We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Clifton Hotel simply is not your typical Best Western. Glad we didn't let it being a Best Western hotel stop us... it is enchanting. Built in 1864 it abounds with charm and tradition. The staff is friendly and re-invigorates the sense of hospitality in the hotel industry. Although the hotel has WiFi - they remain very much in the analog world... tradition abounds in the quality of service.

It was like stepping back in time when we enjoyed our dinner at the restaurant. Everything was fresh and tasty. The meal was great but was almost overshadowed by the presentation... this is old-school hospitality at its finest. My only regret is not booking a longer stay.

Room Tip: The lifts might take a while so do some cardio before you book your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Good_As_Gone_4Now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel was class, we did stay in the most expensive room as I wanted to treat my wonderful girlfriend. Staff were all very polite and helpful, room was clean, spacious, the food was very nice, matre de was a cross between cockney barrow boy and Jeeves rolled into one, if his jokes were half as funny as him laughing at them he'd be ok, will go back without a doubt. Can't understand why there are negative comments !!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Williams7travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed just for one night on our way to France via the Channel Tunnel, that is only 10 minutes away.
It is a traditional Victorian hotel built in the 1860’s. The décor is still of the period and the communal areas and restaurant pleasantly reflected the Victorian period of financially well to do people that you would expect to see in a costume drama. We had a room on the third floor with a magnificent sea view which would have been much better if it had not raining.
The evening meal was better than most restaurants and a traditional English breakfast to set you up for the Day. The restaurant manager is amusing and charming a real professional and his staff were all trained to carry out silver service. A definite place to stay for couples mid-thirties to the late nineties, Beware of the ghost on the staircase. Hotel EXCELLENT.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room, sea view and £1.00 a day parking permit outside the hotel. Beware of the gho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidsmudgersmiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed here for one night (thank goodness) on a recent visit to France. I hope I never have to stay here again. Awful - really awful. The bar smelt of urine, the decor is very tired, the bedroom was shabby and the bathroom delapidated. We will not be returning

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We were visiting family in the area and doing a day trip to France. We had booked the rooms with Laterooms.com and stayed for 3 nights. The hotel is ideally located for whichever direction we needed to travel. We had two rooms next to each other on the 3rd floor. Only using the hotel to spend the nights it was just right for our purpose (oh, and the bar was ideal for a nightcap!). The rooms has a good flat screen TV. a small chair and table, comfortable double bed, adequate space in the wardrobe for our clothes (and room enough to house the suitcase) together with an extra blanket, ironing board and iron should you need it) There was plenty of tea/coffee/biscuits provided and also a tea pot (quite rare in hotels these days). We had a side view of the sea - plenty of trees and green so no road and no traffic noise. We decided to eat out, after walking along the sea front, and found a wonderful little restaurant about 5 minutes away in Sandgate Road (Bella Pasta, Ristorante Italiano - you need to book if you want a table at the weekend!!). All in all a lovely little old fashioned hotel which was clean and friendly. If I had to pick a downside, it was the shower in my room. It had no power to it and with a slight twist of the tap it went from hot to cold (no in between)

Room Tip: We had a side view of the sea - plenty of trees and green so no road and no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiseowl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Have stayed at the Clifton on nine occasions. The staff is wonderful and helpful always. As with all hotels there are budget rooms which are just that budget. But having said that, for just a slightly higher tariff one can have a spacious room with large windows and massive bathroom. I always prefer 111 or 112 for my stays. 112 can be expanded to a full suite with separate sitting room.

The Clifton is certainly dated, but for me it's delightful. I don't come to Folkestone for 'modern.' If you want that stay at the cold Holiday Inn or Premier Inn. For a taste of years gone by with loads of character I prefer the Clifton. The hotel pub is charming and the lounge is the perfect place for afternoon tea and sandwiches.

The restaurant is clean and the breakfast excellent. I have done the buffet and ordered off the menu and prefer the breakfast menu.

The rooms have new flat screen lcd televisions with more channels and the staff will deliver room service quite efficiently. I love their sandwiches and chips.

I cannot speak of the parking situ as I always use a car service from Folkestone Central.

Room Tip: Ask NOT to have a room on the 4th floor. These are the former staff quarters from back when guests b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Williams R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a couple nights before our cruise left out of Dover. Older hotel but was fine for our purpose. Parking is kind of difficult at night if you get there late. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Stanton377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
0.6 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,804 reviews
0.1 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#3 of 10 in Folkestone
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
620 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Clifton Hotel

Address: | The Leas, Clifton Gardens, Folkestone CT20 2EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: £37 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Clifton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Folkestone
Folkestone Best Western
Best Western Clifton Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing