We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient town centre meeting place” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The View - CLOSED

The View
The View
Cuisines: Bar, American, British, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Convenient town centre meeting place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Downstairs area where bands perform starting to look a little tired. Main bar area very noisy if disco in use. Good eclectic mix of (mostly) younger customers.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doug_and_Sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Triple Sunday Roast!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Had heard that the restaurant part of the view had a new head chief (well since i last went) and that he was all about good quality, honest food.
So went with my girlfriend and i had the most amazing "Three" meat sunday roast, everything was cooked to perfection and you could tell it was all home made, right down the the orange dressing for the salad ;0) definatly check this place out...as you get change from a £10 as well!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tangier7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

good value for money and nice in the summer when doors open with nice cumfy chairs

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor Sunday Roast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

When I went here with my family for the Sunday roast the service was rather slow. Also the roast beef that was served was rather chewy and tough.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FolkestoneBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The best place for a sunny sunday.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We love The View's sunday lunch. Beautifully cooked food, with lots of choices and a relaxed atmosphere. If the weather is good, after we've eaten, nothing is nicer than moving to the sofas outside gazing at the seaview and watching the world go by.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank QueenVicFolkestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The View also viewed

 
Sandgate, Folkestone
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing