We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“really needs updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

we chose this hotel for its proximity to the chanel tunnel. its a pretty looking place.
there is no parking at the hotel which means you have to park in back streets.
as you apporach the hotel you are greeted with all the smokers standing outside which is not really welcoming.
the hotel reception staff are very friendly and welcoming but the hotel is not just old fashioned with a serious of long corridors in 'rabbit warren' style but is very worn and musty in places.
the lift is tiny, noisy and very slow but the only option to walk up 4 large flights with heavy bags.
we had asked for an early breakfast due to us catching the train, all they could offer was a continental room service at additional charge. as we had travelled a long way we wanted to eat in the bar but not only were the chairs quite stained they smelt quite bad.

the rooms thelmselves, although small, were clean and the bathroom was spotless.
we thought by booking a Best Western we would get better than being offered at a corporate style premier inn, but i now wish we had stayed at one of the others as it was just too expensive for what we got. the hotel advertises WiFi but we just couldn't get connected, when we tried to phone reception they didn't answer the phone. so we gave up.
we would not return as there were just too many negatives.

Room Tip: rooms at the front and side get a partial seaview but also on the road so be careful what you take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie_posner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    147
    98
    39
    25
See reviews for
61
193
34
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

room was fine. But oarkibg was a nightmare. You had to find somewhere in the street if you were lucky. And at 8am charging started by pay and display. Also breakfast was a "nominal" cost. However £7.00 for a continental breakfast is not nominal. Bath took forever to fill. Otherwise ok but parking would put me off going back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We just had the one night at this hotel, but would have been happy to stay for longer, our room overlooked the garden, and had views to the English Channel just a few yards away.
Reception was straightforward and very welcoming, the service was really good.
Dinner and breakfast in the Garden Restaurant were very nicely presented, and really tasty.
Admittedly the rather ancient lift was a little bit worrying, but no real problem.
Pleasant stay, would definitely stay there again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the garden and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaxlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stay here each time we use the Eurotunnel for our travel across to Calais for either business or pleasure. This time, it was for our Holiday to Tuscany. The staff are very helpful (even helping us with luggage to store for the night since we had a convertible with luggage rack for our trip). The bar and restaurant have great food, but we've never been there for the breakfast because we usually need to leave before breakfast is offered, but considering the food that we have eaten, I am sure that the breakfast is great! The location to the Eurotunnel is fantastic, only a few minutes to get there and the hotel is really cosy and nice with wonderful views over the water.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englandswings123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend in June 2013. We had an enjoyable stay, all of the staff were helpful and friendly, our double room was generally clean and tidy, had a garden view and appeared to have been recently decorated. The sash window was a little noisy with the strong winds that were blowing from the south west during our visit and the bathroom was adequate but basic. Breakfast was of a very high standard served in the dinning room that has a classy classic feel to it. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare032
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

The hotel rooms were comfy and the staff helpful. The only thing that let the stay down was the water pressure in the morning, I showered mostly in cold water. The hotel is on the front and very close to the beach but this means it can get very busy and parking outside the hotel was non-existent. We had to park about 10 minutes walk away. All in all a good hotel but the showers/water pressure needs to be sorted out and be aware you may have to park some distance away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Booked for a stopover before heading across on the Channel Tunnel. Rode down on motorcycle, parked right outside hotel and purchased parking permit from reception ( £ 1 per night ). Could'nt fault the room, clean and tidy and slept very well. Staff friendly and very helpful. Overlooking the sea so perfect for a walk into town to get some food. Around 10 minutes from tunnel with a couple of petrol stations en route so 100% satisfied !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colemanontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.3 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
0.1 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel
Address: | The Leas, Clifton Gardens, Folkestone CT20 2EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Folkestone
Folkestone Best Western
BEST WESTERN Clifton Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing