We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romany dreams”
Review of Romany Dreams

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Folkestone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Romany Dreams
Ranked #11 of 26 Folkestone B&B and Inns
uk
2 reviews
“romany dreams”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

we arrived very late to the site! but was made to feel very welcome and our hosts were most accommodating! food was great! would advise! camp fire made for a great romantic atmosphere! even in the pouring rain! actual accommodation could not fault it for all amenities and cleanliness! absolutely spotless!!! just for the experience you all should try! very peaceful! and a nice way to unwind with a twist! thanks again max and mark! xxxx

Room Tip: just stay at the romany dreams the experience is next to none
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahhmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed here 14th July for one night, a rare 24 hours away on our own. Lorraine has created a wonderful experience, it's peaceful; beautiful wagon and surrounding area; fun; quirky so relaxing and personal. We had picnic basket which was a welcome sight upon arrival and it was fantastic. Unfortunately for us the british summer remained hidden but we did get 2.5 hours of dry weather and went for a long walk in the surrounding countryside. The wagon is wonderful; bed is a 3/4 so it's cosy but that is all part of the experience, it has the queenie stove and is full of character. Adjacent to the wagon is your own chalet which is stocked with breakfast choices, tea and coffee making facilities and microwave; a good size shower room with everything; deodrant; shampoo; showergel; face wipes; razors... you name it Lorraine has thought of everything, it's true you just need to bring a toothbrush. Beside the wagon is a traditional cooking pot / campfire which you can use, we didn't due to weather but it's such a nice touch; you feel so unrestricted here and that is what makes it so good. This really is your own little sanctuary for a few days, Lorraine has got that just right, her attention to detail is amazing and you will want for nothing. I forgot tissues and looked around and they were there, I forgot my umbrella and there was one in the wagon, it's that kind of place. I've not stayed anywhere like this for a long time; you get the whole package, a wonderful experience! Thank you Lorraine.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazzaandjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

Staying at Romany dreams was a fantastic experience . The gypsy wagon was cosy and adorable, with a pull out double bed which I found very comfy to sleep in, however if you are a bit taller than 5ft 8 you may find the wagon bed a bit short to sleep in as my hubby was 5,10 and felt a bit squished. The location was great close to Dover and the owners were soo welcoming . We were very well looked after, made to feel at home. The wagon had its own annexe at the back with basic kitchen for our breakfasts ,tea ,coffee etc and a good sized shower room with own towels , showergel and shampoo all ready for use . We had our evening dinner there made for us and was blown away by the huge portions of food it was delicious! ...be sure to have an empty stomach!. The campfire was great fun it was a bit windy so we did smell of smoke after sitting by the fire , there are pots and pans to cook the tradditional way my only flaw is I diddnt bring the marshmallows!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kraftymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, southampton United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

had the best time ever,great place to stay with great people.has the best of both worlds mod cons as well as the wagon.everything you want for a quiet get away.you would be hard pushed to get the welcome,food,picnic,or comfort any where else.great views but still with the privacy that you need.the wagon and chalet have everything that you need to make your stay great.if you do go then do book an evening meal,it was amazing.thank you at romany dreams for the best break i have ever had.would deffinatley recomend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Out stay in the wagon was absolutely fantastic! We really enjoyed our experience in the wagon and the food served on our first night was a traditional meat pudding!! Delicious!! Very friendly and welcoming host. I would recommend anyone to stay here as it is a one off experience for everyone to enjoy. The woodland surrounding the area are ideal for walkers. And it is in a lovely quiet countryside. Will defiantly be coming back!!! Lindsay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsaycutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed in Sept 2011 for 1 night while touring the south of England.
It was a wonderful experience and I would certainly recommend it. Food and facilities are excellent. Very private. Unique. Great value.
We decided to eat out on the evening at a local pub which we thoroughly enjoyed.
Having read the guest book comments over breakfast, I now regret it. It seems Lorraine's home cooking is "to die for". Maybe next for us.



  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beaslel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenwich_77, Owner at Romany Dreams, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us, it is so helpfull for our potential guests,I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay,it makes what we are offering so worth while, we enjoyed having you as with all our guests. best Wishes Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Me and my partner went to Romany Dreams for our anniversary getaway looking for something different but romantic. Romany Dreams was everything we were after and more! Every last detail has been thought out and perfectly planned from the luxury kitted out chalet with kitchen and bathroom right down to the beautiful seating area around the camp fire! The wagon itself was gorgeous and extremely cozy & even comes kitted out with a little indoor fire and tea and coffe making facilities! I was blown away by Lorraine's dinner! She is an amazing cook and would recommend every guest to go for her 5* dinner every night! Location is perfect as you can explore Canterbury & Folkestone one way then the other you have Dover & The Docks so you can even do a day trip to France.
Overall we loved every second of our stay and will definately be coming back and shouting about it from the rooftops!
Thank you Lorraine & David xx

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelbyLoreane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
1.5 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
970 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3,525 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
583 reviews
1.4 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#5 of 10 in Folkestone
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rob Roy Guest House
The Rob Roy Guest House
#3 of 26 in Folkestone
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romany Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romany Dreams

Property: Romany Dreams
Address: Deepdene Greenwich Lane | Ewell Minnis, Folkestone CT15 7EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gypsy Bed and Breakfast experience, staying in our luxuriously refurbished 2 berth cosy genuine Gypsy Wagon, which has a Queenie Wood burning stove and radiator. Tea and coffee making facility. Snuggle up in the 3/4 size pull out bed, with radio, cards and dominos provided.We are located in the beautiful rolling countryside of the Alkham Valley Nr Canterbury in Kent, 10 minutes from the M20 and 5 minutes from the A2. Our Gypsy Wagon B&B is situated in our picturesque garden nestled in the Kent countryside, overlooking open fields with woodlands close by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Romany Dreams Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing