We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy fan on roof”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 July 2014

value for money was good,but at other Holiday Inns far better breakfast including bacon which this inn did not have,also could do with a better bowl of fresh fruit.
We also stayed in room 109 and the fan on the roof above was noisy keeping us awake.
we also tried the wi fi but could not get our laptop to work and the guy at the reception could not help.

Room Tip: We would normally go to the premier inn at Dover which is a far better place to stay,but was fully b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your recent stay with us.

Please accept my apologies for any shortfall during your stay. Due to our operating brand standards we are currently unable to offer bacon, however I will ensure this information is feedback at a corporate level.

Thank you for brining the noisy fan to my attention, I will investigate this immediately as it was not something I was aware. I do hope this will not deter you from staying with us again.

Once again thank you for your feedback

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

751 - 757 of 1,325 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here for one night en route to France. Staff were friendly and efficient. Family room was clean and all usual amenities were supplied. Sofa bed would suit a younger child. A bit hard and lacking support for a teenager.

Foyer and seating area in reception/bar very limited and tired. Area needs a facelift and some new sofas as the few that were available were threadbare.

Breakfast was average, nothing great but nothing bad. Scrambled egg, bacon and sausage, toast, tea, coffee, fruit juices and cereal. Layout of serving area could be better as there was always a queue at the coffee/tea machine.

Relatively good value for money and very handy for Euro Tunnel. Would I stay again? Possibly, based on location and price. It does what you'd expect. Not a hotel for those with allergies to dogs as many guests had their pets with them.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDEcosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear JDEcosse,

Many thanks for taking the time to reveiw the Holiday Inn Express, Folkestone. I am so pleased that we were of a convenient location for your needs and we really appreciate your positive comments about the team and I will be sure they are made aware of this.

I am, however, disappointed that our public areas did not live up to your expectations, I am pleased to confirm that this is something that is currently under full reveiw for complete refurbishment along with our breakfast area.

We hope to be able to exceed your expectations when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards,

Sophia Fagan
Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We chose to stay at this hotel the night before leaving on the shuttle for France and again when returning. We were not impressed by the cleanliness and the amenities. Considering that this hotel seems to have full occupancy all the time due to it's proximity to the shuttle I would have expected better. It seems that they feel that they don't have to try.
Won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillimur3420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear lillimur3420,

Many thanks for reveiwing the Holiday Inn Express, Folkestone we appreciate the time you have taken.

I am extremely disappointed that our cleanliness levels were not to your satisfaction, we are always striving to provide the most superior service to our guests and I sincerely apologise that this was not the case during your stay with us. As a Holiday Inn Express we adhere to brand standards set by the Intercontinental Hotel Group and specifications do not allow us to provide refridgerators in the room, however we can always keep medical or baby products stored in a fridge in our reception area.

We would welcome the opportunity to improve our services to you when you next visit the area and sincerely hope that you will consider us again.

Kind Regards,

Sophia Fagan
Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We crossed the English Channel on Le Shuttle and stayed one night before driving up to Scotland. We had a room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Sofa Bed.

The sofa bed had no support. Of course I didn't expect it to be like a bed mattress but it was pretty bad.

The room was pretty standard and nothing outstanding. Bathroom was also just average.

Free breakfast was also very average. Just some toast, sausage and scrambled eggs. Very bad tasting coffee. It had no flavour whatsoever. I saw people dump 2 ~ 3 packets of instant coffee into their coffee.

Its okay for a short one night stay before or after crossing the Channel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRUS_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear KRUS_87,

Many thanks for taking the time to reveiw the Holiday Inn Express, Folkestone.

I am very sorry to hear the you found our sofabed uncomfortable - as per our brand standards there are only certain products and services that we can offer, due to our Express status we are unable to provide bedrooms consisting of two double beds and would recommend our twin bedded rooms for adults wishing to share a room but have separate beds.

I sincerely hope that we will have the oppertunity to improve our services to yourself when you next visit the area.

Please feel free to email myself to ensure the correct room type is allocated for any future reservations. sales@hiexfolkestone.com

Kind Regards,

Sophia Fagan
Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel on our way to France. The hotel was clean and tidy, we ate in the hotel never again food was not that good who can burn chips! also found soft drinks very expensive if traveling with children you may wish to take your own it cost us £7.50 for 2 small glasses of lemonade in the bar.
Unfortunatley it wasnt till we were in france i realised i had paid nearly £8.00 for a pint of lemonade total rip off.

Room Tip: Dont drink soft drinnks in the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monty320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear monty320,

Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay. While we are glad that you liked the cleanliness of our hotel, it is regrettable that your dining experience prevented you from full enjoying your time at the hotel. As hospitality professionals, we provide product and service rates that are competitive in the area while simultaneously ensuring that our facilities are well maintained. It is not our intent to inconvenience valued customers like you, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations.

Please know that your comments are very important to us, as this is our best resource for improvement. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next future visit.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

As our usual choice of the Dover Premier Inn was too expensive on this occasion we decided to overnight at this hotel before jumping on the ferry before the last stretch of our trip home to germany on Sunday.

Hotel is well signed from the M20 so we found it, parked and checked in without issue.

We were assigned room 103, first floor, not too bad as we are travelling with a 17 month old nipper. However the room stunk of damp (I think) when we went in. But opening the windows to give a good airing improved that.

The biggest issue however was the bed in this room. We aren't small, but far from the biggest and we could barely lie side by side on this creaky, uncomfortable effort of a bed. How that can be considered a double I have no idea.

As you can imagine, a sleepless night followed, just what you need when you have a days travel ahead of you.

Breakfast was fine, slightly rubbery sausages, but I've had worse.

My advice, unless you are a midget or travelling alone, stay at a premier inn, the beds are worth it!


Luckily on check out the staff member didn't ask how our stay had been, they may not have liked the answer.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ta5jda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reservations M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Ta5jda,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for The Holiday Inn Express, Folkestone.

I am pleased that you found it easy to find us and there was ample parking available. I am, however, disappointed to hear that the comfort of our beds did not live up to your expectations. I can confirm that as per our brand standard bed type the double beds are in line with the guidlines provided to us by IHG. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay.

We appreciate your feedback and this has been noted to help us improve for the future.

Kind Regards,

Sophia Fagan
Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here en route to France on a motorcycle trip. The staff could not be more helpful, allowed me to park the bike under the canopy at the front as it was raining, the room was very comfortable and clean, breakfast was very good hot and well presented. All in all an enjoyable overnight stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 787johnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review and kind comments regarding the staff helpfulness. I was happy to note you had a enjoyable overnight stay.

Myself and the team look forward to seeing you again

Kind Regards
Gavin Ethridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folkestone
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
2.8 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
201 reviews
2 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#1 of 3 in Hythe
1,929 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel

Address: Cheriton High Street, Folkestone CT18 8AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: £58 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a prominent position alongside the M20 motorway and the hotel has ease of access to all main national and international transport links. The hotel is adjacent to the Eurotunnel Channel Tunnel terminal which provides regular services to continental Europe. Junction 12 is within a few minutes drive facilitating connection to the national motorway network, the major airports and greater London, Paris and Brussels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Hotel Folkestone
Folkestone Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing