We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing stay!”
Review of The Relish

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Relish
Ranked #3 of 26 Folkestone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We made an unplanned stopover at Hotel Relish, due to our car breaking down. After a stressful day it was positively wonderful to receive such a warm welcome from Yvonne. We were given a tour of the accommodation and shown the lounge area where one could relax and read the magazines and newspapers on offer. We had access to the complimentary homemade cakes, juices, bottled water, various teas and a state of the art coffee machine. In addition to this they offered a choice of a glass of red/white wine or a bottled beer. Yvonne very kindly also booked a restaurant for us for later that evening, once we had made a selection from the detailed list provided by the hotel. This was much appreciated.
Our room, the Cliff on the top floor, was so nice that we nearly changed our mind about going out; lovely and spacious, spotlessly clean, with tea and coffee making facilities, along with complimentary bottled water, free Wi-Fi and a DVD player. The walk in shower was fantastic and the large fluffy bath sheets, along with the good quality complimentary toiletries provided, were a very nice touch. They seemed to have thought of everything!
Our room backed onto the Gardens and due to the peace and quiet and the comfort of the bed and pillows we slept extremely well and were only woken by our alarm clock going off. The heating could be controlled by either switching the radiator down or off so temperature was perfect for us.
Breakfast was of a very high standard with all tastes being catered for. We can certainly recommend the full English
Nothing was too much trouble and we could not fault the service we received. Furthermore we thought all the little extra touches and complimentary items made it a very reasonably priced accommodation. We would definitely stay here again and are very much looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Rear rooms have good view of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris-PeteM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

We simply cannot fault The Relish - from the central location and big spacious rooms, to the free drinks/cake and friendly and professional service. We can highly recommend anyone staying at this B&B when visiting the lovely town of Folkestone. Dankie Anton!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicoJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

My wife and stayed here for one night last week. It is a lovely late Victorian stuccoed semi - looks like something you would expect to find in Bayswater, very grand. Just one block back from the famous Folkestone Leas cliff top promenade - all huge Victorian mansions and faded grandeur.The room was a large double on the top floor (NB no lift!) - very spacious with nice view over Augusta gardens at the rear. Good ensuite shower. Well furnished with a great kingsized double bed - good comfortable mattress. Clearly the place has been fairly recently refurbished - smart without being over the top. Good breakfast - the usual cold buffet starters and full English options. Reasonable value at £100 for the night. Pleasant staff. A very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinfromKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We were recommended The Relish by Rocksalt Restaurant as they had sold all of their rooms. We were slightly dubious as we are not used to staying in B&BS but I must say we were pleasantly suprised. We were firstly given a discount for a small room which was a bonus then once we arrived Aton (the Hotel manager) asked if we would prefer a large room at the same price? Of course we accepted. The room was on the top floor, large, clean and well equipped. We were told to help ourselves to the Wine, home made cake and hot drinks. RESULT! Breakfast was fanastic, Smoked Salmon and full english breakfasts - what more can you ask for? We are planning on coming back in the Summer, such a a wonderful, friendly place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

The booking on the phone was easy and welcoming, unlike the Rocksalt rooms who did have any dedicated staff for bookings, and I would have to wait until someone was available to ring me back. Amanda and her husband could not be more friendly and helpful during my stay. The building is beautiful and my room was large, confortable and pristine. The breakfast, which I dont usually have, was very accomodating and nice. Just a great niche in the dreary Folkestone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We spent a lovely night here back in December. The weather was blowing a gale but the welcome was warm and the accommodation was cosy.

We had two rooms on the top floor and stayed as a family of four. Very convenient for visiting family and an exhibition nearby.

Lovely complementary snacks and drinks on arrival plus the ability to make drinks etc in our rooms. I would have loved a bath - but these two rooms had showers - which worked extremely well. Aside from some very late arrivals breaking our sleep after midnight, we had a peaceful night. It was easy to find and the staff had ensured we had a parking place nearby.

This is not a cheap B&B. But you do get a high quality hotel experience.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces onto the street, one side onto the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sleepdeprivedmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I booked The Relish on recommendation from Rocksalt Restaurant. The booking was made for my fiance´s 40th birthday. On making the booking, I asked for some champagne and rose petals in the room and although the team were not able to offer these, they went out of their way to give us fabulous alternatives. On arrival, the owner showed us around and personally took our bags up to our room. The hospitality was fantastic and the breakfast the next morning was wonderful. I would like to thank you for being so fantastic and we will be visiting again.

Room Tip: The Orchid room was absolutely beautiful - 4 poster bed and a lovely space to be in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maweekes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.2 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
1,088 reviews
0.1 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#3 of 10 in Folkestone
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
620 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Relish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Relish

Address: 4 Augusta Gardens, Folkestone CT20 2RR, England (Formerly Augusta Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Folkestone
Price Range: £86 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Relish 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable "West End", The Relish is Folkestone's first contemporary, and only 5 Star guest accommodation. 10 en-suite rooms furnished to the highest standard with sumptuous beds. Rates include unlimited fresh coffee, tea, homemade cakes, and a complimentary glass of wine or beer upon arrival, direct dial telephones and free broadband access. The Relish is a place you will want to return to again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Relish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Relish Hotel Folkestone
Relish Hotel Folkestone
The Relish Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing