We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up, Up and to Bed”
Review of The Relish

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Relish
Ranked #3 of 26 Folkestone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A warm greeting was given to my husband and I upon arrival after a hired car ride from Heathrow. It was a good location to board our cruise ship the next day and within walking distance to restaurants and wonderful water views a few blocks away. Our problem was a few large and heavy pieces of luggage, Anton took care of this by taking them below for the night. Our next obstacle was getting to our room with multple stairs (lovely old Victorian house) and we were on the top floor! Never did we think to check out a lift, foolish on our part especially being seniors and a husband with a disablility. We decided once up and once down for the stay. Hannah was most understanding and helpful calling for a cab and recommending various restaurants in town. Our small dormered room was very clean and had everything needed for our overnight stay. Breakfast was delicious and abundant. Would love to visit again but would request a room on the second floor.

Room Tip: Check to see if B & B has a lift or any rooms are available for persons with disabilities re:cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

I had a large attic room overlooking gardens to the rear of the building. The room was decorated in a contemporary style, spotlessly clean and very comfortable and was also quiet. A very nice touch was the offer of home-made cake on arrival and that guests are also able to help themselves to an alocoholic drink from the ground floor kitchenette. The sea is only a few steps away and the town centre with restaurants and other facilities was also close by. I would definitely stay here again if my work brought me back to Folkestone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here overnight for a wedding at the Leas Cliff Hall. The staff were extremely welcoming and accommodating, they even allowed us early entry to our room so we could get ready for the wedding at the hotel.

The decor was contemporary and comfortable, and the whole place was decorated to a high standard and really clean. Our room was very comfortable and clean, with a very nice bathroom with bath and shower, including toiletries and pristine white towels.

Slept like a log and enjoyed a very nice breakfast which consisted of a wide choice of cereals, juices, toast and cheeses, as well as cooked-to-order hot food. I demolished a full english which was very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazroy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great location, close to the Leas. Rooms are very good and breakfast excellent. Recommend the homemade bread and the cake with a cup of tea on arrival. Nice touch is the fan in the bedroom. We had a room on the top floor and despite it being September it was quite warm. I suspect it may get very hot during the summer and if travelling then I would book one of the larger rooms on the first or second floor. Staff were excellent. Very helpful and better than most five star hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oneandapenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

A small, lovely hotel in an excellent location close to town and the Leas. Great rooms and breakfast with a very helpful and friendly staff,

Close to Dover and the chunnel as well as Canterbury and its great cathedral.

Highly recommended and would love to visit again.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Green, with Orchid as the preferred room - large with great bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Just stayed at this hotel. Service was good, room was clean. Stayed in Orchid Room which was best room, view was lovely garden, bed looked nice and good nights sleep. Was welcomed with home made cake and glass of wine. Breakfast room was beautiful.
Reasons for not giving an excellence is breakfast was a tad cold, fried eggs were hard and not runny and my parents stayed at Paul's and there room was just as large and nice and only £95 so at £150 felt room was a tad over priced.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

After reading one or two negative reviews, I wondered if my booking would turn out to be a mistake. The room was very clean and of adequate size (just me in a compact double). Friendly staff members can't do enough for you. They provide free wine, cake, which I couldn't eat as I'm gluten intolerant, but still it was there, and cold/hot drinks. The lounge is cosy and the private gardens are pleasant enough to walk around. There are restaurants nearby and in the morning, gluten free bread for me - now that's a rarity, most people don't bother. Just a one night stay, but enjoyable enough.

Room Tip: If there are two of you, avoid booking a 'compact double'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizaelderberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.1 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#3 of 10 in Folkestone
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
0.2 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone (Channel Tunnel) Hotel
0.2 mi away
10to12 Folkestone
10to12 Folkestone
#1 of 26 in Folkestone
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stay2a
Stay2a
#6 of 26 in Folkestone
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Relish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Relish

Address: 4 Augusta Gardens, Folkestone CT20 2RR, England (Formerly Augusta Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Folkestone
Price Range: £86 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Relish 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable "West End", The Relish is Folkestone's first contemporary, and only 5 Star guest accommodation. 10 en-suite rooms furnished to the highest standard with sumptuous beds. Rates include unlimited fresh coffee, tea, homemade cakes, and a complimentary glass of wine or beer upon arrival, direct dial telephones and free broadband access. The Relish is a place you will want to return to again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Relish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Relish Hotel Folkestone
Relish Hotel Folkestone
The Relish Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing