We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Relish hotel Folkestone”
Review of The Relish

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Relish
Ranked #2 of 26 Folkestone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Relish hotel Folkestone”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We used the hotel for a base prior to our daughters wedding and found the staff very helpful, free tea & coffee came in handy. The room was very spacious and modern great place to stay very peaceful and quiet. We sat out on the patio for breakfast and really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    95
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
29
193
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Spent a long weekend here with family in three rooms, all of which were lovely in their own way (Ochre with its roll-top bath and sofa, Stone with its spacious interior and Steeple with its cosy proportions at the top of the hotel).

The hotel was supremely comfortable and we particularly liked the spacious lounge which guests could use until 11pm (with the added attraction of homecake cake and coffee/juice which was freely available from the nearby kitchen area). Breakfast was cooked to order and served up in a stylish dining area.

The Relish is well located for arrivals by train, with Folkestone Central just a 10-15 minute walk away. It is an equally easy walk from the hotel door to the main shopping areas, the Leas and to the harbour. Perfect for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FolkestoneJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This really is a boutique hotel, the décor is modern and the rooms are finished to a very high standard. Our 'Park room' was spacious and had every mod con...I'm now looking for remote controls for our bedside lights at home !!!!

Parking can be an issue but we eventually found a space on the next road down, and this hotel is only a short walk from the town centre.

The only downside for us was breakfast....it seemed rushed, the homemade bread was very sweet, coffee was sparse and the bacon was barely cooked.

Overall we felt the extra touches were lovely but on reflection the additional room cost for this hotel (relative to what we may have paid elsewhere) made this the most expensive chocolate cake we've ever eaten !

Room Tip: Park room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for a family birthday celebration in Folkestone. Overall the hotels there are not up to much. This was a very nice hotel. The house backs onto a lovely park, ideal to get some fresh air. Also a very nice patio area with tables and chairs, if the weather is ever good enough to sit out!
Room was very nice with a large bed in middle of room over looking the park views. Shame you can't see the sea! Comfortable room with all the usual facilities, but no docking station. Very limited toiletries in bathroom. It was a bit noisy in late pm as children in room above running around, insulation not the best.
Breakfast was very nice with homemade bread and a toaster to do your own although most of us seemed to burn it as bread thick and crumbly. Scrambled eggs 1st day was lovely with generous amount of smoked salmon. Cooked breakfast next day was excellent.
Only poor point was no newspapers and no possibility of breakfast in bed. Husband was very disappointed.

Room Tip: We had best room - Orchid
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sazoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rixensart, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Lovely older type of hotel - very comfortable and quiet. Great breakfast. Complimentary wine and cake for those who feel like it. Excellent location, walking distance to the restaurants of central Folkestone and the cliff-top promenade and views.

Travellers should be aware that the hotel has neither car park nor a lift. We found parking on the street and climbing three flights of stairs wasn't problematic however.

Copper and Spices restaurant 5 minutes away on foot is a must.
10 minutes drive to the Channel Tunnel.

So much nicer than staying in the modern chain hotels and yet just as practical.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed here overnight on the way back from France. The hotel is in a pleasant residential area within walking distance of restaurants and bars in town. The hotel is modern and stylish and the rooms are very well appointed and clean. The manager was a very nice chap and very helpful and accommodating. When I enquired about the lounge area which was right below our room at the front he advised that they close the lounge at 11pm to avoid noise to the rooms above which I found quite considerate and comforting. There is an area near reception where you can help yourself to hot drinks, wine and cake, all on the house. This was a lovely touch, I just hope that people don't abuse this and spoil the treats for everyone else! The room we had was lovely, a nice size with big window to the front. The bed was large very comfortable. The bathroom was also large and very well appointed and modern with lovely tiling and chrome fittings. There were complimentary fluffy robes which I always think is a sign of a nice hotel. All in all I would highly recommend this hotel for its location being near to town and also handy for driving to Folkestone Eurotunnel about 15 minutes away. The rooms are comfy and well appointed and the manager knows what he is doing and is very friendly and helpful. Stay here!

Room Tip: We only had one room so cannot recommend others but our room on floor one at the front was fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swissisbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed here just one night before heading of on Eurotunnel the next morning. What a lovely place to spend the night! Our room (Orchid), was bright spacious and well appointed with a lovely bathroom. The welcome was warm and genuine and we thought the "help yourself" kitchen with tea, coffee, homemade cake, beer, wine, water and juices was a fabulous and unexpected bonus. Breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked and very high quality - the home-made bread made wonderful toast! Checkout was swift and efficient and we were on our way with very a very good impression of this little gem! On the day we arrived we were fortunate to get parked in the street right outside the hotel, but just like all places in Folkestone if you are coming here be mindful that parking is not always that easy.

Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms are lovely, but as there's no lift try to book a room on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quin-i-bog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.2 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
987 reviews
0.1 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,593 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Relish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Relish

Property: The Relish
Address: 4 Augusta Gardens, Folkestone CT20 2RR, England (Formerly Augusta Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Relish 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable "West End", The Relish is Folkestone's first contemporary, and only 5 Star guest accommodation. 10 en-suite rooms furnished to the highest standard with sumptuous beds. Rates include unlimited fresh coffee, tea, homemade cakes, and a complimentary glass of wine or beer upon arrival, direct dial telephones and free broadband access. The Relish is a place you will want to return to again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Relish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Relish Hotel Folkestone
Relish Hotel Folkestone
The Relish Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing