We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used before and just as good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Located 5 mins to the Channel Tunnel and close to the M20 just outside Folkestone. Yet being so close to everything, it is a very quiet hotel. From the moment we stepped inside and was greeted by the well mannered, polite and efficient Receptionist (Ross I think his name was) to the moment we left the following morning we enjoyed this hotel. I know its over 12 months old because it must be that when we last stayed here. Yet its modern, very clean, and looks brand new, both the public areas and the rooms. Our room was right next to the stairway and lift but we never heard any noise when in the room. There is a bar and restaurant next to the reception. When ordering our food we were warned that it may take some time as they were catching up from a coach party. The food was delivered in good time and was of excellent quality. I mentioned last time the steak was one of the best I had tasted, this time, the same chef must be still be there because the food was equally good. What was very noticible was that there were only a small number of staff on duty and they worked so well together as a team helping each other out that the whole operation looked so professional and efficient. Breakfast was a buffet affair and were exceptionally good with fresh food and hot & cold drinks. Would without reservation recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob3066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,260)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,183 - 1,189 of 1,260 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2010

we stayed for a saturday night 24/04/2010.have stayed at this hotel before so knew what to expect.check-in was fine, room was clean and tidy .now the problems.we had the room next to us thinking the hotel was a nightclub with constant music blasting and one female idiot talking loudly outside our room door.complained 3 times to the front desk .they were told to keep it down.nothing happened.in the end we had to pack our suitcase and move to another room.first of all had to go down to the front desk for a key card for the new room they gave us.on trying the door found out somebody was already in the room.went back to the front desk and the guy on the desk had to phone the room to find out who he was ,as there was no sign of him on there computer system.nice to see how many quests they have in there hotel.(have'nt got a clue)finally given a room without any guests staying there.by the time we got this room it was 1am in the morning and my wife and 6 year old daughter were none to pleased.now the major issue 1 member of staff on at night to work the bar,front desk and sought out any problems.not good enough .we complained to hi express head office and were told the manager of the folkestone hi express would get in touch.still waiting 2 weeks later.service poor .management response poor.would recommend the premier inn.they have a sleep guarantee.bad nights sleep,you get your money back.will not stay here again even if i could get a room for nothing.Travelodge have better customer care and thats saying something.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johndavies68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Not a lot to add to previous reviews.Far better than other HI's I have stayed at.Spotlessly clean comfortable rooms.Young very enthusiastic staff.Ideal for Channel Tunnel or Dover Ferry Port.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Booked this Hotel purely as a stopover before an early morning departure across the Channel and to be honest, I was really impressed and pleasantly suprised with the standards and service which in my opinion were excellent!

When I booked this Hotel, I selected it simply because it stated that it was the nearest accommodation to the tunnel and at £60 per night, I thought it would be very average. Well, those expectations were totally surpassed and exceeded!

I found the Hotel easily although you have to proceed along the main road as far as you can go even though you feel like you are going to end up in a building site. Perhaps the Hotel would benefit from a couple of extra directional signs although this is purely an observation.

On parking the car, I was really impressed with the external appearance - the Hotel looked modern and inviting. This first impression continued as I entered the Hotel and headed for the reception desk - the lobby was spotlessly clean and very inviting. The guy who checked us in was very polite, courteous and efficient and furnished us with all the relevant information in a very cheerful and professional manner. It was such a pity that the shirt he was wearing was very heavily stained and detracted from a very favourable first impression. The duty manager, who was present throughout, appeared to be totally oblivious to this which was a pity as it really was unacceptable and looked terrible.

On arrival at the room, I again was really impressed. Whilst the room was basic and functional, it was exceptionally clean and had a very bright, airy and comfortable appearance. The bathroom too was spotless with the provision of basic toiletries. The toilet seat was cracked and I noted this on the comment card which I left at reception on leaving the Hotel.

As advised by the receptionist, I booked a table for the evening meal as it was clear that the Hotel was going to be busy. Prior to the meal, we had a drink at the bar and the person behind the bar was very polite and courteous. We only realised when having a drink that the restaurant was part of the lobby area next to the Bar. Whilst this area was very clean, comfortable and had a modern look, it was more reminiscent of an Airport waiting area as opposed to a restaurant - the lights were bright and overpowering and the tables/chairs whilst new, did nothing to add to the ambience of the area.

When we sat down in the "restaurant" there were only one other couple dining and when we went up to order the meal we were asked had we booked which seemed a strange request considering there were four people in total present. Fortunately we had booked and it would have been interesting to know what the outcome would have been if we had not booked?

The menu was quite basic really although offered a wide variety of options. We both had a starter and main course and we both felt that the food was excellent. The mushrooms I had for starters were nice but very poorly presented - five really small mushrooms in garlic in a massive bowl with a few shavings of onion! Really tasty though!

As the restaurant got busier, it was quite apparent that there were nowhere near enough staff to deal with reception, serve at the bar, take food orders, serve meals, clear tables and deal with the many requests being made of them. I must highly commend all the staff however as they worked really hard and never stopped all evening - they worked tirelessly although it is not really fair to expect them to have to do half a dozen things at once. I appreciate that the compliment on staff on duty would have sufficed on a normal evening, but surely more staff should have been rostered with it being the Easter period! When we left the restaurant, it was quite clear that some customers were getting impatient and frustrated with the staff but this was a management failing - the staff deserved a medal for their dedication and commitment.

Following an excellent nights sleep in a very comfortable bed, we checked out at 5am. We had pre-ordered a take-away breakfast which was waiting for us and contained orange juice, croissant, piece of fruit and a chocolate bar - a really nice touch! The check out process was really efficient too - he was really cheerful, polite and professional - even wishing us a Happy Easter and safe journey - totally impressed. The whole experience at this Hotel really restored my faith in the UK's customer service standard- well done and thank you!

It took literally minutes to get to the Channel Tunnel and I would definitely stay here again. For those people looking for a really nice clean, comfortable hotel with fantastic staff near the tunnel - look no futher... you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHotelInspector1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Stayed here on the way to - and back - from Disneyland Paris. Very new looking hotel, tucked away between a business park and a Tesco superstore... but don't let that put you off! Highly attentive staff in an exceptionally clean hotel, I stay in Holiday Inn's for business and this is the best I have found so far - from either the main Holiday Inn or Express brands.

Perfectly located for the Tunnel or for Dover, the rooms are clean and airy with air con, public areas spot on. We arrived mid evening and ate at the hotel restaurant which clearly isn't cordon bleu, but was perfect for a hungry family of three. Complimentary breakfast was good.

All in all, a very good experience both starting and finishing our holiday and will definitely stay again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verywellfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Excellent for travelling to eurotunnel only 4 min drive away. Left the hotel at 5.30am before breakfast which started at 6am and if you let them know what time you are leaving they will pack you breakfast to take away, only croissant juice and an apple but better than nothing. Hotel opened I believe in 2008 and everywhere still looks new and clean. The only downside to out stay here was that there was nowhere to go for a meal other than in the hotel, Folkestone is very scruffy and full of take aways but would recommend this hotel to anyone we had 2 young children with us a 1yr and a 3yr old and it made out trip so much more relaxing. You can actually see the channel tunnel terminal from the hotel. Definately 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GavKez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Absolutely perfect for a quick stop over if you are traveling to France. Easy to find, 3 mins drive to the Tunnel Crossing. Really helpful staff. Very clean.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoria.gerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,034 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
457 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
300 reviews
2.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel

Address: Cheriton High Street, Folkestone CT18 8AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: £59 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated in a prominent position alongside the M20 motorway and the hotel has ease of access to all main national and international transport links. The hotel is adjacent to the Eurotunnel Channel Tunnel terminal which provides regular services to continental Europe. Junction 12 is within a few minutes drive facilitating connection to the national motorway network, the major airports and greater London, Paris and Brussels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Hotel Folkestone
Folkestone Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing