We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nothern England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

One night stay July 2014 prior to channel tunnel crossing. Very friendly staff excellent quick breakfast and fast and efficient check in and out. Did what it said on the can, clean and simple and perfect for the tunnel only 5 mins away in busy traffic .

Room Tip: None really it's on a corner but no through traffic so all rooms ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyFamily38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and effort to leave review on trip advisor. I was delighted to learn you had a great stay and that the hotel suited all your needs.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    523
    250
    67
    39
See reviews for
330
527
37
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at his hotel as part of our journey and it has good standards for the price charged and the type of stay. The hotel was clean, bedrooms nice and tidy, beds comfortable enough, clean toilet and shower, good breakfast.
The staff was always nice and helpful and we had a lovely family meal at the hotel restaurant. The food came fast, looked and tasted good. It is a family-friendly hotel and that was a bonus for us and our children, so, if you planning to visit, bare in mind you might find a noisy child around.
Don't expect to find fantastic views or spa facilities like in other hotels of the group, but the Holiday Inn standards will be there for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pati_theone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your kind feedback. As you correctly detailed we are indeed an Express hotel and have differences to a full service Holiday Inns, with that being said i was happy to note that you had a good experience and enjoyed the facilities.

Once again, thank you for your review

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We drove straight from work in High Wycombe on a Friday night and decided that we would not eat until we arrived at the hotel, we called ahead to check on the time they stopped serviing meals, and we were told 10pm great. We arrived arond 2050 hrs checked in and went straight to the bar so as not to delay our meal has we had not eaten since lunch, found a table, went to order nothing special two bugers, we were told we could order now but tghe order would not go to the kitchen until 2120 hrs and then we could probably get our meal just before 2200 hrs! But....... if we wanted pizza we could have that now! When we said no we were handed a list of local restaurants! They were not even busy there seemed to be no one really waiting! We opted to try and find a meal out of the Holiday Inn, well found a chinese but could not park, so in the end after driving round we opted for a chinese takeaway! What a mistake got back to the room by this time 2220 hrs! The meal was dreadful.....

I have stayed in a lot of Hoiday Inns in the UK and around the world my father even worked for them in the 80's well times have changed. My husband and me were so disappointed it was almost as if they just couldnt be bothered to deal with us.

We paid a lot of money to be treated badly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review of our hotel following your recent stay with us. I was pleased that you chose us for your accommodation needs; however it did come as a great disappointment to me that you experienced problems during your stay.

Please accept my sincere apologies with regards to the issues you encountered. Customer satisfaction is essential and a basic fundamental to any business and poor customer service is not something I tolerate.

I would be most grateful if you could contact me directly either via email gm@hiexfolkestone.com or telephone 01303 298450 so I can obtain further details of your stay and ensure this does not happen again.

Once again please accept my apologies and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is perfect for a one night stop before the Channel Tunnel. Location is perfect. Hotel is clean, comfortable beds, quiet room, air conditioning, helpful friendly staff, free parking, and a pretty good breakfast too, and all at a reasonable good value price. What else do you want from a hotel called "Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel?" Do not book this hotel for a weeks family holiday on the beaches of Folkestone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your very accurate review, as you correctly mentioned we are indeed an Express and I was glad to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I will ensure your positive remarks are feed back to the team.

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Booked here for overnight rest prior to joining Euro Train at Folkstone, having driven from Glasgow. Staff were excellent and very friendly, assisting us with storing our bikes overnight.

Beds were really comfy and a great nights sleep left me refreshed for my drive from Calais down to Dol de Bretagne. All very clean and staff at brekkie were just as nice, rushing to get plenty of food out for the guests. Basic but plentiful cooked brekkie and overall great value for money at 70-odd for four in family room.

Review reflects expectations for this was selected for convenience but helpful & great staff helped.

Room Tip: We were placed away from car park which helped when Americana style custom cars ralley rolled up lat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weegie-Ollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest

As you can imagine I was delighted to read your feedback and thank you for talking the time to leave a post online. As you mentioned we are indeed a limited / budget hotel and was happy to see we achieved what we set out to do.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We had traveled down from Cumbria to stay at the Holiday Inn Express so we could get the shuttle in the morning to travel on down to Le Mans for the Classic event. We were quite tired. On checking in we were made very welcome having parked my sports car in the safe car park, we were given an envelop with all we needing, door card, and other information, free news paper. The room was very clean with a comfortable bed we could see our car from the room. We eat at the hotel as you would have to walk or drive into town to find some were to eat. The meal was very good and nice just to go up to the room and not have to walk or drive back to the hotel. We had a good night it's very quit, and in the morning the breakfast was adequate. The Channel Tunnel station is about 10 minuets away.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank D999G777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time and effort to leave a review on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your positive comments surrounding your stay and recent experience. I will ensure this feedback is passed to the team so they continue to provide great service.

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

value for money was good,but at other Holiday Inns far better breakfast including bacon which this inn did not have,also could do with a better bowl of fresh fruit.
We also stayed in room 109 and the fan on the roof above was noisy keeping us awake.
we also tried the wi fi but could not get our laptop to work and the guy at the reception could not help.

Room Tip: We would normally go to the premier inn at Dover which is a far better place to stay,but was fully b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEXFOLKESTONE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your recent stay with us.

Please accept my apologies for any shortfall during your stay. Due to our operating brand standards we are currently unable to offer bacon, however I will ensure this information is feedback at a corporate level.

Thank you for brining the noisy fan to my attention, I will investigate this immediately as it was not something I was aware. I do hope this will not deter you from staying with us again.

Once again thank you for your feedback

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
2.1 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
2.8 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
2.3 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel

Property: Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Address: Cheriton High Street, Folkestone CT18 8AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a prominent position alongside the M20 motorway and the hotel has ease of access to all main national and international transport links. The hotel is adjacent to the Eurotunnel Channel Tunnel terminal which provides regular services to continental Europe. Junction 12 is within a few minutes drive facilitating connection to the national motorway network, the major airports and greater London, Paris and Brussels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Hotel Folkestone
Folkestone Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing