We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dappy concert”
Review of The Hamlet Hotel

The Hamlet Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hamlet Hotel
Ranked #21 of 26 Folkestone B&B and Inns
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dappy concert”
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Stayed her for one night on th 21st December booked two rooms, as my daughter had a VIP visit to see Dappy so needed to be near venue, The rooms were lovely bright clean and welcoming.. the bathroom defo gets the wow factor...The people who own it are very helpful and welcoming... very good value for money.. will defo stay here again if i ever need to come back to Folkstone. Also a very nice breakfast...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debster12316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    4
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Very friendly welcome, the rooms have recently been upgraded to a very good standard, helpful owners, great breakfast. Ive stayed in places that charge double and got a lot less.
Great central location, very close to shop's, lovely sea view from the near by Leas cliff top path.
Overall, Value for money and i wouldnt hesitate in recommending this B&B.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed with my husband and daughter in September. We found the room to be very nice , in fact nicer than some places we have stayed in and paid double the price. This is a simple b and b but nicely set up and in a good location.
If you want a simple accommodation and a friendly service at a good price. Stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salsasal04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

we stayed two nights for a wedding the superior room witrh four poster bed was lovely, it was clean, the owners were welcoming , good brekfast , lovely areas to walk .

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d0rseteagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

It was fairly easy to find from the station. when I saw the Sky sport Banner, I thought oh dear - but didn't report any noise from the bar. i was given a family room at the back of the hotel - so not much of a view. The rooms need some serious TLC!
The bed springs kept attacking me when I sat on it - so when sleeping I tried to stay still!
There was dust in corners and when I moved the bedside table. There is no little touches such as soap or shower cap, good job I brought my own.
The TV which was in front of the fireplace - only way I could a signal was holding the aerial or putting it on the floor next to bathroom door which could swing into the TV if you weren't careful. There was no hangers in the Wardrobe so take some if you want hang stuff.
Breakfast - the only nice thing is each table had a matching teapot and cups. Everything provided e.g cereals, juice, jam, salt & pepper is from local cash & carry! On Sat night I asked where I could get food knowing i'd seen a notice they did food, but the landlord didn't say about their food but told me goto local Italian which was far too busy!
The only other bonus was I was given a discount as I was alone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank polly_pocketblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Where do i start. Dirty. Smelly. Plug in sink was too big, lightbulb missing from bathroom. Coffee stains near kettle and some of the mild cartons were already opened. dead blue bottle on the floor. dusty. beds looked well worn and i dread to think who had been in them over the years. No ariel for tv so picture was crap. Everyone stood at front door smoking. I could go on but i am getting bored with this nighmare hotel. Best Guiness in Folkestone. Bollocks. Avoid it. Bewarned.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILALYSOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
427 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
988 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#18 of 26 in Folkestone
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Relish
The Relish
#2 of 26 in Folkestone
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hamlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hamlet Hotel

Property: The Hamlet Hotel
Address: Shakespeare Terrace, Folkestone CT20 2DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hamlet Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hamlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hamlet Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing