easy.
Checking in and out was good. The bedroom was fine, as was the bathroom, although it could do with a title updating.
Breakfast, was included, which was good. They must do something with the area where the breakfast foods are laid out, they are in a separate annex, this causes a real problem and creates a log jam, in a morning guests want to eat and go, not fight for food.
We stay at Holiday inns a lot, this one was ok, but we thought a bit over priced, for what it was. Last week we stayed at a re furbished Travel Lodge, in Liverpool. Believe it or not, was far better than this Holliday Inn, at half the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravellers222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear HappyTravellers222,

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express, Folkestone.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am very grateful for your positive comments and will be passing these on to my team.

Currently our breakfast area and its layout are being considered for refurbishment, we welcome your views and all comments will be taken into consideration.

Kind Regards,

Sophia Fagan
Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
2.1 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
988 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
2.8 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
285 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
427 reviews
2.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel

Property: Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Address: Cheriton High Street, Folkestone CT18 8AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a prominent position alongside the M20 motorway and the hotel has ease of access to all main national and international transport links. The hotel is adjacent to the Eurotunnel Channel Tunnel terminal which provides regular services to continental Europe. Junction 12 is within a few minutes drive facilitating connection to the national motorway network, the major airports and greater London, Paris and Brussels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Hotel Folkestone
Folkestone Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing