We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”
Review of The Shed Grill - CLOSED

The Shed Grill
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We are a small friendly cafe, providing good food at reasonable prices. We are not a posh expensive place, for example our house wines are just £11.95! See our web pages for more details.
ashby de la zouch
Level Contributor
208 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

we went looking for 'Buttys' which was highly rated but is closed at the weekend. The 'Shed' is literally next door and we were not disappointed. The ultimate breakfast will keep you going most the day and if you have a giant appetite the this is not even the largest breakfast they do.
with breakfast you get tea or coffee top ups whilst you are there. i noticed one previous comment about Nescafe and whilst i would not agree that it was Nescafe the coffee was a bit weak.
Overall the value and quality of the breakfast means that we will visit again on our return to Folkestone.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Shed-Folkestone, Public Relations Manager at The Shed Grill, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks for the kind words. I noticed though that you made a comment about the coffee. If it wasn't to your taste PLEASE say so, We can only make sure you enjoy your food if you tell us if we are at fault. Stronger coffee can always be made available but remember different people, different tastes. WE are pleased though that you enjoyed one of our great breakfasts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    18
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The shed”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

First visit to the shed.
Good if you're looking for a 'home like' meal they even serve there alcoholic beverages straight from can to glass!
Restaurant itself is cosy and has a good kiddies corner for those of you that decide to take little ones along. Lots of art work also to view which is good! Food is cooked well only downfall I could mention was the chips was a tad overcooked.
Owner popped his head up to say hello which was fantastic!
Unfortunately the young waitress took rather a long time to deliver menus seeing as we was the only ones in the restaurant upon arrival. During our wait for meal a few more customers arrived and they appeared to be friends of the waitress so she spent most of the time communicating, laughing and talking loudly with them. We was just left then until she delivered the food.. Could be in need of some customer service training!
Overall pleasant experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Shed-Folkestone, Public Relations Manager at The Shed Grill, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Many thanks for your comments, even a bad comment helps us improve. I will speak to your server and remind her of her responsibilities to customers. As for beer, we are unable to keep large kegs because of lack of space and a can is the only way to make sure we have some beers in stock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful family friendly place”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I love The Shed!! Wonderful place, good food at really really good prices.
It has a family atmosphere to it and often the various tables of people interact with each other which is great.
The staff are really chatty and friendly and Dave the owner is a right laugh when he has 5 minutes to stop cooking and pop up to the restaurant!
They have a stack of toys in the corner for any fidgety children which has allowed me to eat my food without having to run around after a 3 year old!
The burgers are great, very tasty. Can't recommend higher :) Go Dave !! :D

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoe25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Shed-Folkestone, Public Relations Manager at The Shed Grill, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. We pride ourselves on providing good food in a warm family friendly atmosphere. It always amazes us when different guests start chatting. It does help that we are a small family run place. My favourite burger is the Shroom Burger or the Tiger Burger, they make my mouth water!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Instant coffee”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Amazing in 2014 that you could advertise selling cappuccinos on your menu and serve up a NESTLE INSTANT NIGHTMARE.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hmsberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Shed-Folkestone, Public Relations Manager at The Shed Grill, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
I am sorry you didn't enjoy our coffee. Instead of leaving this review you could have spoken to your server and asked for something different. Unless of course you have an ulterior motive ???? If you want posh coffee from an expensive machine please go to Starbucks etc. Our main coffee if a good quality filter coffee and yes, we do serve other coffees which I drink and enjoy. Yes, we also serve instant coffee when asked for it too. So why oh why give such a bad report over one cup of coffee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First time in”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

First time there tonight. Really liked it!!! Don't expect Michelin Star but as a great burger/ steak easy relaxed restaurant it's first class. Will be back!! So much better than other restaurants that offer over priced and under par menus. Try it!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Shed-Folkestone, Public Relations Manager at The Shed Grill, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
It was to meet you last evening and we are pleased you enjoyed your food. We do try to please. Next time try the new Tiger Burger, it's GREEAAAT !! As Tony the tiger said!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shed Grill also viewed

 
Sandgate, Folkestone
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing