We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned, quirky and 100% delightful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old fashioned, quirky and 100% delightful!!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Do you like your hotels modern, with all "modcons" and the latest gadgetry?
Do you like waking up and thinking, "Which hotel am I in?" because it's yet another identikit hotel room that could be anywhere in the world and any one of a dozen chains??
Then stay away, this hotel is not for you!!!

However, if, like me, you love the unusual, the quirky, the unique hotel that simply OOZES character, then come and be welcomed by a hotel with all of the above!

Once again one of our regular work stays, I have found the staff are not just polite and attentive, but after a couple of stays, will welcome you like an old friend.

Taking up a large chunk of an early Victorian (Or possibly earlier) terrace it has developed by gradually taking over and incorporating the next door properties, it is a fascinating maze of stairs and corridors, all maintained to an excellent degree with large, clean, airy and comfortable rooms.

The location is extremely convenient. less than 15min from the station, or a short walk from the town centre and, via the zig-zag path, within minutes from the seafront with it's shingle beach.

Then either a swim in the sheltered cove or a pleasant walk to the Fishmarket and harbour area, or, if you wish, in the other direction towards Sandgate.

Food is good and with the attention Maj, the matre d, gives to the smallest detail, very well served. also, with his very dry wit, Maj is, perhaps, the mainstay of the small, dedicated staff, most of whom have been there for several years.
It is to the credit of the hotel that they can retain the loyalty of such excellent staff.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the end of the hotel on the higher floors have a supurb view over the sea towards Fran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob of B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    155
    105
    44
    32
See reviews for
68
207
36
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is fine. A bit of a rabbit warren and the lift was tiny but the room was a good size, the wifi effective and the bathroom clean. We didn't have breakfast but there are other places to eat. It is right on the Leas with excellent access to beautifully restored victorian Folkestone and the beach so that was a bonus. There was a big party so only limited parking but plenty available the next day so we just chose the wrong night! Nice and easy for the Tunnel the next day. Staff courteous and dogs welcome.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank roseandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Clifton Hotel simply is not your typical Best Western. Glad we didn't let it being a Best Western hotel stop us... it is enchanting. Built in 1864 it abounds with charm and tradition. The staff is friendly and re-invigorates the sense of hospitality in the hotel industry. Although the hotel has WiFi - they remain very much in the analog world... tradition abounds in the quality of service.

It was like stepping back in time when we enjoyed our dinner at the restaurant. Everything was fresh and tasty. The meal was great but was almost overshadowed by the presentation... this is old-school hospitality at its finest. My only regret is not booking a longer stay.

Room Tip: The lifts might take a while so do some cardio before you book your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Good_As_Gone_4Now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel was class, we did stay in the most expensive room as I wanted to treat my wonderful girlfriend. Staff were all very polite and helpful, room was clean, spacious, the food was very nice, matre de was a cross between cockney barrow boy and Jeeves rolled into one, if his jokes were half as funny as him laughing at them he'd be ok, will go back without a doubt. Can't understand why there are negative comments !!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Williams7travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed just for one night on our way to France via the Channel Tunnel, that is only 10 minutes away.
It is a traditional Victorian hotel built in the 1860’s. The décor is still of the period and the communal areas and restaurant pleasantly reflected the Victorian period of financially well to do people that you would expect to see in a costume drama. We had a room on the third floor with a magnificent sea view which would have been much better if it had not raining.
The evening meal was better than most restaurants and a traditional English breakfast to set you up for the Day. The restaurant manager is amusing and charming a real professional and his staff were all trained to carry out silver service. A definite place to stay for couples mid-thirties to the late nineties, Beware of the ghost on the staircase. Hotel EXCELLENT.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room, sea view and £1.00 a day parking permit outside the hotel. Beware of the gho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidsmudgersmiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed here for one night (thank goodness) on a recent visit to France. I hope I never have to stay here again. Awful - really awful. The bar smelt of urine, the decor is very tired, the bedroom was shabby and the bathroom delapidated. We will not be returning

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We were visiting family in the area and doing a day trip to France. We had booked the rooms with Laterooms.com and stayed for 3 nights. The hotel is ideally located for whichever direction we needed to travel. We had two rooms next to each other on the 3rd floor. Only using the hotel to spend the nights it was just right for our purpose (oh, and the bar was ideal for a nightcap!). The rooms has a good flat screen TV. a small chair and table, comfortable double bed, adequate space in the wardrobe for our clothes (and room enough to house the suitcase) together with an extra blanket, ironing board and iron should you need it) There was plenty of tea/coffee/biscuits provided and also a tea pot (quite rare in hotels these days). We had a side view of the sea - plenty of trees and green so no road and no traffic noise. We decided to eat out, after walking along the sea front, and found a wonderful little restaurant about 5 minutes away in Sandgate Road (Bella Pasta, Ristorante Italiano - you need to book if you want a table at the weekend!!). All in all a lovely little old fashioned hotel which was clean and friendly. If I had to pick a downside, it was the shower in my room. It had no power to it and with a slight twist of the tap it went from hot to cold (no in between)

Room Tip: We had a side view of the sea - plenty of trees and green so no road and no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiseowl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.3 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,016 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,661 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
129 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Clifton Hotel

Property: Best Western Clifton Hotel
Address: | The Leas, Clifton Gardens, Folkestone CT20 2EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Clifton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Folkestone
Folkestone Best Western
Best Western Clifton Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing