We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So convenient for the Channel Tunnel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Relish

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Relish
Ranked #3 of 29 Folkestone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boxmoor
Level Contributor
169 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“So convenient for the Channel Tunnel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have stayed here before and this is our regular stop before catching the train to France the next day. Very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Just a short walk to some lovely restaurants, in Folkstone, the perfect way to start our trip over to France.

Room Tip: Only limited rooms, but all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhizostoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    92
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
187
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Absolutely perfect for the single traveller. Easy feel an
Bout the pace and a very welcome glass of wine or two from the complimentary rest area.
Bedrooms clean and comfortable. Lovely breakfast and very attentive manager.
Met my needs were met 100%

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsV480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights and was very impressed. The owners/staff are very attentive and helpful. The complimentary coffee, beer, wine is very welcome. My double room was clean, had all the amenities required and well looked after. The lounge/dining area is chic but with a god feel to it. The breakfasts, as previously noted, are excellent. Folkestone centre is 10 mins walk away. I was down to watch some hockey and will book again if in the area.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank rogerhunt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

if you are holidaying in kent or staying over night before going across the channel , can i recommend this B&B .folkstone is a very attractive little town , grand upper middle class early 20th century houses as in the relish , small high st with some local shops , on the cliff , and a small fishing / leisure habour and a small cove beach .
in the past have stayed in holiday inn express near to terminal , HIE £84 a night with i think buffet breakfast ;
relish £98 or upgrade £112 i think , full english breakfast , home made cake ( not that great im told ) 24 hours tea , ground coffee , plus welcoming glass of wine ( reds were fairly good ) or bottle of beer , but with in reason no 1 is counting .
the hotel is furnished in a modern style with a slightly 50's look .
there is a pleasant back court yard with comfortable metal tables and chairs , and a small undercover area
all the staff i met were friendly helpful and professional .
the standard rooms ARE SMALL and almost perfectly formed , but with queen bed , bit of a push for 2 big un's like us lol , was aware of this when booking , so next time will upgrade .
1 niggle reception isn't 24 hour , so lounge is locked at around 10.30 pm .
as i'm an early riser 3am this morning , had no where to sit and go online , the pouffe seat in the room isn't practical for more than 10 mins .

Room Tip: up grade , if you can manage extra flight of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hankinsonchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Our stay at The Hotel Relish was exactly as promised. We stayed in the Orchid room, which was lovely, clean and spacious. Breakfast was a treat, the homemade bread is a must try. Most importantly the staff were hospitable and approachable, especially Anton. This is most definitely a 5* hotel/guest house and we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 895Antheak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

After a long drive we had difficulty finding the hotel - the street Augusta Gardens starts with number 17 and continues only with odd numbers. Number 4 ( the Relish hotel ) is in a street at right angles to this one - very confusing and annoying, especially at night in the dark and no-one around to ask for assistance.
Anyway, the receptionist had kindly waited for our late arrival and the free glass of beer/wine was a welcome bonus. The room at the top of the house was very quiet and the bed very comfortable.
nice sized and decently appointed bathroom.
The highlight for me was the very personal attention at and quality of breakfast. All products good quality and fresh. Omlette made to our specification and a good cup of latte ( not everyone can do this ).
We stayed here for the proximity to the channel tunnel and for this I can highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotgreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

I have been staying at the Hotel Relish on a regular basis for the last 5 years. The htoel has individually designed rooms which are of the highest quality and the breakfasts are to die for. It has one minor flaw in that it does not serve evening meals; however there are many good restaurants within easy walking distance and if you are in the mood to stay they allow for take away meals to be delivered to the hotel. The team are always at hand to make suggestions on food outlets and any thing else that you might require.

Please note that the rooms are on the three upper floors and that there is no lift

You arrive as a guest and leave as a friend - fantastic

Room Tip: If you have the legs for it ask for a room on the upper floor to the rear of the hotel as you then g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.2 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.1 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,404 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Relish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Relish

Property: The Relish
Address: 4 Augusta Gardens, Folkestone CT20 2RR, England (Formerly Augusta Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Relish 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable "West End", The Relish is Folkestone's first contemporary, and only 5 Star guest accommodation. 10 en-suite rooms furnished to the highest standard with sumptuous beds. Rates include unlimited fresh coffee, tea, homemade cakes, and a complimentary glass of wine or beer upon arrival, direct dial telephones and free broadband access. The Relish is a place you will want to return to again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your The Relish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Relish Hotel Folkestone
Relish Hotel Folkestone
The Relish Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing