We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely & peaceful”
Review of Burlington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Burlington Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I stayed at the Burlington with my two children in a family room. The room was enormous with a large double & 2 single beds as well as table & chairs and the usual bedside cabinets/wardrobes/dresser. I have noticed some other guests' comments about the lack of furniture in a large room but we certainly had more than enough for our needs. The room was immaculate and, coming from a hotel background, I am very fussy about hotel standards.

We overlooked the garden which was peaceful and quiet. We did not eat at the hotel as we have relatives living nearby and ate at theirs instead but all was neat, clean and tidy and the staff we had dealings with were all polite, courteous and helpful.

I would definitely recommend the Burlington and will book here for my next visit to the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TP31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

939 - 945 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2011

Reception was efficient and helpful, the room was large and the bed was comfortable.
We choose to eat here and the service and food was good. The hotel makes wine recommendations to supplement the food. We had rib eye and the wine really did compliment the food.
Breakfast was typical hot british breakfast together with a reasonable choice of a continental breakfast.
The evening meal is set times and has two sittings.
There is coffee/tea making facilities in the room but the lead from were the kettle was didn`t reach the socket, so we had to put the kettle on the floor nearer the socket.
we were on the ground floor and regrettably the room above had squecky floorboards.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDL111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

On the positive side of things, the hotel is full of character and charm. It's public areas (such as the bar and reception) are nicely decorated while the staff are both friendly and helpful. The room was also very clean.
However, the hotel rooms are in need of refurbishment and the beds (as well as linen) probably need to be replaced. My room, in particular, had issues relating to heating. The radiator in my room did not turn off, causing the entire room to become incredibly hot and stuffy. Upon falling asleep in the room, I woke up within an hour feeling ill, flushed and incredibly uncomfortable. I slept with the window open which resolved the issue although it might not be necessary to have radiators on high both in the hotel corridors and bathrooms in July.

Room Tip: The Wifi doesn't reach the rooms so make use of it in the nicely furnished public areas. Bring y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lemonlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

good location if you want a rest before travelling on to france. Quite an old, in need of a refurb hotel, but sleep quality is good and staff friendly enough. The restaurant food is nothing to write home about and costs £22 for a 3 course meal. Not bad for the price. The service is a bit fussy and old fashioned though. Parking was a bit tricky and was lucky enough to get the last space near to the hotel. Beach is a 2 minute walk away. If you have dogs its great as this hotel accepts them. Free wifi too.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

I stayed here for five nights in June. Room 220 overlooks the garden and adjacent garden of the Grand. It is clean and modern. Free WiFi in the room makes it easy to conduct a bit of business at the end of a sunny day on the Leas. Bathroom is modern, although it has no counter space and no peg to hang the toiletry bag.

The room was serviced promptly every day except one on which a large wedding group departed. All staff were courteous and professional.

Buffet breakfast is ample, with a good selection of hot and cold, fruits and vegetables.

The location is perfect for walking the Leas and zigzag path down to the beach. Leas Cliff Hall is a short distance as is the lift from the beach. Bus stops are less than a block away. It's walking distance from the central rail station; I didn't drive on this trip so don't have an opinion about parking. The Old High Street and Creative Quarter, harbour, and downtown are all easy walking for an average person.

This hotel is neither for back-packers nor for sophisticates who expect world-class amenities. On my ten+ trips to Folkestone, I've stayed at four other hotels without complaint; the Burlington is the best and I will return.

Kathy Noltze

Room Tip: Try Keppels (across the garden at the Grand) for dining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noltze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in June 11, and booked a Superior room. Room was enormous but lacked much furniture. All it had was 3 small armchairs anda coffee table (plus bed) - you could easily fitted 2 or 3 sofas in the room which would have made it feel 'superior'. It just felt kind of empty and sad.
I understand why hotels set a maximum volume on their TVs, but in such a large room it was difficult to hear it lying on the bed at full volume. The TV reception was, as with many hotels, poor.
Breakfast OK without being exciting (no black pudding!)
Car park too small but plenty of on street parking
The bar was closed one night with no explanation - annoying!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank modelbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Very convenient for an overnight stay before getting an early tunnel departure.

However, it's very tired and 70's like. The carpets, decor and furniture are definitely a throwback some 40 years! The room we had was pretty pokey and very basic yet rather bizarrely the bathroom was very bright and modern?

Restaurant was frustrating more than anything, the food was very good but you had to wait ages for simple things (tartar sauce and vinegar)!!!

Overall an ok stay and given that it was very cheap we couldn't really complain we just chuckled a lot!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dallyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folkestone
0.9 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,754 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
160 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
3.1 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#1 of 3 in Hythe
1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington Hotel

Address: 3-5 Earls Avenue, Folkestone CT20 2HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range: £43 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the English Channel, this traditional hotel is a 7-minute walk from both the seafront and Leas Cliff Hall, and a 15-minute walk from Folkestone Central train station. The standard rooms have no-frills furnishings and decor, and come with free WiFi, TVs, and tea and coffee-making facilities. Upgraded rooms add plush fabrics, canopy beds and also feature sea views. Family rooms are also available. There's a casual bar and a grill restaurant, both featuring a locally sourced menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Folkestone, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing